Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

aileen P.
United Kingdom
May 03, 2012
Nice quiet hotel off busy streets of Hanoi
Quiet rooms, friendly staff
Great 2 nights sleep as room was quiet and air conditioned. Staff were extremely helpful. Great location.

Douglas M.
New Zealand
April 26, 2012
Friendly Staff
Friendly staff and great service, fresh breakfast, central location
WE loved our stay - staff were always welcoming and cheerful,eager to help and to simply 'chat'.I was a little unsure about having a room with no windows but soon overcame that! Room was clean and serviced each day,air conditioner quiet and great to have a computer in room - a real asset when planning trips etc.

Mathew O.
Australia
April 21, 2012
Great Location and a 2 star gem
Location and price make this hotel
Down a small alley which is always good for noise in Hanoi. On arrival there was no real fan fare and we were shown our room. Very small room on the 2nd floor. Bathroom was the letdown with no separate recess for the shower meaning you soak the whole bathroom every time you have a shower. Mini bar available at reasonable price and PC with internet in the room. Breakfast was simple but had good Pho and bread. Egg options and fresh fruit, juice and coffee. We had a late night and came back to reception at about 12:45 the night staff member was asleep on the floor but like most of Vietnam was all smiles when we knocked on the door. I'd happily recommend this hotel for a cheap simple hotel

Graham E.
United Kingdom
April 15, 2012
Excellent. Really helpful staff.
The price and quality.
We arrived very early and they got a room ready for us by 9:30. The room was clean and quiet. Free use of a computer and internet access. We had only booked one night as we were going to Ha Long Bay. They couldn't fit us in for the The 2 nights afterwards, but were helpful in trying to arrange another hotel. We found one ourselves and paid twice as much for a hotel that was fine but no better than this 'Charming' gem.

Maria A.
Spain
April 06, 2012
Small convenient hotel
Good location, chraming staff, clean rooms
Although the hotel is located in a tiny road in the center of Hanoi, it is very well located, good service, cheap and clean. they also help you with some tours and transfer to the airport. An easy stay for a few days in Hanoi.

FONG W.
Singapore
April 05, 2012
Warm Stay Hotel with friendly and helpful staff
The reception staff
The reception staff offerred us to have breakfast in our room when the dining hall is fully occupied. Would also like to suggest adding an extra item to the Breakfast Menu, i.e. Fried Noodle. The reception staff recommended good restaurants for our dinner which we all enjoyed it very much.

Mary P.
Philippines
March 27, 2012
excellent services
awesome staff
charming hotel services was so great and i would not hesitate to write a good review of their excellent services. we arrived 3am in the morning with our initial plan of strolling around the city while waiting for the check-in time which is 12pm. but since hanoi city is idle at night till dawn hours, the hotel offered us a room to stay and rest and even served us with good breakfast. that should be equivalent to one night stay already which is not included in my booking but they offered those free of charge. during our stay, the staff assisted us in getting around the area by providing maps and tour details which made our stay a hassle-free trip. the receptionists are really awesome coz they are really concerned with our daily tours. they see to it that we enjoy our tours. when we got short of dollar, they even assisted us to the banks where we can change our peso to dollar but unfortunately, we never find one and we opted to use atms. we were able to meet the manager, , and he was really great too! he offered umbrellas during heavy rain. really, this hotel is fantastic!

Colin V.
Australia
March 16, 2012
Extremely friendly staff, central location
Centrally located, reasonably priced, friendly staff
Its location in the Old Quarter makes this hotel a good base for exploring Hanoi. The staff could not be friendlier and did everything they could to help us. The room had WIFI, minibar and functioning air-conditioner. The (included) breakfast choices were limited, but adequate. We felt we got good value for money.

Samuel H.
United Kingdom
March 15, 2012
Lives up to its name!
Staff are super friendly and helpful
We loved our stay here, room was excellent for the price. Staff were really friendly and enthusiastic. Breakfast was good enough to start the day. Good location. Would stay here again.

Colin V.
Australia
March 12, 2012
No worries
The friendliest staff ever
we stayed for ten days at charming and have no complains at all. the staff was friendly, helpful and charming. we had quite a few extra services, e.g. four towels instead of two, coffee brought to the room each morning, a third pillow, baguette instead of toast for breakfast. all of these were obliged happily and without charge. we will go back to charming each time we'll stay in hanoi.