Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 1534 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1534 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Jessica P.
France
May 05, 2014
Adaptable staff
Generous later check-out if needed
I had to change rooms 2 times due to a few mishaps, but the staff was ready to rectify and remedy. Had a single booked, arrived to check in and was told I had a free upgrade. Sweet. However there was an issue with the toilet flush. Room was switched. Wound up in a non-smoking room which had some stains on one of the tables and by the phone and hair in the bathroom. Apologies were extended and finally the room I was given was the best standard especially for the cheap price that was a bit lower than some of the places on airbnb for a Chinese holiday weekend. The bus stop right outside the hotel is super convenient taking people to central or the Macau ferry and beyond into west HK. The staff was ready to give a later check-out granting 2 additional hours, which was unexpected. Many restaurants and bars for nightlife in Wan Chai but beware you might find yourself in bars that aren't so upscale where sleazy over-privileged expat guys expect 'services'. That's not right by the hotel though so the atmosphere inside and nearby is good for families. restaurant tip: Loving Hut further up has different veggie cuisine with Asian flavours, very good.

alejandre C.
Spain
May 05, 2014
Nice but deceiving
Already clicked the appropriate options.
I would have given this hotel a thumbs up if it weren't because the staff is not up to the required level, at all. On my first night, there was a family screaming (really!) in the corridor and slamming doors at 6 am, but when I called reception for complaining, the receptionist couldn't care less. Also my room was freezing cold: it's heating system didn't work. I complained, and they sent me an "engineer". The engineer was just the bellboy, who simply changed the fan speed, which of course was useless. I had already tried that. They didn't offer me to change rooms, even though there were many empty.

Daisy B.
Philippines
May 01, 2014
good value and good location
value, location, clean

Alvin K.
Singapore
April 29, 2014
Stayed only one night but nice.
Comfortable room, efficient staffs, good wifi
I stayed only a night but the hotel room was comfortable although very small as I booked a room for single. Attentive staff and efficient check in. A good business hotel located in a convenient spot.

david E.
Taiwan
April 28, 2014
very small room and too cold to stay
near downtown

JASON W.
Australia
April 27, 2014
It was a pleasant hotel tostay in.
Value for money. Caters for all persons, singles, families or groups. Shopping close at hand.
I would recommend this hotel to all, it is a hotel orientated towards the single conservative type, the family, the business person or the group booking. For my 4 day stay, service, housekeeping and the concierge did a great job. Easy access to the street, walking distance to Times Square and the MTR (subway).

Jessica E.
Australia
April 22, 2014
Hong Kongs best kept secret
Staff, Location, Price
This is the best value for money in HK. Very attentive staff, located next to MTR, located next to great shops and restaurants and 24hour gym !!! WIFI is fast and once again the staff here are AMAZING !!!

Peter B.
United Kingdom
April 20, 2014
Comfortable, clean hotel
Cleanliness, breakfast , friendly staff
Catered adequately for all our needs but very small twin room leading to cramped conditions and limited storage space. Our cases lay on the floor, unable to unpack. Only four hangers in small cupboard. No clock or alarm. Breakfast was very good and generally we coped with the inadequacies of the room but I feel that "executive plus superior room" is a little misleading.

KEITH F.
United Kingdom
April 17, 2014
Showing its age but well located and good value
Location in Wan Chai, good value for money, friendly and helpful staff
This was our third stay because the location is so good for shopping and restaurants. The Charterhouse is an elderly hotel, the "superior" room being quite small one wonders what the "inferior" rooms are like. Nevertheless it is comfortable and clean enough including the bathroom. This hotel caters more for sports teams and fans with the "Champs Bar" in the basement but it has no facilities for kids. The TV channels cater mainly for Chinese and sports fans not for Kids. There is no BBC or CNN only local Hong Kong channels in English. Anyone planning to book for April 2014 is warned that external refurbishment is on the North side with netting up all over the facade so insist on a room on the South side that has a better view.

Kathryn C.
Singapore
April 15, 2014
Great Starying experience
Location, food, cleaniness
Great staying experience... Centrally located... Great varieties of food.. Room is clean..