Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 47 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.0
Sort by

Larissa F. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great hotel
pool, location
the hotel was beautiful and we especially enjoyed our private pool.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Michelle S. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great experience at Mountain Paradise
Beautiful grounds, excellent breakfast buffet, fun pool
Recently spent 3 nights at Hotel Mountain Paradise with our family of 6. They provided us with two rooms together, as we had requested. The rooms were big with very private terraces with hot tubs (which we actually didn't use, as the resort pool was so nice and the kids loved the idea of a swim-up bar and a tv you could see from the pool). The included breakfast was excellent with a large selection of foods (both typical Costa Rican and American). Every hotel employee that we had contact with was polite and gracious, and the service was very good. The only complaint I have is that the drainage in the bathroom was somewhat sub-par, with the shower backing up sometimes when we used it, and the sink actually backing up a little while the shower was running. This was a minor problem, however, and did not detract from our stay.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Keklik A. from Turkey
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Awesome hotel
Private jacuzzi and backyard
We loved the private backyard of the room. It feels like there's only your room and the jungle. We had a junior suite and it had a private jacuzzi and 2 rocking chairs in the backyard, a huge bathroom with a regular shower and a waterfall-like shower. The staff was great. Awesome wet-bar: The guaro sour I had here was the best in the whole Costa Rica trip.
Reviewed January 03, 2013

Jonathan D. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Mountain Pardise
Volcano view, natural beauty, nice sized rooms
This property is beautiful regarding the volcano view and plantlife. Heated pool was nice. You are in close proximity to the local town, many restaurants, volcano, hot springs. Overall the staff was cordial except for the restaurant waiters. Watch out for the golfcart drivers! This hotel property is ideally situated. Rooms are large. The only difficulty was finding the proper signage off of the main road.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Sharon S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in December 2012
Beautiful hotel, with amazing views.
Views, lovely rooms, good breakfast.
We stayed at Mountain Paradise for 6 nights, and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious, with an attractive, king size bed, and a choice of two showers... we preferred the waterfall shower, it's a really nice feature. The hotel grounds are lovely, and all the plants and flowers attract lots of birds, especially humming birds. We had a frog outside our room one night, and some lizards would bask just round the corner or our room each day. We saw an iguana at the pool on the last day that we were there, and several times spotted a basilisk there as well. A blue and gold macaw came to visit one morning too. It's a good choice of hotel if you like wildlife. The spa bath on the terrace was nice, to relax in after our adventurous days, but unfortunately, it didn't work very well, and although the jets made the water move a little, they were not strong enough to make any bubbles, so it was more like a normal bath really. The power shower had four massage jets on it, but only two of them worked, which made it quite pointless to use. Very glad there was the waterfall shower as an alternative. My lamp also did not work. The staff tried to be attentive, but sometimes needed asking twice before things got done. The breakfast was good, but some days it was a buffet, and others it was a set menu. The worst thing about the place was the shuttle. It is supposed to go at set times, but we used it on three different days, and it never went on time. Also, it often took a detour, to drop off staff or guests at different spots, and once, when we were half way back to the hotel, it stopped at a supermarket, picked up some people (not sure if they were guests or not), and they wanted to go into town, so the driver turned round and when back into town, before taking us back to the hotel! Very frustrating when you have plans. The plus points definitely outweigh the negatives here, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Douglas C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Secret mountain jewel that sparkles
Beautiful location, large well appointed rooms, excellent service wth courteous staff
Found this luxurious property on the internet and was overwhelmed by it's charm and beauty. The rooms were spaciously designed to make you feel right at home with everything done first class. With 2 5 star restaurants, a delightful spa, elegant surroundings and a very helpful staff, who could ask for more. Would recommend highly to any one looking for a great hideaway.
Reviewed December 08, 2012

allan S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Wonderful sanctuary, great accomedations
like being in paradise.
a wonderful place to relax. Grounds are beautiful. Great breakfest. Nice outside pool bar. Enjoyed watching all the birds. Toucans, humingbirds etc. Great location for a romantic honeymoon.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Adeline N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Crazy bathroom
Huge huge bathroom, nice pool, resort feel
ok the bathroom is seriously crazy. it is about the size of an apartment, with two shower areas - one a waterfall feature complete with fake rocks and plants. the resort was not quite what we expected- it reminded us of a cheesy disneyland but without mickey. the grounds are nicely kept with beautiful tropical flowers, and cars have to be parked at the front so you either walk or ride the golf cart to your suite. the rooms (like the bathroom) are huge but tackily decorated. the individual outdoor jacuzzi tubs with views of the volcano are a nice touch, but i can't see any guests actually using them because the rooms are ground level so other guests could literally walk up to you while you were sitting in your jacuzzi. for the price ($ a night), can't complain. it was an interesting experience.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Kaminishi R. from Japan
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2012
Helpful
Helpful
They are very helpful in guiding the transportation till this hotel. It was very nice.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

MALGORZATA M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great hotel, large rooms, clean
i love the location, cleanliness of the rooms, pleasant staff
our stay at the hotel mountain paradise was absolutely great ! the staff was so nice without exceptions. thank you johan, the bar tender at the pool bar for a great service and great music. the hotel room was great, very roomy, with one king bed and one queen bed. each room has its own view to the garden and jacuzzi tub, which you probably won't use because the pool area is so nice to hang around. the only negative thing about this room was that it didn't have a refrigerator or microwave... the complementary buffet breakfast was great, lots of food, included hot dishes. i would return to this hotel anytime, and would choose it over crowded , overpriced baldi hotel anytime.
Reviewed July 11, 2012