arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Roger A.
Australia
November 30, 2012
Fantastic Hotel
Location, facilities and service
my wife and i stayed in this hotel from november 16-19 (3 nights), 2012 and again on november 22. the location was in the old town along a quiet, picturesque, pedestrian lane way although in hanoi where pedestrians go motor bikes go. our first 'standard' room was without a window but we were able to change to a window room after the first night at no extra cost. the wi-fi, ac, room facilities, cleanliness and service were without fault. the in-room computer was a bit problematic at times and the breakfast basic but sufficient (bargettes instead of plastic bread would improve things), but for the price what can you expect. the best element of our stay were the staff though. they couldn't do enough for us and and his assistant managers were able to advise on everything from taxi/transport costs, further hotel recommendations (always spot on) to tour options, and book accordingly at non marked up prices if requested. without a doubt this place was the best hotel experience we had in our 6 weeks travelling se asia.

Julia D.
Germany
November 21, 2012
Nice Hotel, great Location
Service, Price, Location, free WiFi, clean
the rooms in this hotel are very clean, service is great, staff is friendly, speaks good english and is very helpful. you can choose between vietnamese and european breakfast, simple but good. i did not hear any noise from the street, my boyfriend heard a little bit in the early morning, but was ok. the hotel is located in a tiny street without traffic, very charming. also a drug store and a supermarket can be found here. the hoan kiem lake is in close walking distance as well as all the restaurants and bars in the old quarter. i recommend the room with city view in the 4th floor as it has a nice view on the opposite building. (we also have staied in the 2nd and 5th floor as we staied here several times)

Julia D.
Germany
November 21, 2012
Nice Hotel, great Location
Service, Price, Location
already our 2nd stay in this very friendly hotel. i would not recommend the city view room on 2nd floor as it is a little noisy. the rooms in 4th and 5th floor were calm with a nice view and all rooms were clean and have a computer with wifi. staff was perfectly organised, at all times calling taxis and organising our check out and airport shuttle. they offered also tours to all surrounding destinations, but we had booked already something else which was also no problem.

Che C.
Malaysia
November 20, 2012
Lovely, valuable and budget hotel
The big smiles of the staffs always cheer you up and make you feel like home
nice hotel and very nice staffs ! the staffs are very helpful and they give an excellent service. the staffs let us check in early without extra charge and welcome us with a nice cup of vietnamise coffee.when our train tickets agents didn't send us the tickets after our halongbay trip,we were worried but luckily the hotel staff help us call our agent and let us rest in their restaurant although we already check out a day before and we didn't book the train or tour frpm the hotel.thanks to the hotel staffs and our trip move smoothly at last. hanoi is a wonderful and lovely place for us because of the charming smile and nice staffs of the hotel.

Frank N.
Germany
November 13, 2012
Great location and outstanding staff
Location, service
I am always sceptical when I read rave reviews by tourists from a different cultural background. In this case however I have to totally agree. The spirited, smiling service made me feel so much at home that it compensated the fact that I had booked a room without a window (by negligence and inexperience). I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone whose priority is good service.

Frank N.
Germany
November 13, 2012
The "Service Queen" of Hanoi :)
Good location, great staff.
I have rarely felt so much at home and welcome as in the Charming Hotel in Hanoi. Obviously the owners of the group (they now own 5 hotels in that area) are outstanding people because they know how to choose their employees. The hotel itself is simple, cleaning is the Vietnamese way. Many rooms don't have windows. The location is fabulous (OK, you cannot get directly to the hotel by taxi as the little street is too small for cars to enter but it's less than 100 yards to the next bigger street) - but walking there early (and late) makes you feel you are part of real Hanoi life. And it's the staff that makes the difference. They will get you an awesome Pho noodle soup for breakfast (even with extra wishes like garlic marinated in vinegar), their coffee is second to none - and (at the time of this writing) the smile of the pregnant lady in charge of breakfast makes you surrender :) I love this place!

WU Z.
Singapore
November 07, 2012
Friendly staff but poor room service
Location
Nice place to stay for a short get away. However, the room doors and air-condition are faulty. Left the hotel room around 10.00 am and return back around 4.00 pm and to my horror, the room is still not been make up.

Kacey L.
Singapore
November 04, 2012
Excellent service with simple room facility
5 star service
I stayed in Charming hotel for 3D2N. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and if you have any queries, they will do their best to assist you. Overall, a good hotel to stay in for budget pricing. Room facilities are simple and clean.

Brian S.
Australia
November 01, 2012
Lovely Hotel and clean rooms
Location and friendly staff
Would stay again at this hotel. Hotel is small but rooms are clean, staff are very friendly and always eager to help. Great location as the hotel is tucked away in a side street but very close and a short walk for all to see.

Markus B.
Switzerland
November 01, 2012
As charming as its name.
Location, staff friendlyness, clean
Good value for money. We stayed here twice and they consistently provided excellent service. The good location enabled us to visit Hanoi's most important spots easily. The rooms aren't the biggest or newest ones, but are clean with tv and computers. We would recommend to anyone coming to Hanoi!