Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Charms Hotel

619 Jiujiang Road, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.0

based on 1506 reviews

944 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (1506)
Sort by:
Aditya J. Solo travelers India, January 9, 2013
Middle of action zone

Exactly in the middle of Shanghai's urban area.
8
Very near to Nanjiang road, Bund, River cruise, Musuem, Urban Planning centre and other attractions. In short this place of Shanghai represents about 80-90% everything shanghai has to offer.. Everything else is drab, urban. You replace the people and the road signs or shop signs and you could be anywhere in the world. Walking distance from Nanjiang road East on Shanghai Metro line 2. The only line which connects Pudong and Honqio airports.
Nightlife Tip: amazing place to stay and explore. it is literally in the middle of "shanghai experience". however please be extra extra careful when travelling alone. you will be approached by touts, women offering cheap shopping, electronics, massage and everything which is not visible on nanjing road. touts will shout and follow you talking about amazing sexy girls and show your photos.. and just a few feet away couple of cops are standing as if these touts dont exist. anyway be safe and avoid these people. just say sorry not interested. otherwise they will follow. if you really look for massage or something extra for the night, dial a massage girl on the websites which freely advertise these things. it is apparently safe to order your special service to your hotel room. dont carry too much cash or show off your wealth in the evening because there are cases of pickpocketing.. however otherwise this area represents best of everything shanghai can offer.. enjoy.. have fun.
Report this review
Diviny G. Couples Philippines, January 4, 2013
Unfriendly front desk staff

Near east nanjing lu
6
The rooms on the budget with no window is small. And it was so suffocating esp the smell of the cigarette. (Even if we ask for a non smoking room) I would not come back to this hotel.
Report this review
Tan S. Business travelers Indonesia, January 4, 2013
Great location with great value

Best location
8.7
This hotel has a good location which they want to seek a shooping location and place for relax, also near to Nanjing east station MRT. Every time I visit Shanghai I always stay at this hotel. But the worst is this hotel have no Wifi connection, you shoul bring your own wifi router then connect it at room internet wire.
Report this review
Wolfgang S. Business travelers Singapore, January 2, 2013
Chinese style Hotel

location
6
the best thing about this room is that there is no window. in winter, not having a window means less cold. so it a value for money.
Report this review
Wong M. Business travelers Malaysia, December 26, 2012
Good location near Nanjing Road

Near happening area
6.7
Great price, good location, near Nanjing road. However, upon arrival, I have to wait 1/2 hour at the front desk and wait for the receptionist to attend to me though just me in front of her. I was ushered up by the bellboy which show me to my room. The price is good for the room and the location
Report this review
Gary L. Solo travelers Singapore, December 24, 2012
Great Location

Great Location. Located opposite the rows of shopping malls and walking distance to the famous "The Bund"
8.3
Its my 3rd stay in this hotel and will continue to stay as and when I'm in Shanghai for its close proximity to the shopping malls and The Bund. Not forgetting the reasonable room rates.
Report this review
Deborah M. Groups Canada, December 24, 2012
Only a walk away from fantastic sights,

Location is great, accommodations clean, service staff friendly
8.7
I recommend the charms hotel to my travelling friends. Any concerns or questions the staff are ready too assist.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Sightseeing spots are within a walk away and or near to the subway for the Bund sights.
Report this review
Apaporn S. Solo travelers Thailand, December 23, 2012
The good service at the front and bell

Good location to go to Nanging Road.Walking Street
7
The room is so small but convenion.We can sleep all night.The breakfast is so and so.It is reasonable price for the room rate.
Shopping Tip: It is easy to go to Nanging road.Can go by myself.Not danger.
Report this review
Lee S. Families with older children Singapore, December 21, 2012
Good Locaiton

Room is bit run down. ,
3.3
Location is good, but room is old and toilet is smelly. Only one lift is operating, waiting time for the lift is about 15-20 mins. Lot of improve. Front staff is very unfriendly.
Shopping Tip: Closed to Walking street, location is good.
Report this review
Lee S. Families with older children Singapore, December 21, 2012
Good Locaiton

Room is bit run down. ,
3.3
Location is good, but room need improvment. Only one lift is operating, waiting time for lift is about 15-20 mins. Toilet is very run down.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Convenience location for shopping. Close to walking street.
Report this review
Previous page 381 - 390 of 944 reviews Next page
Charms Hotel ShanghaiCharms Hotel Shanghai - Budget No WindowCharms Hotel Shanghai - Budget No WindowCharms Hotel Shanghai - Budget No WindowCharms Hotel Shanghai - Standard Hot Deal Queen BedCharms Hotel Shanghai - Standard Hot Deal Queen BedCharms Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Room King BedCharms Hotel Shanghai - Deluxe Room Twin BedCharms Hotel Shanghai - Family Room Charms Hotel Shanghai - Business Deluxe KingCharms Hotel Shanghai - Business Deluxe TwinCharms Hotel Shanghai - Budget No WindowCharms Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - LobbyCharms Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCharms Hotel Shanghai - InteriorCharms Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCharms Hotel Shanghai - InteriorCharms Hotel Shanghai - InteriorCharms Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCharms Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCharms Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCharms Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCharms Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCharms Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorCharms Hotel Shanghai - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04