arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8 Barbara G.
Brazil
July 28, 2011
Simple but good
Great Location
i stayed over night at charming hotel with my husband and 2 kids (7 and 5 years old)....the staff were very nice...we arrived at night and they suggested us a good restaurant for dinner and called us a taxi.next morning they kept our luggage while we went for a tour in the city...we came back at noon and they offered us a room to take a shower and rest before leaving to the airport at 3:00 p.m after ha noi we flew to hoi an....paradise!!! sun shine!!! great!

8 Pieter J.
Netherlands
July 26, 2011
Small rooms, but really really good service!
Service, pc in your room, clean, and service again!
The charming hotel is really charming! Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. You will have a desktop pc in your room which is quite handy. Besides that the service is really good. They booked our bus tickets and arranged some good seats for us.

7.3 Sean T.
United States
July 25, 2011
Charming live sup to its name
Great location at a cheap price and steps from the lake
we had five days in hanoi at the end of our trip so we were looking for something toward the budget end of the spectrum and the hanoi charming fit the bill. at night split between the two of us it was hard to argue with the value of this hotel. it was located a five minute walk from the ne side of the lake and just a short walk from hang gai which is where many of the higher end silk and furniture stores are located (my girlfriend spent a solid four plus hours on one block, both sides of the street but still). over the course of four full days in hanoi we were able to walk everywhere including the war museum, natural history museum, museum of the revolution, fanny (some of the best ice cream i'm had), temple of literature, hanoi hilton, and pretty much everywhere except the ethnography museum which requires a cab ride. the staff was incredibly helpful refusing to let us carry our bags at any point. lien, who works the front desk, speaks great english and has an almost infectious giggle. the first night we arrived she upgraded us to executive room. we spent the next four nights in a normal room which was was big enough for a queen size bed and maybe a foot on either side. there was a window (pro) but it opened to a wall (con). the room did include a flat screen tv as well as an internet connected computer which worked even when the wifi was spotty. the rooms were clean enough but unfortunately we did wake up each day with a handful of bug bites each morning there were three breakfast options, american, continental, and vietnamese as well as some surprisingly decent coffee. there also two additional computers as well as a free printer downstairs which proved surprisingly helpful given our need to print out various maps since we made a number of wrong turns our first day. all in all, in certainly wasn't the ritz, but for a night, you could do a lot worse.

7.3 Patrick O.
United States
July 22, 2011
Small clean rooms with friendly staff
Staff is very helpful
Through Agoda, I paid $22 for a room that I could have booked at the hotel for $19, so my fault there. That room was clean but had no window. As it made me claustrophobic, the next day I moved to a room with a window, for which I was charged $30. The hotel is small but is centrally located - there is a food market on Yen Thai in the mornings. The staff is very friendly, patient, and helpful. Be aware, however, that if they book you a train ticket, they will take an (unmentioned) hefty commission. I paid $32 for a soft sleeper to Sapa, and found out later that I could have paid 450,000 dong (about $22) at the train station for the same ticket. I was also not informed that what they gave me was not a train ticket but rather a voucher, and was pretty irritated when I was denied admission to the train. I was then informed that I had to search around for a woman who would give me my actual ticket, but she in turn had to wait for the ticket to be delivered to the train station (another ten - fifteen minutes), so I made it on the train with only five minutes to spare.

10 Evgeny Z.
Russia
July 20, 2011
Small but cozy
Large rooms
When we came to this hotel we ere told that due to some technical problem with water supply there was no room for us. Instead they moved us to their sister hotel Holiday where we were given a large room with all amenities and with a big balcony. Sine we paid only 21 USD per room in the Charming Hotel via Agoda we were very much grand to see this development. We has no opportunity to have breakfast as we had to order taxi (actually it was just their company car, for 15 USD to the airport for 06:00 a.m. Airport drive was OK. We paid 15 USD to the reception by my VISA credit card with usual for Vietnam surcharge of 3%. Actually during this our very brief visit to Vietnam (from Bangkok overnight to catch a plane home) we did not even change our fund unto local money as they accept USD everywhere.

9.7 SARAH S.
United States
July 17, 2011
fanastic service, clean rooms
extremely accodating, clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms
we stayed here as our homebase in hanoi, and then left twice for travel to sapa and halong bay. the hotel looked after our luggage while we were on these shorter trips and dealt gracefully with our schedule (ie, arriving at 5am one morning). breakfast was included. lots of friendly, free advice. highly recommended.

8 Grainne R.
Ireland
July 04, 2011
lovely hotel
big brekkie
nice clean hotel with a good location in the old quater. nothing fancy but you get what you pay for. staff very helpful and friendly. shower is cold!

9.3 Nick O.
New Zealand
July 01, 2011
Great Staff, comfortable large rooms
The Staff are very helpful
down yen thai street, is a narrow small street, at first your wondering what the hell, as you pass numerous things being sold from buckets of crawling crabs to tobacco, while scooters whiz by. then out pops charming hotel, and you wonder like most the hotel buildings around this area how they can squeeze everything in. charming rooms we're very decent sized, also very clean and comfortable, serves a basic breakfast of three options each morning. two computers are there for use aswell as a printer. we ran into some trouble in hanoi, with a wallet being taken at the saturday markets (very busy bustling market, stay aware of your bag, ours was cut and with the wallet taken). but the staff we're amazing, they sent along someone to the police station who could translate for us. many thanks to lien and the rest of the staff, there happy to help book anything taxi's, sapa trains etc always smiling and helpful!

8.7 Grainne R.
Ireland
June 29, 2011
Simple clean hotel
Big Brekkie & Friendly staff
Hotel was no frills but exactly what you pay for, clean room, good location and comfy beds.

10 Roger A.
United Kingdom
June 19, 2011
Great service, great rooms, came back twice!!!
Service of staff exceptional and room facilities outstanding.
as you can see above, we came back twice, the hotel had everything we needed. great location, sweet, clean rooms. able to check in early and use facilities for washing when we were leaving past the check out time. just could'nt ask for more.