arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Chanalai Flora Resort, Kata Beach

175 Koktanod Road, Kata, Phuket, Thailand

Very good 7.6
Based on 941 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 941 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Deon N.
South Africa
May 26, 2010
paradise break
Friendly people and cleanliness
Can`t think of any
We arrived at the hotel and they welcomed us very friendly and helpful. We went in April and I must say it was very hot!! We loved Kata the restaurants and shopping was a great experience. We would have missed a lot if it wasn`t for a couple we met that helpedb with our excursions,

Eric N.
United States
May 24, 2010
Romantic get away
Nice size room, friendly staff, good location.
None really
My ladyfriend and I live in Vietnam but wanted to go on a romantic get away in Phuket for a change of pace from the beach resorts in Vietnam. We were recommended to stay at Kata beach and chose the Serene resort hotel based on the reviews we read on line. We arrived quite late due to a flight delay but had not problems checking in and got a room upgrade since the type of room we booked was not available. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a little run down but large and had a nice view. The king size bed we requested was actually two twin beds pushed together which left a bit of a crevasse down the middle of the the bed. The AC worked well and the bathroom was roomy with a shower and bath. The pools were very nice and the landscaping was well done. The beach was only a 5 minute walk away and there were plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. They served breakfast there but we didn't opt for the breakfast included with the room.

Grant H.
Australia
May 16, 2010
Very Enjoyable Resort to Stay at
Great rooms Friendly staff Great location very good amenities
breakfast average internet no wireless
Had a great time staying at the Serene resort and found the staff very friendly and helpful, the location is great as is nice and quiet and only short walk to eating places, shops and beach. Take a short and cheap cab ride to other beaches near Kata and markets and shopping malls approx cost for taxi ride $12-00 so within anybodies price range. Stayed for three nights and am going back to stay again soon and would recommend it as a choice of place to stay.

Kay T.
Malaysia
May 13, 2010
Serene Resort
Nice and clean place, helpful staff.
A lot of steps if you stay at higher place. No free internet Access you have to pay.
Well for serene resort, we like the place very much although it look a bit old but the environment is good and relaxing s there r 2 swimming pool so you can choose which one you want to go for. The room was clean but a bit old and the bath room comes with a window that can open from the bed. So it might be fun for coupe but not for friends. Overall we like the place and we will come back again.

Dothan S.
Germany
May 12, 2010
A nightmare hotel
the breakfast was ok. the swimming pool was good.
Unfriendly and ice cold staff. Mediocre cleaning. Staff totally unhelpful.
A nightmare hotel! We booked a nice room with window, and when we came we where taken to the staff's quarter, behind the toilets, into a windowless cell with the smell of mould in the air. The shift manager blamed the agoda and told us to either pay for an upgrade or to sort it out with the agoda, but they didn't even let us use their phone, even though it was a local call. The shift manager simply told us that it wasn´t her problem and it didn't bother her a all to see us sitting totally baffled in the hot lobby with a baby and not knowing what to do. Instead of vacationing, my husband had to run a around and search for payphones, buy sim cards, wait in phone line etc. As if that wasn't enough, the shift manager finally told us everything was ok and we could stay in a normal room, but after 2 days she said she needed another confirmation from the agoda, so my husband needed to deal with this again. During this time, we enjoyed a welcome drink, and when the staff saw that we only came for the welcome drink they wanted to seat us at a dirty table and they sourly asked if we didn´t want to order something more. The room was cleaned every day, but the schampoo bottles were replaced with already opened ones, which didn't look too nice. After 3 days we couldn´t stand it anymore and went to the hotel across the street. Don't go to this hotell, it is more relaxing to stay at home.

Parminder S.
India
May 10, 2010
Few Words about Serene Resort
Near to beach, Near to all amenities and More over for INDIAN, a Indian Cusine Resturant is opposite to hotel.
Hotel Staff cooperative but speak/understand less English Breakfast is more eatable towards Eggetarians and Non - vegs. Less choice for vegs
Near to beach, Hotel Staff cooperative but speak/understand less English Near to all amenities and more over for INDIAN, a Indian Cusine Resturant is opposite to hotel.

Sarah F.
United Kingdom
May 07, 2010
Serene Resort, Phuket
Nice layout, two pools, fridge in room, nice balcony
none
This is a really nice hotel, not far from the beach, but a bit towards the end of town. It’s a bit family oriented, but we enjoyed our stay anyhow. Really clean, nice beds, and the resort has a nice layout with large balconies overlooking the two pools. We appreciated the fridge in room & nearby convenience store.

Sarah F.
United Kingdom
May 07, 2010
Serene Resort, Phuket
Nice big clean rooms, choices of swimming pools, not far from beach
lots of steps to get up to the accommodation - spread out through landscaped gardens
We got upgraded to the Serene Garden resort which is further away from the centre of the end of town. It’s a bit family oriented, but we enjoyed our stay anyhow. Really clean, nice beds, and the resort has a nice layout with large balconies overlooking the two pools. We appreciated the fridge in room, very similar to the sister resort.

Brent K.
Canada
May 05, 2010
Book through Agoda
Pool and location
Staff and charging for everything
The staff at the front desk were horrible. Make sure you pay the 3 extra dollars to get the upgraded room and don't make any changes like adding a person to the room or they will charge you more for a roll in bed than the actual room.

Brent K.
Canada
May 05, 2010
Poor Staff
Pool and Superior Room
Staff Staff and Staff
This hotels staff was horrible, but the rooms were great as was the ppol and location. I would stay here again, but I would make sure that I booked everything on Agoda so that they could not charge me for everything that I changed. I had to add one person to the reservation one night and they charged me almost the same price as another room.