Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Marina F. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2013
amazing staff!
staff, location, service
Best value for your money. Great, central location. Lan at the front desk is amazing.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amanda J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Comfortable with good front of house staff
front of house staff, computer access in room, friendliness
We had a good stay, but were disappointed as there was no window in room as led to believe in room description, there were no bath robes or safe in room as indicated on room features. Front of house staff gave excellent service and that is what makes this hotel a good value for money base. They were attentive and helpful at all times. Basic hotel which is in a good location and is excellent value for money.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Eloisa G. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
I had a great stay!
City center/Friendly and helpful staffs/Clean room
I had a great stay in this hotel, room is small but is very clean and comfortable. They provided computer with free internet in the room aside from wifi access. Staffs are all friendly and helpful. They help me to book a wonderful Halong Bay Tour with Fantasea. They have free map and they advise me on tourist attractions and must see in Hanoi. highly recommended Hotel.
Reviewed September 04, 2013

Melissa C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Great position in quiet, interesting laneway
Friendly staff, clean large room, fantastic position
The Charming Hotel is as it's named "Charming"!! I stayed in a city view room which was tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean and a decent size. I had a view of the interesting laneway which had a number of fresh market food stalls, hairdressers & little convenience shops. There are no cars allowed in this street making it very quiet compared to the rest of Hanoi. The staff at this hotel were very friendly calling all the guests by their first names. They were also very helpful and attentive. What a great budget hotel. Value for money.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rowena C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Exceptionally helpful staff
Staff friendliness and levels of service, location
We had a good stay. The staff all learnt our names and greeted us by name each time we returned (including after our 3day tour of Halong bay!). They were exceptionally helpful, arranging collection from the train station of our arrival and the bell boy accompanied us to the train station at the end to help us onto the train (probably not necessary but very kind!). We booked out tour of Halong through the hotel and seemed to have paid $10USD less than another passenger on the tour and the tour was great with good service and food throughout. We also booked our train to and from Sapa through them and they were equally helpful.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Niv S. from Israel
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Very charming hotel!
Clean room. PC in room. Great location
Absolutely charming hotel. Staff is extremely friendly. Room is clean and comfortable. Shower is great. PC and wifi worked goo. Breakfast is basic but good and fresh. Right In the center of the old city. Close to restaurants and bars. Would absolutely recommend this hotel!
Reviewed August 24, 2013

ryan G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
good location, friendly staff, comfortable
staff, location, comfortable
Loved staying here, staff were so friendly and spoke good English. Location is convenient for shopping, food and sightseeing.very comfy bed and clean rooms.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Tara L. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Good on the outside
Staff is friendly, centrally located, accomodating
The staff was friendly but some miscommunication regarding staff pickup and they also charged me for "damaging" a piece of hotel cloth from the iron that I borrowed. They did not suppky an ironing board. My clothing was damaged as well.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

zehra Z. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great value and friendly English speaking staff
Location, staff, price
We found that English is not very widely spoken in Hanoi so it was great to have excellent English speakers that were really helpful. We were treated by name whenever we came into the hotel which made us feel very welcome. Rooms were much more comfortable than I expected, ours was a bit tight but we were 2 adults, 2 children sharing so to be expected. Great value for money.
Reviewed August 04, 2013

Lindsay M. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
Short and sweet
Staff, breakfast, elevator
Our stay was very brief, but the staff were great - we arrived at 6am, fresh off the overnight train from Sapa, and the staff had us in our room by 9 (great considering check in isn't normally til afternoon!). The breakfast was good as well! Rooms are small and the window is right up against another wall, but it was clean and cool, and that was all we needed!
Reviewed July 31, 2013