Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Somjai M. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Good velue for money.
Staffs were very friendly. Room was good size and clean.
Lobby was a bit cram.
This is a small hotel, from outside looks like a shophouse (many small hotels in Vietnam are like this), the lobby quite small. We stayed at room 401 that have a window and pretty good size.The room and bathroom were clean. Shower area was open to the sink. Staffs were very friendly and can speak Englist well. Breakfast was nothing special, egg, bread and jam or pho. Overall it was a good velue for money.Good location.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Kinga M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010
Charming, friendly, central and new
The Charming Hotel is located on a quiet small street in the Old Quarter and as it only takes scooters and pedestrians, you are not bombarded with honking car horns. It is a 5 minute walk to the Lake. The rooms were new and the bathroom spacious. The deluxe room had a view over the street and rooftops plus it had a computer and free internet. The breakfast was basic however you had 3 menu options and could easily get delicious criossants from the vendors or bakery outside. At the affordable price of the Charming Hotel, it was fine.
I did not get a response to an email asking for a taxi to meet us at the train station.
We loved staying in the Charming Hotel as it was a typical small hotel in the Old Quarter. What made it special was its newness and cleanliness, its location in a lane and hence a quiet respite from the bustling streets, its helpful staff who provided us with a room for 3 hours when we arrived unannounced at 5:30am whilst in transit to Halong Bay 2 days before we were due to stay there.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Thanathon K. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010
Charming and Friendly
- Good location to the lake and most of the shopping streets - lots of good cheap food nearby - staff very friendly and helpful (I had the staff help me buy fruits from a stall near the hotel) - cheap and good for value - the rooms are considered very good for the price you pay
None really
The hotel is really good - I recommend you get the hotel to pick you up to and from the airport. Most taxis in Hanoi have rigged meters and will cheat you 80% of the time. I am serious i took the taxi twice and got cheated once - my friend took it once and got cheated as well. Let me explain - I got the hotel to call me a taxi to HCM Maousaleum and it cost 30,000D which sounds reasonable. On the way back I called my own taxi and in no time it was 50,000D. When I demanded to get down the meter surged so fast it went up to 100,000D and more. The taxi also would not let me down. So please be careful which taxis you take.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Kumchondej N. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010
Friendly staff
Best location, nice, friendly and informative staff, reasonable prices
The room may be a bit small but it is quite okay
This was my first time in Hanoi. It is very convenient to stay in this Hanoi Charming hotel. I used the pick up service as well. Once I arrived, the staff was so friendly and very informative. The room is small but quite new and okay to stay. It is in walking distance to walk around to shop or to nearby tourist attractions. I could also bought the tour to Ha Long Bay at the hotel. It is more like one stop service.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

May A. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Charming Hotel, Hanoi
The staff of the hotel are its greatest assets. We stayed in several other mid-range hotels in our 2 week journey all over Vietnam and the staff at the Charming Hotel were clearly the most friendly and professional that we came across. The hotel's location was good.
Our room had no window but it was a small flaw as it was unlikely that any window would have had a decent view in that part of town. The toilet on the ground floor near the dining area needs updating and cleaning. Granted, it is probably only used by staff most of the time and we only used it after having checked out of our rooms, but it is an amenity available to all guests and it is vital that it should be renovated and kept spotlessly clean.
Charming is a very good word to describe the staff of the hotel as all of them without exception were friendly, attentive and professional.Both receptionists were helpful and informative about things to see and do and spoke English well. While the hotel also runs a booking service for tours, they were not pushy about whether we bought tours from them or not. Location of the hotel in a very narrow street in the old quarter was good as it meant that it was near interesting streets and shopping, yet away from the noise of motorbikes and other traffic. In the mornings, our street became a bit of a marketplace as stalls selling fruit and vegies and other produce were set up. Our room was spacious and clean and about my only minor complaint (which I think is unavoidable given the hotel's location)is that it had no window. The price we paid included breakfast (choice of Continental, American or Vietnamese) On the whole the Charming Hotel was great value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend any of our friends visiting Hanoi.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Simon D. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Good value. Nice Staff
Helpful and smiling staff. Clean room. Free Internet.
Small room.
All the staff of this hotel was lovely. Young and dynamic, helpful, smiling and very polite. We had a look at many guest houses and hotels and this was a reasonable price for a very nice room! One thing is the hotel street is a meat market. So it can be a bit noisy in the morning and the view of dead hen or all kind of meat quite disgusting for some person. Once out of this street, the location is perfect. Close to the lake and most of interesting places.
Reviewed June 08, 2010

james C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Very Charming place
Free wifi Extreemly friendly staff clean comfortable rooms
Can be a bit tricky to find but isn't too much of a problem. No resturant
We loved Charming hotel, the location is set back away from the main streets which help with noise reduction. The staff are very helpful wether it be oredering pizza for you or helping you to speak Vietnameese. We finished our trip of Ha long bay and came back to Charming hotel for another 4 days meanign we stayed here for about 10 days. Would definatly recommend and would stay here again.
Reviewed June 01, 2010

Lucy S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2010
charming was not as charming as its name
cheap hotel in a good location. clean rooms
the rooms were so tiny and the breakfast was not worth the $5US - better off paying without breakfast and finding a cheaper one in town
The hotel offered a transfer from the airport for $15. The driver took 1 hour and 45 minutes from the airport to the hotel as he had no idea where he was going. I wouldnt bother getting this service incase you are stuck with the same person - delaying us o we didnt arrive until 11:45 at night! The hotel is in a fantastic location, however be aware of the meat market just outside the doorstep.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

David C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Charming Hotel, Hanoi
- friendliness - efficiency - courtesy - promptness - helpfulness
The only thing I disliked was the fact that our room had no window and it was most disconcerting not to know whether it was day or night. Still nothing can be done about that.
The staff at the Charming Hotel were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our comfort. All tours were organized with efficiency and promptness. Both women on reception were informative and able to direct us to the smallest of shops for our daily living needs. We stayed for 6 nights and would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone. We'll definitely be staying there again next time.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Paul C. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Great Stay
Great location in the Old Quarter. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Free breakfast fairly basic. Rooms on lower level a little noisy in the mornings.
Hotel has a lift unlike many hotels of similar standard in Hanoi. This is a real bonus if you are staying on the 5th floor. The hotel manager Mr Duc) is very hands on and easily accessible if required. No traffic noise due to its location in a quiet street. Rooms reasonably spacious for Vietnam standards. Also very clean. Service response - fast and hassle free.
Reviewed May 25, 2010