Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 151 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 151 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 3.5
  • Location 5.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Tomas M. from Czech Republic
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2014
Clean, quiet surroundings, poor breakfast
Friendly staff
Without any issues. Not worth 30 US $ per night, compared to the prices in the Vientiane down town
Reviewed April 02, 2014

Reginald H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Did not enjoy my stay
The room was large and the airconditioner worked
This hotel is so far from anything and it is difficult to find transport, so be prepared to do a lot of walking. Given the isolation, this hotel should make the effort to provide pushbike and/or motorcycle rental. The staff are not helpful. I found they would take forever to complete simple tasks (e.g., selling product from their shop). Mostly they seemed to be more interested in watching the soccer on the television. When checking out of the hotel, there was a distinct lack of courtesy. Additionally, given that the hotel is isolated and we had several bags, there was no offer to organise a taxi. Overall, the discourteous staff and isolated location make it impossible to recommend this hotel.
Reviewed March 02, 2014

CHRISTIAN V. from Mexico
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
Comfortable
Huge room, quiet, comfortable
Well The only reason we didn't like this place is because it was too far from everything and difficult to get to. Vientiane is a very small city, you can pretty much walk everywhere downtown. If you really think about it the hotel is not thaaat far since everything is close. However, you do have to take a taxi or tuk tuk every time going out or back. Usually drivers don't know where it is and it is ver inconvenient. That being said the room was huge, like more than you need it to be, but it is comfortable and clean and it is a quiet area. Also the owner of the place is the nicest guy. If he is around he would offer you free rides downtown which is very kind. He offered us a ride the night we stayed there and the day we checked out he actually took us downtown with our luggage. So it's not a but place but the location is not ideal.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Simone M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Pleasant experience- clean comfortable huge room!
The hotel has lots of amenities included- hairdryer, fridge, cable tv with eng channels, hot water pot. The room was huge and clean! The owner is very nice and friendly.
The hotel itself is great. Decent food at the restaurant, decent Internet. My only complaint was that I ordered dinner as vegetarian fried veg with steamed rice. It came out with meat in it, and the person working the restaurant was not super friendly before during or after the meal. Otherwise good experience.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lowell B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Good Value Room
Clean, Quiet Area, Good Shower
Nothing new to report from other reviews. Good value room, clean, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Ordered two dinners and food was good. Area was quiet with no roosters, no barking dogs and no small male children screaming and shrieking their demands. (Always a plus.) Downside is, like previously reported, way off the main Western-friendly corridors. And tuk-tuk and taxis are NOT easy to come by in the area -- my experience. You need your own transportation or perhaps best to get phone number of a taxi or tuk-tuk driver. If you want to hike it, do not follow desk directions to road. Go the other way to make it down rutted and maybe muddy trails through small neighborhood to shortcut to main stuff. Google maps displays these paths as roads. The are more dirt than road but work fine. Still a longish walk to, say, the river and tourist area. Do NOT assume you will be able to easily arrange for a taxi on short notice (like if you have to make a flight). I made that mistake and almost blew it. Plan ahead. And, as is the case pretty much the case across Laos, If you don't speak the language, be prepared to be patient.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Eloisa G. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Nice, comfortable stay
Clean, big room/ friendly staffs/ owner can speak english well
I had a comfortable stay in this hotel/ staffs are all friendly.
Reviewed September 04, 2013

mung L. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Clean but Too Far from down town
clean, friendly owner
The owner, Jeat (spelling?), was very accommodating. He shuttled us to several locations and didn't charge us. I guess he knew that the hotel's location was quite far from main attractions. Our daily walk into town would take us about an hour each direction, which is quite far in the dark when heading back. I believe if the hotel offered motorbike or bicycle rentals, it would definitely add to the marketability of the facility. The hotel is actually hidden from the main road and is off of a dirt road (two dirt roads to be exact). Another negative is the non-English speaking front desk staff. One staff in particular had a habit of saying "yes" to everything, even when it was clear that he did not have a hint of what I was saying. This was also the staff who indicated nonverbally to me that he will give me the remainder of my change--after I bought refreshments from the front desk-- when he gets it later. I tried at least five attempts to collect over my stay, but he never made any indication that he understood what I was asking. In the end, I decided to let it go since the amount would only equate to about half an USD. However, it is the principle! Overall, the hotel is nice and clean. Bathroom was a nice size and had hot water with good pressure. They changed towels everyday. There is a post on the wall that said washing clothes in the room is not allowed. There is a restaurant with a limited menu on site.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

widiyanto K. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Big room.
Friendly, helpful, big room.
Stay for 2 nights. Staffs are helpful. Long way to city centre, needs Tuk Tuk. But owner sent me to the city. Friendly owner.
Reviewed August 01, 2013

Jennifer A. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Proper hotel at guesthouse prices
The room, the bathroom, cleanliness
The room was fantastic -- huge, clean, with a very good bathroom. Also had a small fridge and hot water kettle. It's a shame the location isn't better, but they do have a shuttle bus that helps out. I arrived after the hotel restaurant was closed, and the staff drove me to a local place to eat. The night clerk also told me they could take me to the airport the next day. However, the van was out so they called a private cab which took me for 300 baht. The staff doesn't speak a lot of English but tries hard to communicate (they certainly speak more English than I speak Lao). WiFi available but weak connection in the rooms.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Avni C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
budget hotel
clean big room free rides
Friendly boss but others not so attentive. Waiter tried to over price our dishes. Loud noises and ac making it uncomfotable at night. Drunken parties disturbing. Too far out from city restaurants and shops. Near thai consulate. Owner gave free rides to city.
Reviewed July 09, 2013