or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chanalai Garden Resort

247 Koktanode Road, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Tropical Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Restaurant Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Guest Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Restaurant Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Summerhouse Coffee Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Business Center Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Pool Bar Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Surroundings Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Exterior Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe Room Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 209

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
604 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (604)
Sort by:
Katherine D. Couples Australia, February 1, 2013
Great location, nice rooms.

Excellent location, decent buffet breakfast, friendly staff, free beach towels for loan.
9
The location for this hotel was excellent. You literally walk down the driveway, cross the road to where a strip of restaurants are, then pass between the restaurants and you are on Kata beach. The beach was by far one of the nicest beaches we visited as it was long, but curved, with the end closest to the hotel full of rock pools. The water near the rocks was also quite good for inexperience snorkling who do not want to go to far out. The buffet breakfast at the hotel and featured all the usual (fruit, cereal, fried rice & noodles + meat, pancakes, pastry, omelets etc). The staff serving it were quite friendly, particularly the chef in charge of the making the omelets fresh. The pool was nice and clean and also had a basketball hoop + balls for people to play with. The hotel provided everyone with a pool towel for free, you simply had to sign for it when you got it (name, room number, how many you took) then sign for it when you returned it. You were also allowed to take these towels to the beach. The hotel itself is stretched over quite a large portion of land and our room was towards the back. The hotel layout seems a little bit like a maze, but they actually provide large maps next to the foothpaths. We were required to take the first elevator to the pool level, walk past the pool, up a flight of stairs, across a walkway, up another flight of stairs and then take another elevator to the second level at the back buildings. The walk was no where near as long as it sounds and they provide luggage service for both checking in and out. I do advise if you are less mobile to perhaps request a room towards the front. I would definitely stay there again.
Sam W. Families with young children Australia, January 6, 2013
great location resort nice

views from the upper rooms are amazing
6
Resort is in a good location and has amazing views. resort is a little tired but still nice.
Brian B. Solo travelers South Africa, January 4, 2013
nice location

pool
6
the hotel from the outside looks amazing and the staff are very friendly how ever a few things we didnt like 1. there were never clean towels at reception for the pool. 2. the rooms are old and outdadted. 3. the shower never had hot water at any time of the day. 4. the fridge in the room was so old it sounded like a car engine. 5. the tv was old and the picture green and always fuzzy. 6. the beds were old and very uncomfotable the springs were loose and we asked for the beds to be changed how ever this was not done. the hotel looks nice from the outside and the staff are helpfull but thats were it ends
Igor Z. Families with young children Germany, January 2, 2013
good location with good nearby dinner deals

friendly service
7.7
We, 2 adults and 2 toddlers, stayed over x'mas and new year here. I was happy to see that though located on a hillside, access to our room was easy with stroller by 2 elevators. So no worries for parents with stroller. Check-in: The booking did not go through so well. Better check your items directly with the hotel in advance. Altough I booked the airport pick up and had it on my voucher, it was not known to the hotel. Calling Agoda I was told that it is optional. I was afraid of arriving at 3 a.m. with my 2 and 5 year olds and nobody picking us up. I had to send credit card guarantee for the airport p/u to TGR and was timely picked up. I also informed Agoda about my nightly arrival time and got confirmed early check-in. At arrival the TGR front desk knew nothing about any early check-in and requested us to wait in the lobby until 9 a.m.! After heavy complaining and showing my voucher they asked for half day payment, for the time from 5 to 9 a.m. The room was big next to the 2nd pool and we had extra beds for our kids. They moved our 2 single beds together to give us more space. Great! The view is very nice overlooking the sea. TGR's location is good: It's only 2 minutes, across the street to the beach at the southern tip of Kata, where you can rent a lean chair for THB 200 and have 3 different good priced thai restaurants and a Reggea bar. It's a lively if not best part of the beach with some corals and nice fish for snorkling, we even saw a sea turtle. The TGR is clean though servicewise they were a bit overburdened, e.g. nobody at the 2nd pool. Some pool chairs were broken in pieces, no towels. Breakfast was good, no cheese though but always fresh and plenty. We paid it cash on a daily basis. We left my 2 years most precious teddy bear on the bed and Ms. Tookta of TGR helped mailing it to us. Thanks again! We had a very good time, funny parties for 12.24 and 12.31, and I can recommend the TGR as a good stay!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't book any trips online. You can do that in the little shop accross the street of TGR. Prices are negotiable. We did a one day island trip by speedboat. the boat was packed but still good fun, snorkling gear can be rented. Elephant riding is also a must.
Trevor K. Families with older children Australia, January 2, 2013
great Location & Restaraunts

