Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chang Thai House

6/2 Rakang Rd, Soi 2, T. Haiya A.Maung, Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 535 reviews

223 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (535)
Sort by:
Maksim F. Couples Russia, August 11, 2012
Close to the center but crazy roosters

Large room, nice decoration, close to old city
7.7
very nice house with large rooms and a good bed. own parking with a roof (motorcycles welcome!). cons: aircon blowing right in direction of the bed, construction and very loud roosters in the next yard to the hotel.
Report this review
Clara K. Families with young children United States of America, August 5, 2012
Well kept hotel close to city center

helpful staff, small but nice pool
9
takes a little walk to the center, so if you want to be in the center, this is not the place for you. but if you don't mind being a few blocks away, this is a great choice. only negative is the roosters that don't wait for sunrise but start crowing at 3am, and soon there is achorus of them. didn't seem to bother my family though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take the tuk tuks to avoid heat fatigue. If you are going for an elephant trip, do your research. I found the tours to be expensive, and some get booked well in advance. Patara came highlyrecommended but it was full 2 weeks before. Elephant Nature Park was a great alternative and I also heard Elephant training Center was good. Don't support the places where elephants are mistreated.
Report this review
Katharine C. Families with young children Malaysia, August 2, 2012
What a great choice we made

clean, spacious rooms, great staff
9
From the start we were happy with our choice of Chang Tai. The rooms were clean especially the bathrooms which is always icky at budget guest houses. Really cute tiling work in the bathrooms and the bed was a lovely king sized bed in a clean, spacious room. Everything worked from the air-cons, the water heater, the fridge, the TV and the wireless so no problems at all. The staff were excellent and had a genuine love and care for our young son so it was like having an extra pair of hands to baby sit! The location was also excellent 10 mins walking to the night market, really close to the old city and quiet and peaceful at night. And also close by to som yummy local street food. Thanks Chang Thai!
Travel tip: only bummer was my mobile was knicked by our tuk tuk driver. I was careless to have left it in this tuk tuk but he was dishonest by not returning it to me and giving it to a friend who demanded 1000 Baht but in the end I didnt get it back anyway. so hang on tight to your possessions!
Report this review
Leong S. Couples Malaysia, August 2, 2012
Budget Guesthouse with swimming pool

Great location
10
The hotel is located within walking distance to Saturday Night Market and Night Bazaar. The room facilities are in good condition and there is a swimming pool! The breakfast is in buffet style and it's yummy!
Report this review
Bernadette M. Couples United Kingdom, July 26, 2012
Nice little hotel

Good rooms in a nice blend of modern with traditional design.
7.7
We enjoyed our stay at Chang Thai House. Open-air lobby offers a comforting entrance with the necessary amenities such as free internet access, food and swimming pool. We didn't actually use the swimming pool because it is directly connected to reception and is overlooked by some building renovations. Ultimately however, we didn't need to use it because there were plenty of other things to do, and that is not the reason to travel all the way to chang mai, to sit at the pool. The staff are helpful when it comes to organising excursions and it is very convenient in that you are always picked up right at the door. The room was of a very good standard, spacious and well maintained. The only place for improvement would be the restaurant side of things - breakfast was basic, but felt worse because of the number of flies around the food.
Report this review
Bernadine M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 25, 2012
Friendly hotel

Large comfortable room.
8
Quiet hotel close to the old town and night markets. Best feature of this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff.
Report this review
Jarren H. Couples Canada, July 21, 2012
Nice hotel in a back alley location

Price
7
For the price of the hotel it was nice. Breakfast was a regular Thai hotel breakfast. The pool was cold as it rarely sees sun and construction is on going next door. If you are looking for a hotel in the old city there are nicer hotels in a more convenient location.
Report this review
Chong P. Groups Malaysia, July 14, 2012
Convenience and lovely hotel

friendly staffs, great location
9
walking distance to night bazaar and old city. you definitely want to go night bazaar everynight! a great location to any sightseeing! friendly and nice staffs. there is tour counter in lobby, you can book tours here. we had massage here, and it's great! the service is excellent! will come again next time!
Report this review
Simone W. Families with older children Australia, June 28, 2012
clean lovely rooms

could walk to the night markets
8.3
they were very helpful with the bookings of day trips.
Report this review
Simone W. Families with older children Australia, June 28, 2012
Beautiful hotel

close to night markets
7.7
lovely room kept clean breakfast could have been better
Report this review
Previous page 101 - 110 of 223 reviews Next page
Chang Thai House Chiang MaiChang Thai House Chiang Mai - EntranceChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Room - BathroomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - AmenitiesChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - BathroomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - LobbyChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolChang Thai House Chiang Mai - ExteriorChang Thai House Chiang Mai - View


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02