arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Chanalai Flora Resort, Kata Beach

175 Koktanod Road, Kata, Phuket, Thailand

Very good 7.6
Based on 941 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 941 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Nidya B.
Australia
April 13, 2010
Absolutely fantastic
Proximity to the beach, very clean, large and comfortable rooms, fresh fruit every morning, great breakfasts, excellent pool area.
Even though the front desk were helpful enough, and they were sometimes quite busy, I found that they could have been a little more attentive or caring. A couple of times I had to pointedly interrupt conversations so they could pay attention to me and my requests. Other than those couple of times, their service was fast and helpful.
I booked Serene resort based on reviews on Agoda and Trip Advisor. I arrived at the hotel at 12.30 at night from Phuket airport, I was very tired and just wanted to go straight to sleep. The price I paid was very cheap and I was expecting to be greeted with average accommodation. When I arrived I was greeted with a gorgeous lobby area and pool and very welcoming staff who took me and my luggage to my free upgraded deluxe room with a wonderfully large bed and a great poolside balcony. I thoroughly recommend upgrading to a deluxe as I overheard another customer with a standard room complain that they had no windows. The room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels, fruit and water every day. It was only one block away from the beach, restaurants and songthaews on Kata and it is just across the road from a an ATM and money-changer. If I had to name a flaw it would be that some of the staff at the front desk could be a little bit more helpful and hospitable, but witnessing how busy they can sometimes get, I can understand why they may be a little curt - but never rude or not helpful.

Elad D.
Israel
April 12, 2010
sere hotel review
very close to te sea, has a pool, nice rooms
the sheets in the room are not so clean
the hotel is located near the sea do it takes only about 5-10 minuts to get there, is also near the restaurant aresa but not noisy at all. the rooms at the hotel are comfortable and spacy, there is also a nice pool. some of the rooms are near the main road and my be noisy

Nissara R.
Thailand
April 09, 2010
Not bad but not great (standard room)
courteous staff, spacious room, clean, relatively close to the beach, nice big tv.
the pillow has damp smell, got some bugs coming into the bathroom sometimes (probably through a hole), some towels look old, no windows in the room.
Overall, it was ok. I booked 2 non-consecutive nights of standard room. They were nice enough to offer to keep my bags for the few days in between. It's relatively close to the beach, but it's close to end of the row of stores and restaurants near Kata beach. The room was basic but spacious and clean. But without windows and sunlight to kill the germs, the pillows smell like those laundry that wasn't dried properly (not too different from the pillow from my diving trip). I saw a spider and a little millipede in the bathroom, no biggie for me since they seem to make their appearances at many places on Thai islands. The 2 level pools look nice but I didn't have a chance to swim there. I would recommend the place if you're not too picky or get a room with a window. Haven't eaten anything there though.

Lillian W.
Canada
April 08, 2010
great location to kata beach
two pools, swim-up bar, nice rooms with pool view
far from the action, unfriendly staff
serene resort is a 5 min. walk to kata beach, where chairs and umbrellas were always available. it's about 20 mins. by car to get to patong, where all the action is. however, there are many restaurants and small shops near the hotel, and it's a nice quiet location. the staff were not always friendly, however the manager jimmy was quite accomodating. there are two pools, and the setting is nice.

Marnita W.
United States
April 05, 2010
Took a chance, and so glad I did!
Proximity to beach, friendly staff, good breakfast, quietness, steak buffet on Tuesday nights, complimentary water, surrounding shopping, and air conditioner
You dropped your key in a drop box if you left the hotel, and it seemed like anyone who knew your room number could come get it. Maybe they just remembered who we were. Also, we didn't sign anything when we checked out. It was kind of wierd, and the person there wasn't the usual desk person. These were not major issues though.
The hotel was great! I did my research ahead of time, and it seemed like a good place given the price. We had the superior room, which was nice. When we first got there, the room was a little dirty, but not bad at all. Ofcourse, there are little bugs around, but that's expected with an Asian country. Again, it was tolerable. The air conditioner was nice and cool. If you know the short cut, the beach is only minutes away. Even without the short cut it's not bad. The shopping around is great. We took a taxi to patong for 800 baht total round trip...good luck finding cheaper. Great food around the hotel.

Nutchnart V.
Thailand
April 04, 2010
Nice place & Hotel // Hula Hula
neraby Sea- Kata Beach
Less choice breakfast
I hve been there with my Fam. The hotel is nearby Sea - Kata Beach. Not crowdy people. // Parking area is restriction (is less). It's near to walk to 7 eleven & shopping area but less choice food & resterant in night life. Service is good . Staff is relation ship but commemt for breakfest is less choice. and staff service 're not smile:( . The environment is good. // Big smimming Pool // Inside room is quite good but TV is not LCD. // However every thing is Good . I will back there againin next year. :)

Nutchnart V.
Thailand
April 04, 2010
Nice Hotel
Good environment
TV in room shold be LCD
The hotel is nearby Sea. It's near to walk to 7 eleven & shopping area but less choice food & restaurant in night life. Service is good . Staff is relation ship but comment for breakfast is less choice

Stacie S.
United States
April 01, 2010
Serene Resort
Good Location
1 hour drive from airport
The Serene Resort was a nice hotel for the money. Located in Kata Beach area which is not as busy as Patong, but still good shopping and food! The beach is a 3 minute walk away and nice in early morning.

Jessica M.
Australia
March 31, 2010
nice hotel
big pool, short walk to the beach, big rooms.
pool closes early, staff watched us lug our bags upstairs without offereing to help when we first arrived
we ended up booking two nights here instead of the one we had originally planned. it was a very nice set up, rooms sort of wrapped around the pool. short walk to the beach (which is beautiful) the staff were a little rude, but i have seen much worse. they watched us struggling with our bags out of the taxi and up stairs without offering to help. but then got help once we checked in. pool closes early which is quite annoying in this heat! but with the second pool up top we snuck a quiet swim in which was easy to do! :)

Jean-Michel G.
France
March 28, 2010
Nice, and Professionals
Close to the beach, just walking distance, great rooms, nice swimming pools. clean!
none
We were moved to a sister hotel, just few hundreds meters away, all this was done very politely, the hotel was full, and we were offered the same standard, friendly staff, very pro, polite, big hotel, comfortable, clean, the management own few, if you ask they will let you use the gym in the lastly build one, every thing was done to help. they also own a nice coffee shop that is quite famous in kata beach... I was a week in there and was very pleased to stay in that hotel.