or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chanalai Garden Resort

247 Koktanode Road, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Tropical Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Kata Beach Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Restaurant Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Guest Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Restaurant Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Summerhouse Coffee Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Business Center Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Pool Bar Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Surroundings Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Exterior Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 209
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
609 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (609)
Sort by:
Sandra P. Couples South Africa, July 19, 2012
Good value!

Pools, location
8.7
I've come back from my stay at this hotel feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated. Because of the close proximity to the beach, my husband and i were able to pop over to the beach often during the day. The pools are lovely, but the poolside furniture is tired! We had to climb countless steps - great for the figure, but would make life difficult for older visitors. Unfortunately, there was often a lot of late night noise when tour groups would arrive and decide to start moving furniture around. However, all in all we had a fabulous holiday and we'll definitely be returning to the Tropical Garden!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Its worth walking over the hill to Kata Noi - a quieter, cleaner beach.
Sandra P. Couples South Africa, July 9, 2012
Great location and good value

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, nice pools, close to beach
9
we had a really enjoyable stay at this hotel. it was our second visit to the tropical garden and our sixth to thailand. the location is really great, with the beach a short walk across the road. breakfasts were good and the staff really friendly - pity about the cheeky indian miners and the bad sewerage smells that drifted up the restaurant. we did miss getting dressing gowns and slippers in the rooms. also, there was not enough hot water for bathing. the pools were clean, but the surrounding areas are a bit run down - the loungers and umbrellas need to be replaced as many of them are broken.
Karen Y. Families with older children United States of America, July 7, 2012
Needs and update, staff looked bored/bothered.

Nice Kata beach location, short walk across street.
6
this was our second stay at tropical gardens. the impression is that it needs new owners/managers. in two years it hasn’t changed at all. most noticeably with the staff, no one seems like they wanted to work there. reception speaks very poor english. the manager has the best english and i saw him being retrieved from the back office on a constant basis. the breakfast hasn’t changed in two years, not a single item. there was poor communication between the breakfast staff and hotel. we were not permitted to charge the breakfast to our room. we had three rooms and were entitled to six adult breakfasts with the cost of the room, for the 7th member of our party (a 7 year old child) we were charged full-price. we were warned ahead of time to have baht on-hand to pay the caterer directly. during the bustle of the morning, the breakfast staff congregated off to the side, not being attentive to clean up or the need for items. we finally chose to pile our dirty dishes on an empty table, fending for ourselves. the buildings are getting old, there is some renovations going on but slowly. the pools are in the same poor shape as two years before (still usable, but not for much longer). we returned because of its great location (walking distance to kata beach) and it’s low price. what we would plan for next time is a shorter stay in kata and to choose a nicer hotel. tropical gardens, if they don’t have someone to motivate their staff and freshen things up, they should lose a star. it’s a large complex and regular maintenance is constant but an overhaul is needed. they’re just spinning their wheels.
Tim M. Couples South Africa, May 25, 2012
great people - good service - good location

very helpful staff. did the basics very well. very honest
8.3
unfortunately, they forgot to collect us at the airport. the lack of understanding of english was the problem i think. we got it right in the end with a very young staff. the internet usage was cheap but the machines are old and did give trouble. i would go there again as the low season rate was very reasonable.
Tim A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 11, 2012
Great location for Kata beach, lovely room.

Location
7.3
I stayed here for four nights. Great location for Kata beach, lovely room.
Anna L. Couples Russia, March 11, 2012
Nice and quiet hotel

close to the beach, clean and quiet, rooftop swimming pool
8
the hotel is located a bit far (10-15 minutes walk) from noisy bar-club part of kata beach, that's why it is quiet. shops, beach, restaurants are in 1-2 minutes walk. the rooms are big, breakfasts are good. big advantage is a rooftop swimming pool with the bar right in it. the space is limited, be sure you've reserved a place early. tours are available right at the counter, prices are standard. good hotel, maybe we'll stay there again.
Urban H. Families with young children Sweden, March 7, 2012
Standard hotel with 2 nice pools

Nice pools
5.3
Standard rooms and standard breakfast. Nice swimmingpools
Carlos M. Families with older children Brazil, January 31, 2012
lovely

its perfect
10
we enjoy this hotel many times. and always give to as a very good service.
Kathleen K. Groups United States of America, January 6, 2012
Not a fan of his hotel anymore

Location/view
5
I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past few years, and it was always my "go to" Phuket hotel. Sadly it seems to be declining and I don't plan to return. The location is still quite good - only a couple minutes to the beach. And there are some nice views from certain rooms. But for me the negatives now outweigh the location. I found the reception staff to be some of the rudest I've encountered in Thailand. Nothing was efficient. I was in email contact with the reservation clerk several times to request a certain type of room and to book an airport transfer. She almost never emailed me back, so I had to repeatedly call the hotel. Then when we arrived, our requests weren't even met. The rooms used to be colorful and vibrant, but now they are boring and sparse. The beds had noisy plastic covers on them. My safe didn't work and my air conditioner was obviously broken & so noisy that I had trouble sleeping. When I called the desk they were grumpy about coming to check. My friends had no electricity in their room one night. If you get a cheap deal in the low season it might be ok, but in Thailand, you expect more for that kind of money. The staff at the pool bars were also extremely lazy & inefficient. Guests had to go track them down when they were all sitting around hanging out rather than staying at the bar area. Instead of getting up and walking 15 feet to the bar to talk to the bartender, they'd scream loudly across the pool and disrupt the relaxation at the pool. At one point a server clapped at me like a dog to get my attention rather than coming over to me and asking me to pay the bill. When we finally checked out, we discovered that they had allowed a complete stranger to charge food to one of our rooms. When we pointed out that the name on the receipt was not ours, and that most of us weren't even AT the hotel when the charges were made, we could barely convince them that there had been a mistake.
Travel tip: The one bright spot of the hotel was the lady who arranged tours/activities. She was amazingly helpful & friendly, and can set up almost any tour you might want to take.
Shusak K. Families with older children Thailand, January 4, 2012
Good location Hotel

Close to the beach Hotel
8.3
Its location is very close to the beach.The high building leads to superb view.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: This hotel is very close to the beach. It is very easy to visit the beach city and local attractions.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Panoramic SeaviewChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Kata BeachChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Summerhouse CoffeeChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Business CenterChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Pool BarChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - SurroundingsChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - ExteriorChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - LobbyChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - LobbyChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - ViewChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Lobby BarChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Mali’s SpaChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Mali’s Spa

Customer Reviews - Chanalai Garden Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A08