Sea Views
7.7
great location - 2 mins to a great beach, close to several tourist attractions
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: easy access to several tourist attractions, great beach for kids
Yu W. Couples China, December 31, 2012
Old rooms and bad attitude manager from front desk

swimming pool
4.7
We are assigned to a very old room which is also very dark, we went to the front desk to complain and they said we can switch to another room on the next day, they spent half an hour to get this done, very low efficiency. Another thing made us very upset was the hot water issue: in the bathroom there was only hot water thus we were not able to take a shower, I talked with the front desk and they confirmed they would fix the issue after we had lunch. However, after 2 hours lunch the issue was still not fixed at all. We went to the front desk again to complain, and asked to see their manager, the manager came to talk with us with a very impatient attitude, and rejected several of our requested complimentary options but only gave a coupon for lunch( with no drinks). The worst thing was when she left she said "Oh my gosh" to complain us, and not even say Sorry or any form of apology to us for all of our wasted time and inconveniences! This manager really ruined our first day at Phuket!
Andrew B. Families with older children New Zealand, December 29, 2012
Great location and relaxign hotel

close to the beach and good shopping and restaurants nearby
8.3
After reading some negative comments in previous reviews we had a very positive stay. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Room was large and we had a lovely view over the bay. Close to shopping, restaurants and the beach made it an ideal location and suitable for our family. The room rate was very high because it was Christmas and we felt it was well over priced, as was the compulsory Christmas eve dinner.
Shannon T. Couples Canada, December 29, 2012
Nice room, nice price but lots of stairs

The price is really great for the accomodation and facilities
8
It was exactly what we needed for a reasonable price. The pool areas could do with some upgrades but it is clean. There are lots of really good places to eat nearby so it is a good thimg that you get some exercise with all of the stairs. The view was fantastic as well.
Donald Q. Couples United States of America, December 29, 2012
Great Staff, decent location

Great Staff
7
the staff was awesome. we booked a seaview room, the view was awesome but the room was a 15 minute walk from the lobby to the room. up 3 floors on elevator, across pool area, up 2-3 flights of stairs, onto another elevator, up 3-4 floors, up another flight of stairs - at the room. we stayed one night and asked for another room. they were great, gave us another seaview about 2 minutes from the lobby. right above one of the pools, better view; awesome. would i stay again, probably not, hotel is on the side of a hill. great staff, helpful but i find other hotels more convenient.
George M. Families with young children Egypt, December 28, 2012
Beautiful location with Bad management

Location, grounds and sea view
4
i always try to be fair in my comments on particular hotel, but what i experienced was...i will leave to your judgement. on our first step into the hotel, before checking in..the person at reception said you booked one room and you have 2kids so you have to pay for extra bed and breakfast. no problem this is fair. but she continued you have booked gala dinner for 2adults so you have to pay for 2kids, again no problem. its $95 each. i said this is unfair why because both adults cost $136. i asked to call the manager, she went and came back....no check in before paying the extra fees and he's not coming. i replied that i am not happy with this service but the reply was masked face..payment or you go. just as bending your arm. what kind of management is this....its you to decide. hotel itself is beautifully located few meters away from beach, gardens are well kept. pool average sized. breakfast no much choices, same buffet every day (we stayed 6nights)...boring.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Summerhouse CoffeeChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Business CenterChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Pool BarChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - SurroundingsChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - ExteriorChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - LobbyChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - LobbyChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - ViewChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Lobby BarChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Terrace RestaurantChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Mali’s SpaChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Mali’s SpaChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Panoramic SeaviewChanalai Garden Resort Phuket - Kata Beach

Customer Reviews - Chanalai Garden Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B06