Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 956 reviews

402 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (956)
Sort by:
William G. Couples United States of America, July 13, 2013
Thai style room meets pool and ocean access.

Pool access room; soft bed; overhead rain shower.
9.3
Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe pool access room. Older thai style décor, but very comfortable. Staff is very friendly, some speak "ok" English some do not. Has a very large, fresh water, non-heated pool, of course your in Thailand so I suspect most pools are not heated. Room mattress was soft, but remember traditional thai people grew up sleeping on floors, so they sleep on hard mattresses and a lot of hotels offer that type of mattress, so be sure to ask the hotel for a soft mattress in advance. Room service starts early in the morning, so be sure to hang your "Do Not Disturb" sign the night before if you don't want to be disturbed from your sleep. Local bus system runs every 1/2 hour in front of the hotel on Kata Road and costs 20 baht one-way to the next beach over from Kata, like Karon or Patong beach. We rented a Hondamatic motor bike for the four days we visited and costs 250 baht per day 24 hour rental. Helmets provided. We rented the motor bides from the BluEco Hotel our previous hotel were we stayed. We always ate outside and did not purchase hotel meals. Many street food venders outside the hotel and 7-Eleven has warmed up food ready to eat; spaghetti, chicken, local pastries, etc... Beach is an easy 5 minute walk or 2 minutes by motorbike. Beach lounge chair rental is 100 baht per person or 200 per couple for two chairs. Rip currents are on all beaches, please beware of lifeguard flags as where to swim. Overhead rain shower in shower, wife loved the bath to soak and relax. LCD TV didn't have a lot of channels to choose from, maybe around 25 or so. They rely on satellite dish. There is a DVD player in room as well if you have a movie or two. Overall nice stay, easy access to everything. Pool was so nice to dip in after a being hot. I would stay again. Tip: Time-share scammers riding motorbikes along Kata and other city roads will stop you point blank on the road and say "Hi" I have a great prize for you, all you have to do is take these
Report this review
Molly E. Solo travelers Canada, July 12, 2013
A great place to relax and unwind

This is a fantastic hotel that is only 2 years old and is much better then some 4 stars I've stayed in though it's classed as a 3 star.
9
Our stay at Tropical was blissful and relaxing. Aside from the comfortable rooms the best feature was the pool. Do yourself a favour and spend a little extra to get a pool access room. You literally can get into the pool from your balcony. We did not eat at the restaurant as there are so many other options around but it was full enough at breakfast time so must be decent.
Report this review
Jerry K. Couples United States of America, July 11, 2013
Big room and great shower

Clean, great staff, great value in the off season. Breakfast was OK but coffee was terrible. Rooms are very large for the money.
8
Great stay and we would go back. Didn't have Internet in the room for our first 4 days. Staff said that's the way it is but then on our last day, the Tropical Internet showed up and was fine.
Report this review
Rupert H. Couples United Kingdom, July 11, 2013
It says no children which is false

Pool room location
9
Report this review
Neil P. Solo travelers Australia, July 10, 2013
pleasant enough, handy to shops / bars / beach

Clean room / room size / room staff
7.7
good clean hotel, near the beach and bars restaurants and short taxi ride to other areas
Report this review
Diane S. Couples New Zealand, July 1, 2013
Lovely room. good pool good value

pool, central location, all rooms pool view
8.7
Enjoyable stay. Relatively quiet hotel. Close to beach. Breakfast buffet not great but adequate all rooms pool view so opt for superior with breakfast which is the same room as pool view. Good restaurant for thai food at zouth end of beach under the large tree and attached to SKABAR.
Report this review
Vincent S. Couples Singapore, June 28, 2013
Poor service

Good budget choice in kata beach
6
Staff need extra motivation and training in customer service especially in the breakfast department. They were lazy and unwilling to clear plates and set up tables for guests. And you need to pour your own coffee in a 4 stars hotel?
Report this review
Colin T. Groups Australia, June 27, 2013
Pleasant

The hotel being clean, friendly and providing the facilities offered in the Agoda website.
7.7
Over the past few weeks, with a couple of friends, we drove around parts of the southern and central Thailand. Working to a budget and primarily looking for short term accommodation the Tropical Resort, Kata, Phuket was more than adequate for the needs of a sight seeing in transit tourist. The hotel would also be recommend as holiday accommodation.
Report this review
Khairunnisa A. Couples Malaysia, June 27, 2013
Great room with great beach

nice room with pool access,nice toilet and great for honeymooners
7.3
The stay there even for one night was great.We got the room with pool access so it was a nice room and very comfy.We dont spend much time in the room since we go for sightseeing and see other place.Kata is a nice place to relax.I will definitely come here again.The only problem is the breakfast it was nothing much to choose.Other than that is fine with me
Report this review
Asitha D. Solo travelers United States of America, June 25, 2013
It was worth the money

Location, Affordability and Pool
7.3
My stay at the Resort was amazing - the staff were quite accommodating to my needs however majority of the staff lack the information or ability to speak in English which got quite frustrating at points. The ones who could were very helpful when needed though. A tip: Always use the door chain lock - I had a security guard open my room door while I was asleep for a friend of mine from another room in the hotel without my permission. A bit of an invasion of privacy, but not much I can do about it now I guess.
Report this review
Previous page 121 - 130 of 402 reviews Next page
Chanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming Pool with JacuzziChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Romantic Dining Chanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming Pool with JacuzziChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Superior RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - ExteriorChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - BathroomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - BathroomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Balcony/TerraceChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Balcony/TerraceChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - InteriorChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - ExteriorChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - ViewChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - SurroundingsChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Fitness RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Guest RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - BathroomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - RestaurantChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Fitness CentreChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Fitness RoomChanalai Romantica Resort, Kata Beach Phuket - Floor Plan


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01