Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Castle Hotel

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St, Dublin City Center, Dublin, Ireland 1

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
60 reviews

46 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (60)
Sort by:
Wong K. Families with older children Malaysia, December 28, 2015
our first hotel stay in Dublin and very welcoming

excellent receiption, really like a castle (moving up-stairs... down-stairs searching for our room). understanding staff to allow us to have early breakfast as we had to leave for Dundalk early.
9.3
Comfortable and had no regrets, will recommend to friends.
Report this review
Prasad B. Business travelers Malaysia, November 7, 2015
Great Location

Super friendly and efficient staff, superb location and good breakfast
9.3
I was here for the Websummit 2015 and found that the hotel is more than 200 years old. However, it has modern comfort and amenities. The rooms are slightly small for my comfort but otherwise you will get use to the cozy space. The location is excellent because you are just 10 mins away from city center and 3 mins tour operators. I have to say that the staff here are super friendly and efficient. They attend to all your needs with just 1 request. I am happy to recommend anyone to stay in Castle Hotel.
Report this review
David J. Couples New Zealand, October 3, 2015
Dublin Trip

Location, Friendly Staff, Value for Money
9.3
Very enjoyable. The staff were all helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were amazing and the whole experience was good value or money. We will definitely be back to stay on any future visit to Dublin.
Report this review
Richard P. Solo travelers United States of America, September 27, 2015
small

Location, price
6.7
Report this review
Suhad B. Business travelers Saudi Arabia, May 21, 2015
Pleasant stay in traditional surroundings

Quick check in and out, Great breakfast, helpful staff
8.7
My stay was pleasant, with a good breakfast to start the day, and helpful directions from staff. However, noise at early hours (6:00 am) and late (after midnight) was disturbing.
Report this review
Amar T. Business travelers Iraq, April 21, 2015
worthy and effective

clean, calm and the great location
9
I was enjoyed . All the staff quite professional and kind. Room service quite enough . Only the room size was smaller than expected
Report this review
Laura M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 3, 2015
A charming place in a great location

Great location, wonderful staff, charming decor
8.3
I booked this hotel primarily for its location, and on that score it didn't disappoint. It made for a very convenient location to visit the many sites within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself is very charming and quite comfortable for a building of its age. I asked for a quiet room when I booked; indeed, there was almost no street noise while I was there, certainly none during late hours. Within the house, there were the usual creaks and squeaks one gets in a building of that era, but nothing that kept me up at night. The room was quite cozy with the heat on. WiFi was consistent albeit a bit slow with certain websites. The bathroom shower always had plenty of hot water and the pressure was adequate. The bed was very comfortable. Unlike some hotels of this period, this one comes with a small lift. However, my room was only accessible via steps (two up, seven down) -- no problem for me, but some people with limited mobility might have found it a challenge. Other rooms didn't have this obstacle. If this is an issue for you, consult the hotel before booking to make sure they can accommodate you. Staff were all wonderful, friendly but professional and quick to offer advice or assistance with any problems I had. That's their job of course, but they were especially welcoming. Normally I stay at cheaper hotels and save my money for other pursuits, but the discount I got through Agoda plus the location convinced me to spend a little more this time and I'm glad I did. I'd definitely consider staying there again in the future.
Report this review
Karl C. Groups Ireland, November 23, 2014
Just what was needed decent price. Great staff

Breakfast, shower
8.7
V good
Report this review
Hu Y. Solo travelers China, October 9, 2014
Stay

Convenience enjoyable breakfast
7.3
The hotel is very close to O'counell street. No warm welcome to asian faces as noticed however. It's an old Hotel so the wooden floor makes my stay with full of noise, when someone moves in upper floors even in the late night. The curtain in bathroom is transparently white which looks not so safe during your shower.
Report this review
David C. Couples Australia, July 20, 2014
Centrally located, in need of renovation

Location, car parking, breakfast
7
Castle Hotel is located close to the starting point of the Dublin tour buses and is an easy walk to good pubs for casual dining and to the main shopping streets. Internal courtyard parking was a great bonus and the breakfast, looking on to the courtyard was excellent. The Hotel restuarant we found less attractive. This is located underground down very rickety stairs. There was a well attended bar and video projection of sports for entertainment. Food was adequate but not pleasant unless we had not planned to join the "party" crowd.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 46 reviews Next page
Castle Hotel DublinCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - ReceptionCastle Hotel Dublin - Triple RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Small Family RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Sitting RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Twin RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Sitting RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Family Room - 2 Adults & 2 Children Castle Hotel Dublin - Sitting RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Live Irish MusicCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Grand PianoCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Family Room Castle Hotel Dublin - Old Music Shop RestaurantCastle Hotel Dublin - 4 Poster RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - InteriorCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Old Music Shop RestaurantCastle Hotel Dublin - Single RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - ReceptionCastle Hotel Dublin - The Castle Vaults Castle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - The Castle VaultsCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Twin RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Drawing RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Twin RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Meeting RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - ReceptionCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Pub/LoungeCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - 4 Poster RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Double RoomCastle Hotel Dublin - Temple BarCastle Hotel Dublin - Croke ParkCastle Hotel Dublin - Hugh Lane Art GalleryCastle Hotel Dublin - Findlater’s ChurchCastle Hotel Dublin - James Joyce CenterCastle Hotel Dublin - Garden of RemembranceCastle Hotel Dublin - General Post OfficeCastle Hotel Dublin - O’Connell StreetCastle Hotel Dublin - Dublin Writers MuseumCastle Hotel Dublin - Trinity CollegeCastle Hotel Dublin - Temple Bar


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06