or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Charming Hotel

15 Yen Thai Street, Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam 084 (Show on map)

Book now!

Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Hotel Interior Charming Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Charming Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Charming Hotel Hanoi - Facilities Charming Hotel Hanoi - Facilities Charming Hotel Hanoi - Facilities Charming Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Charming Hotel Hanoi - Facilities
Hotel Area: Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter Number of Rooms: 36
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
547 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (547)
Sort by:
Rebecca J. Families with older children Australia, July 2, 2010
Home away from home

close enough to central tourist district, but far enough away to be quiet.Clean, friendly, professional.
9.7
This was a clean, quiet and friendly spot to stay, an easy walk from the lake. Nothing was too much trouble - laundry, money exchange, restaurant recommendations. Our friends were allowed to check in when their train arrived - 5am - for no extra cost.
Janice D. Families with young children Canada, June 17, 2010
A Great Deal

-Location
9.7
Amy C. Couples United Kingdom, June 17, 2010
Oh so Charming...

Free internet in rooms; staff attentiveness; shower and hot water
8
This is a great little hotel once you can find it. It is tucked away down a narrow street that cars can't fit through. Best idea is to print off a map beforehand and show it to the taxi driver, otherwise you will end up driving round in circles like we did. Luckily, we had already agreed on a price for the taxi from the airport beforehand (250,000VD), otherwise the meter would have rocketed up. Once in the hotel the staff are very friendly and want to ensure you have a pleasant stay. There is a cable TV and computer with broadband in each room, as well as more in the lobby area. The lobby area also has a printer you can use free of charge. We went back to this hotel on two separate occasions after a stay in Danang, and they seemed to remember us, as we were greeted with warm smiles. This may be an odd comment but the shower is really good in this hotel, with hot running water. We found this was difficult to get to a good standard in some hotels, but not at Charming. The breakfast isn't great, but its included in the price and kept us going until lunchtime.
Somjai M. Families with young children United States of America, June 16, 2010
Good velue for money.

Staffs were very friendly. Room was good size and clean.
8.7
This is a small hotel, from outside looks like a shophouse (many small hotels in Vietnam are like this), the lobby quite small. We stayed at room 401 that have a window and pretty good size.The room and bathroom were clean. Shower area was open to the sink. Staffs were very friendly and can speak Englist well. Breakfast was nothing special, egg, bread and jam or pho. Overall it was a good velue for money.Good location.
Restaurant Tip: We ate at 69 bar and restuarant. It was nice, but no aircon.
Thanathon K. Couples Thailand, June 14, 2010
Charming and Friendly

- Good location to the lake and most of the shopping streets - lots of good cheap food nearby - staff very friendly and helpful (I had the staff help me buy fruits from a stall near the hotel) - cheap and good for value - the rooms are considered very good for the price you pay
9.7
The hotel is really good - I recommend you get the hotel to pick you up to and from the airport. Most taxis in Hanoi have rigged meters and will cheat you 80% of the time. I am serious i took the taxi twice and got cheated once - my friend took it once and got cheated as well. Let me explain - I got the hotel to call me a taxi to HCM Maousaleum and it cost 30,000D which sounds reasonable. On the way back I called my own taxi and in no time it was 50,000D. When I demanded to get down the meter surged so fast it went up to 100,000D and more. The taxi also would not let me down. So please be careful which taxis you take.
Kumchondej N. Couples Thailand, June 10, 2010
Friendly staff

Best location, nice, friendly and informative staff, reasonable prices
9.7
This was my first time in Hanoi. It is very convenient to stay in this Hanoi Charming hotel. I used the pick up service as well. Once I arrived, the staff was so friendly and very informative. The room is small but quite new and okay to stay. It is in walking distance to walk around to shop or to nearby tourist attractions. I could also bought the tour to Ha Long Bay at the hotel. It is more like one stop service.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hotel has offered the package tour which is very convenient and reasonable prices. The tour guide can pick you up at the hotel
Kinga M. Couples Australia, June 6, 2010
Charming, friendly, central and new

