arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

9.3 Rhiannon B.
Australia
February 02, 2012
lovely friendly staff
There were always staff at the front door and reception eager to open doors for you and make sure you had everything you need.
rooms were clean and well priced. the staff were very accomodating, our friends staying with us had to leave early for a bus and the staff were nice enough to start breakfast an hour early for them. it was a very pleasant stay.

3 Fabien C.
France
January 30, 2012
Good location but that's it
Good location
It might be that we were unlucky staying during Tet, but that shouldn't be an excuse. Apart from the location, which is close to the lake and in the old town, nothing was right. Staff seemed to have party every night, cooking food for themselves, which we could strongly smell in our room. Room was small and smelly all the time. Once there was no hot water so we asked for a key to another room as we wanted to take a shower and leave. We got a key to a dirty room, with no hot water anyway!!! Taxi service to the airport was much more expensive than what was offered in other places. The place where you get breakfast was freezing cold - everyone wearing winter jackets, and we were told most of the breakfast things are not available cause of Tet (however there was lots of food for the staff every day). Also, when we asked for a map we got a bad copy of the nearest area, so I asked for a bigger map, and was told I can get one in tourist office. When we got there it was closed - I think staff should be aware about things like that.

9.3 Janet H.
Canada
January 22, 2012
little gem in the old quarter
staff, location, clean rooms
enjoyed our stay. it was the coldest days so far this year. the heat worked well in the rooms but there was none in the hallways. this didn't really matter to us. loved the ambiance. breakfast was good.

9.3 Courtney M.
Australia
January 22, 2012
Great Hotel, friendly, enthusiastic, helpful staff
Great, helpful, friendly staff
we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, they were open to given advice about where to visit and eat and were always friendly and welcoming. they even shared a meal with us one night whilst we were waiting for a tour. the front desk booked a tour up to sapa for us at very reasonable prices and arranged all our transport. there are rooms with or without windows, we prefer windows but did not mind the room without. the rooms are very clean and made up every day. the location is very central with lots of attractions within walking distance to the hotel. the highlight of this hotel is defiantly the staffs enthusiasm to assist their customers.

10 Emma M.
Australia
January 18, 2012
Lovely hotel
Good location in Old Quarter.
We have returned to Charming Hotel after our fist stay due to comfortable and clean rooms and outstanding service. Very enjoyable tour to Halong Bay aranged through thís hotel. Would highly recommend.

9.3 Dorothy L.
New Zealand
January 14, 2012
Fantastic staff but small rooms
clean rooms and exceptionally helpful staff
We were very happy with the Charming Hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the room although small was well appointed and very clean. The hotel was well positioned within walking distance of the railway station and most sights.

8 maija-liisa T.
Finland
January 09, 2012
lovely hotel and staff.
staff
nice hotel staff and athmosfar. very good location. good service and a taxi pick up works so good. it have been little bit expensive. but very good the other. nice and lovely girls at the recepcion.

7.7 Franz M.
Germany
January 06, 2012
nice hotel with friendly service in the old centre
location, service
nice hotel with good location (small alley in the old quarter), rooms have window but view to wall only

9 Peiyan W.
China
January 05, 2012
Good service and nice location
good service
The service in this hotel was perfect, they gave us a lot of useful help and advise: exchange service, tour service, etc. All the people are so nice!

9 Jeff B.
New Zealand
December 26, 2011
Really good experience
Location location location (as they say) plus GREAT staff
perfectly located close to Lake and up an alley so away from traffic & street noise the staff could't be more friendly and helpful & all arrangemnet went perfectly to plan including a/port pick up with side trip on the way in rooms are fairly basic - be sure to get one with a window tv & internet in room