arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Staff Performance 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Andrew S.
United Kingdom
August 30, 2010
Lovely hotel
Modern clean rooms and excellent staff who couldn't be more helpful
None
We were really impressed with this hotel. Clean rooms, a selection of breakfasts, really central location, working air con, and staff who were happy to go the extra mile like storing our bag for three nights whilst we went Sapa trekking

Andrew S.
United Kingdom
August 27, 2010
Sightseeing trip to Hanoi
Modern clean rooms and excellent staff who are really friendly
none
In the old quarter on a quiet (by Hanoi standards) street. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and clean.

Ian J.
Australia
August 21, 2010
Charming is indeed Charming
very clean and friendly
i had no problems
Charming Hotel is located on a small market type street full of morning activity making for a very interesting start to the day. Close to Hoan Kiem Lake (10 min walk)in the old Quarter hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless free wi-fi in room, resturant only serves breakfasst and this is limited though adequate, there are plenty of good places to eat while exploring the bustling street life of Hanoi.

Joy S.
New Zealand
August 21, 2010
Definitely Charming
Excellent location in the Old Quarter, handy to Hoan Kiem, shopping and cafes, friendly staff,
My room was noisy in the early morning, chairs with no backs are challenging for westerners unused to them.
I loved staying here at the Charming Hotel, so much so that I've booked a return visit! The location is just perfect for walking around the Old Quarter, excellent food outlets, shopping and the lake. It's close to the French Quarter too which is the location of the Cathedral. Church Street has many restaurants, cafes and vendors selling food. Sure the location is a little noisy first thing in the morning when the vendors in the narrow street upon which the hotel is located, but that's a small price to pay for being "amongst" the vibrant Vietnamese community as they buy fresh goods for the day. I loved the energy in this narrow street. Having computers in the room with fast internet access was also a bonus.

Andrew E.
New Zealand
August 05, 2010
Really is Charming
Beautifully presented and amazing staff
Cars cant get all the way down the street - only annoying when you first get dropped off, staff help after that
I cant say enough good things about this cute hotel. I would reccomend it to anyone who is travelling on a budget but still cares about comfort and cleanliness. The hotel is in a little laneway (dont worry, its safe) so it is quiet (from traffic). It is easy wlaking distance to the lake, lots of little restaraunts and places to shop. The bedrooms are not massive but the two of us had enough space. We stayed there for a week and it was always kept clean, it is practically brand new. The bathrooms have hand held showers and monsoon shower heads, great for washing off the days traffic. The staff were what really made the stay memorable, they couldn't do enough for us (or even for our friends who weren't even staying there). They organised our laundry for us, translations, taxis, tours and a restaraunt we had trouble finding. They always greeted us with warm smiles and open doors! The manager Mr Duc is there to help, as are his staff.

Kean N.
Malaysia
August 01, 2010
value for money
next to main street for night shopping
tight and dark lane
probably the best stay but hanoi is too noisy with honks all over the street by motorists. Hotel is located in the inner lane with vege selling in the morning and near to night "pasar malam" market. In short, the hotel is located near and within walking distance to all main shopping streets and restaurants. For those on honeymoon, Hanoi is not the place for you. Do book a direct trip to Halong Bay which is most memorable trip for us. Do ensure you spent a night in the best ship available.

Laura B.
United Kingdom
July 20, 2010
Lovely hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful
Staff
No window in room, window looked out onto a white wall but made room quiet as no traffic noise early in morning!
Highly recommend hotel if it is in your price backet. Staff were excellent and helped out with all questions. Good location as only a five minute walk to the lake. Tucked away down a back street. Breakfast was good too!

Rebecca J.
Australia
July 05, 2010
Home away from home
close enough to central tourist district, but far enough away to be quiet.Clean, friendly, professional.
small room
This was a clean, quiet and friendly spot to stay, an easy walk from the lake. Nothing was too much trouble - laundry, money exchange, restaurant recommendations. Our friends were allowed to check in when their train arrived - 5am - for no extra cost.

Amy C.
United Kingdom
July 02, 2010
Oh so Charming...
Free internet in rooms; staff attentiveness; shower and hot water
Initially difficult to find
This is a great little hotel once you can find it. It is tucked away down a narrow street that cars can't fit through. Best idea is to print off a map beforehand and show it to the taxi driver, otherwise you will end up driving round in circles like we did. Luckily, we had already agreed on a price for the taxi from the airport beforehand (250,000VD), otherwise the meter would have rocketed up. Once in the hotel the staff are very friendly and want to ensure you have a pleasant stay. There is a cable TV and computer with broadband in each room, as well as more in the lobby area. The lobby area also has a printer you can use free of charge. We went back to this hotel on two separate occasions after a stay in Danang, and they seemed to remember us, as we were greeted with warm smiles. This may be an odd comment but the shower is really good in this hotel, with hot running water. We found this was difficult to get to a good standard in some hotels, but not at Charming. The breakfast isn't great, but its included in the price and kept us going until lunchtime.

Janice D.
Canada
June 24, 2010
A Great Deal
-Location
-Hospitality