The Charming Hotel is located on a quiet small street in the Old Quarter and as it only takes scooters and pedestrians, you are not bombarded with honking car horns. It is a 5 minute walk to the Lake. The rooms were new and the bathroom spacious. The deluxe room had a view over the street and rooftops plus it had a computer and free internet. The breakfast was basic however you had 3 menu options and could easily get delicious criossants from the vendors or bakery outside. At the affordable price of the Charming Hotel, it was fine.
9
We loved staying in the Charming Hotel as it was a typical small hotel in the Old Quarter. What made it special was its newness and cleanliness, its location in a lane and hence a quiet respite from the bustling streets, its helpful staff who provided us with a room for 3 hours when we arrived unannounced at 5:30am whilst in transit to Halong Bay 2 days before we were due to stay there.
Travel tip: Although a five minute walk to the Lake, there were many wonderful surprises around the nearby streets. We came across great little restaurants and shops nearby
Simon D. Couples Switzerland, June 1, 2010
Good value. Nice Staff

Helpful and smiling staff. Clean room. Free Internet.
8.7
All the staff of this hotel was lovely. Young and dynamic, helpful, smiling and very polite. We had a look at many guest houses and hotels and this was a reasonable price for a very nice room! One thing is the hotel street is a meat market. So it can be a bit noisy in the morning and the view of dead hen or all kind of meat quite disgusting for some person. Once out of this street, the location is perfect. Close to the lake and most of interesting places.
Restaurant Tip: As you go out of the hotel, turn right and walk until the end of the street. Then turn left and walk 30 meters. Across the street there's a lovely traditional Vietnamese restaurant. Cheap and really tasty.
May L. Groups Malaysia, May 25, 2010
Charming Hotel, Hanoi

The staff of the hotel are its greatest assets. We stayed in several other mid-range hotels in our 2 week journey all over Vietnam and the staff at the Charming Hotel were clearly the most friendly and professional that we came across. The hotel's location was good.
9
Charming is a very good word to describe the staff of the hotel as all of them without exception were friendly, attentive and professional.Both receptionists were helpful and informative about things to see and do and spoke English well. While the hotel also runs a booking service for tours, they were not pushy about whether we bought tours from them or not. Location of the hotel in a very narrow street in the old quarter was good as it meant that it was near interesting streets and shopping, yet away from the noise of motorbikes and other traffic. In the mornings, our street became a bit of a marketplace as stalls selling fruit and vegies and other produce were set up. Our room was spacious and clean and about my only minor complaint (which I think is unavoidable given the hotel's location)is that it had no window. The price we paid included breakfast (choice of Continental, American or Vietnamese) On the whole the Charming Hotel was great value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend any of our friends visiting Hanoi.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: HaLong Bay - Good experience still, but it fell slightly short of expectations. Perhaps the World Heritage listing may eventually kill this place. Thousands of tourists and hundreds of tourist junks discharging waste directly into Halong Bay. Hoa Luu/Tam Coc - Hoa Luu has old temples which we did not really find so interesting. Tam Coc was the highlight of the trip as we had a most enjoyable row-boat ride along a river going past what has been described as an inland HaLong Bay. Nice & relaxing.
David C. Couples Australia, May 23, 2010
Charming Hotel, Hanoi

- friendliness - efficiency - courtesy - promptness - helpfulness
10
The staff at the Charming Hotel were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our comfort. All tours were organized with efficiency and promptness. Both women on reception were informative and able to direct us to the smallest of shops for our daily living needs. We stayed for 6 nights and would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone. We'll definitely be staying there again next time.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ha Long Bay and Perfumed Pagonda. Best for me were the fabulous nearby shops of musical instruments and antiques.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Charming Hotel HanoiCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Hotel InteriorCharming Hotel Hanoi - BathroomCharming Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCharming Hotel Hanoi - FacilitiesCharming Hotel Hanoi - FacilitiesCharming Hotel Hanoi - FacilitiesCharming Hotel Hanoi - BathroomCharming Hotel Hanoi - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Charming Hotel, Hanoi

AS-AGWEB-3B06