Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Gavin M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Very nice room, very helpful staff
Staff helped book local tours, room immaculate and clean
Very helpful staff spoke very good english and helped us book a great Halong bay tour. Room was spotlessly clean and the hotel is in a great location in the old quarter. Booked last minute and called to see if they could pick us up from the airport which was all sorted for us, would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Kiia N. from Finland
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Location, brilliant service and very clean and com
Just loved having a PC in the room. The locating was great, because the hotel is based on a quiet alley and still it is in the centre of Old Town Square.
I stayed three nights in the Charming Hotel and really enjoyed my staying. Had a very neat room with A/C, PC in the room, Cable TV and hot water shower for 14 € per night and it was totally worth the money. The staff was really helpful and flexible with the breakfast times, for instance and you felt yourself very welcome, which isn't so self-evident especially in Northern Vietnam. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Peter C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Central location, welcoming staff.
Clean, helpful staff, computer in room, free Internet, comfortable bed.
We had a great stay at the charming. It's a small narrow building and thus the rooms are narrow but more than adequate for the two of us. It did lack space for suitcases but a wardrobe was available. Breakfast was included in our room price and was more than adequate with reasonable choices. The bathroom is poorly designed as having a shower means a wet tiled floor, wet toilet seat and slippery conditions. City views room are not as advertised because all you see are the neighbour's window across the narrow lane way.
Reviewed September 08, 2012

Darwin A. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Great breakfast. Good for the price.
Great price! Breakfast was good.
The staff was so incredibly nice. We loved them! Be sure to ask for a room with a window.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Gabrielle Y. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great little place to stay
In-room computers, location, service, space
The Charming Hotel was a perfect spot for us to stay during our few days in Hanoi...in fact we stayed there again after an excursion to Halong Bay. It is excellently situated, in the heart of the Old Quarter within easy walking distance to the winding roads and multitude of shops and restaurant. The in-room computers were fabulous and the room was spacious and comfortable, with a view overlooking the crazy street below, filled with vendors, singing birds and motorbike drivers wending their way through the city. The breakfast was mediocre but it didn't really bother us as we often wandered the streets to find something more interesting while we explored the city. For the price, it really had all we wanted - a local feel in the heart of it all, small, comfortable and great service from the delightful staff.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stephen P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Nice little hotel
Location was good, brilliant service.
What this hotel lacks in physical quality it makes up for in service. The rooms are adequate, ours had no window which wasn't great, but they were clean and did the job. The location is good, down a typical Ha Noi side street with all kinds of little shops and stalls buzzing all day. The staff are lovely, they speak good english and clearly strive to deliver excellent service. Would highly recommend as a budget hotel
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Joni-Anne R. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2012
Awesome hotel
Service and food
Best hotel we stayed in by far in vietnam. Great staff super friendly. Great breakfast, pretty decent location. Beautiful room and very good prices for what you are getting. I highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

SHIAU T. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in August 2012
Five Star Customer Service
Friendly hotel and awesome customer service
The best thing about this hotel is the hotel staff. They are very helpful and friendly. They even woke up an hour earlier to make us breakfast so that we are able to catch our early morning flight. Hotel Room - clean and equip with personal computer and basic amenities. Hotel Location - in the heart of old quarters. Definitely lived up to its reputation from the other review that I've read from Trip Advisor
Reviewed August 17, 2012

johanna H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2012
Great location, great service and clean
great location, great service, clean & comfy bed
lovely clean room, great aircon, comfy bed, computer in room, fridge with well priced drinks in room, and great service in the heart of the old quarter, right around the corner from bun cha and lots of bia hoi. the staff were lovely, and being our first time in Vietnam we were a little worried that commissions would mean anything we booked through them would be overpriced, though we went and booked our own overnight train to Hue at the train station and found the price they had quoted was not much more than what we paid, for the effort expended it would have been worth booking through the hotel.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Alex G. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2012
Amazing service
Reception always greets you with a smile and can't do enough to help you
Lovely service, clean rooms with great showers and good breakfast!
Reviewed July 21, 2012