or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chang Thai House

6/2 Rakang Rd, Soi 2, T. Haiya A.Maung, Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200 (Show on map)

Book now!

Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Entrance Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Room - Bathroom Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double Room Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - Amenities Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - Bathroom Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Lobby Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai Restaurant Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai Restaurant Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai Restaurant Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - Exterior
Chang Thai House Chiang Mai - View
Area: Chang Khlan Number of Rooms: 30
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
461 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (461)
Sort by:
Michael S. Solo travelers United States of America, October 4, 2012
The good and the bad

Housekeeping
6.7
After the hotel I stayed in in Hanoi , this was a real letdown. The good Housekeeping keeps the place spotless and will always smile and talk to you . Within walking distance to the night market where I ate almost every night .(My favorite place was down one of the roads just past the night market on the same side of the street two women on the left side of the road , I think thay had a pad thai sign out front . Decorated nice , they have a price list in the room in case you want to buy any furnishings . They're airport transfer got me back to the airport well in time for my flight . It's also within walking distance to Loi Kroh Road where all the girly bars are (if you're into that kind of thing) They all dress nice . The pool is nice and the water is very clear and clean. The Bad Breakfast isn't much , the same thing every day with the exception of a different curry or stir-fry . Besides housekeeping the rest of the staff hardly spoke to me. Seemed like they were all on the computer or their phones or texting constantly . Don't leave any food out in the room unless you like ants . As has been said before ,the lobby is open air so be prepared to swat flys at breakfast . The windows in the bathrooms aren't solid , they are two half plates of glass offset about 3 inches . I know this is for ventilation , but its also where the flying insects get in . A little screening over the gap would cure that . Never saw the spa open Which is in a separate building across the street) , just a sign on the door saying to contact the hotel. It could be a nice place with some training and attention to detail . The signs in the pool area say it all , 2 were right side up , and the one in the center was upside down .
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The best time I had in Chiang Mai was with Reiner Agethen at Dreamlake Fishing . I booked a full day trip to Paradise Lake and was worn out after fighting Mekong catfish all day . My biggest one was 47 kg and took an hour to land . There's bigger ones there (but we won't go into the one that got away). It's well worth the money if you like to fish .
Wipada L. Couples Thailand, October 1, 2012
Chang Thai House
7
hello i like this hotel because it give me some of happy and joy. it likely near thapae gate and market.
Abby D. Couples New Zealand, September 15, 2012
great location friendly staff

close to night markets
8.3
Nice hotel, breakfast was okay. Short walk to night markets.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visit tiger kingdom
Frederick B. Couples United States of America, August 28, 2012
"Very limited and cramped"

Tiled floors, cozy kind of feel
4.3
Room: Minimum in western standards. Little, if any, water pressure. Limited heat as it is an "Thai" style water heater (meaning a small, electric water heater attached adjacent to the water spicket itself). We had a king sized bed and it was good in that it didn't move around (had a firm, fixed base) and make too much noise (always good with your neighbors). Place: Very small lobby (if you can call it that as it is an "open" lobby). Lobby is "open air" meaning it isn't enclosed but designed / built (I am assuming here) in "Thai" style - makes it interesting during rain downpours. Breakfast: Leaves a lot to be desired. Very minimum with very limited seating and very cramped. If you looking for a place that is very limited on ammenities (but low in price as well) - this is your place - but be forewarned - this place is no large hotel.
Soo J. Solo travelers South Korea, August 16, 2012
Small budget and big service

Cleanness and location
8.3
This hotel was having a very satisfying service and as for location, close to airport and close to city center! The rooms are quite big which I was expecting smaller rooms for this kind of budget. I got a big discount reserving the hotel room through agoda and It saved me from the high season room crisis as I reserved it a month early. I recommend this hotel very much.
Maksim F. Couples Russia, August 11, 2012
Close to the center but crazy roosters

Large room, nice decoration, close to old city
7.7
very nice house with large rooms and a good bed. own parking with a roof (motorcycles welcome!). cons: aircon blowing right in direction of the bed, construction and very loud roosters in the next yard to the hotel.
Clara K. Families with young children United States of America, August 5, 2012
Well kept hotel close to city center

helpful staff, small but nice pool
9
takes a little walk to the center, so if you want to be in the center, this is not the place for you. but if you don't mind being a few blocks away, this is a great choice. only negative is the roosters that don't wait for sunrise but start crowing at 3am, and soon there is achorus of them. didn't seem to bother my family though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take the tuk tuks to avoid heat fatigue. If you are going for an elephant trip, do your research. I found the tours to be expensive, and some get booked well in advance. Patara came highlyrecommended but it was full 2 weeks before. Elephant Nature Park was a great alternative and I also heard Elephant training Center was good. Don't support the places where elephants are mistreated.
Katharine C. Families with young children Malaysia, August 2, 2012
What a great choice we made

clean, spacious rooms, great staff
9
From the start we were happy with our choice of Chang Tai. The rooms were clean especially the bathrooms which is always icky at budget guest houses. Really cute tiling work in the bathrooms and the bed was a lovely king sized bed in a clean, spacious room. Everything worked from the air-cons, the water heater, the fridge, the TV and the wireless so no problems at all. The staff were excellent and had a genuine love and care for our young son so it was like having an extra pair of hands to baby sit! The location was also excellent 10 mins walking to the night market, really close to the old city and quiet and peaceful at night. And also close by to som yummy local street food. Thanks Chang Thai!
Travel tip: only bummer was my mobile was knicked by our tuk tuk driver. I was careless to have left it in this tuk tuk but he was dishonest by not returning it to me and giving it to a friend who demanded 1000 Baht but in the end I didnt get it back anyway. so hang on tight to your possessions!
Leong S. Couples Malaysia, August 2, 2012
Budget Guesthouse with swimming pool

Great location
10
The hotel is located within walking distance to Saturday Night Market and Night Bazaar. The room facilities are in good condition and there is a swimming pool! The breakfast is in buffet style and it's yummy!
Bernadette M. Couples United Kingdom, July 26, 2012
Nice little hotel

Good rooms in a nice blend of modern with traditional design.
7.7
We enjoyed our stay at Chang Thai House. Open-air lobby offers a comforting entrance with the necessary amenities such as free internet access, food and swimming pool. We didn't actually use the swimming pool because it is directly connected to reception and is overlooked by some building renovations. Ultimately however, we didn't need to use it because there were plenty of other things to do, and that is not the reason to travel all the way to chang mai, to sit at the pool. The staff are helpful when it comes to organising excursions and it is very convenient in that you are always picked up right at the door. The room was of a very good standard, spacious and well maintained. The only place for improvement would be the restaurant side of things - breakfast was basic, but felt worse because of the number of flies around the food.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Chang Thai House Chiang MaiChang Thai House Chiang Mai - EntranceChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Superior Room - BathroomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Double RoomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - AmenitiesChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Deluxe Room - BathroomChang Thai House Chiang Mai - LobbyChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Chang Thai RestaurantChang Thai House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolChang Thai House Chiang Mai - ExteriorChang Thai House Chiang Mai - View

Customer Reviews - Chang Thai House, Chiang Mai

AS-AGWEB-3A02