or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Charterhouse Causeway Bay

No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Charterhouse Hotel
Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Superior Twin Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Business Floor Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Suite Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Junior Suite Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Suite Bathroom Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Bathroom Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Economy Single Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Bathroom Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature Studio Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature Studio Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature Studio Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Room amenities Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Guest Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Room amenities Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Entrance Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Hotel Lobby
Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Lobby Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Hotel Lobby Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Lobby Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting Room
Area: Wanchai Number of Rooms: 294
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
1207 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (1207)
Sort by:
Patricia A. Business travelers Australia, June 16, 2012
Absolute Disaster

Nice soft towels and nice sheets
3.3
Im very sorry to write this review must i must be honest, i arrived at Charterhouse from being in China the week before. i was actually recommended the Charterhouse so i thought couldnt be that bad. On arrival i struggled to get out of the taxi with bags etc and the door man just looked at me holding the side door open for me. not once did he come forward to assist me with getting my bags out of the hotel or wheeling it for me into the hotel. Very bad first impressions. Then, i check in and the room i was given reeked of cigarette smoke! not to mention it was super tiny. it was difficult even turning around in the room with my bags to get out. i come back down to reception in the tiny tiny lift with bags etc. they swap my room around to another one, i go up and am only in for about 5 minutes i hear a knock on the door saying they gave me the wrong room, i had booked for a higher class room so they asked if i would like the better class room. of course i said yes as this one faced the back lane. i finally settled in a room with a mountain view which was much nicer than the back lane. I wanted to hook up my wifi and guess what, there is no wifi, its all by cable. Hello, its the age of wifi and an ipad does not hook up to anything. so i try to ring them at reception to ask how to connect to wifi, and the phone doesnt work. Dead. i use the telephone in the bathroom, and am told that wifi is available only in the very very tiny lobby. as a business traveller i dont think that is a very intelligent solution. i am becoming very irritated by now and finally they suggest someone would come up and set up a wifi router in my room which i welcome. This was done and all good so far. i so happened to pick up a bug in China so of course during this ordeal i was sneezing and had a runny nose to went to get tissues from the bathroom and guess what, no tissues in the tissue box! Arghhhh!!
Hotel Feature Tip: By now i am furious with the person who recommended this room. i try to remain calm and leave the hotel for a meaal and to get supplies. On my return i want to have a bath and go to pickup the bath and shower gel and turn the cap and the bottle breaks at the neck! This is the absolute worst hotel i have ever stayed at and at the price which was very high its definitely not worth it. I wouldnt even pay $50 for a night! Sorry guys something is very wrong with your management. the only nice thing i found were the towels which i thought were nice a fluffy. Bed was ok. sheets were good. But no attention to detail. i will never never go back.
Reid B. Business travelers United States of America, June 9, 2012
Wanchai location at decent price

Good location in Wanchai with workable fitness room
6.3
Stayed 2 nights at Charterhouse to check the Wanchai location to try something new from Central. Good restaurants and shopping in easy walking distance.
Christine S. Solo travelers June 6, 2012
Very convenient for the price

Convenient location, good public transport access
8.3
Small, comfortable room. Clean bathroom. Hot shower. Even though the room faced the road, it was not noisy. A pleasant stay.
Elizabeth T. Solo travelers Philippines, June 2, 2012
Great location but small rooms

access to cabs
6.7
check in personnel were not so courteous when i mentioned that charterhouse has a shuttle to the hk convention center every 30 minutes. bell boys were very attentive to needs of guests; chamber maids were very courteous; on two occassions, when i was taking a night shower, there was no hot water!!
Restaurant Tip: A short walk towards Sogo, one can find good French restos ( one Michelin star and many good small Chinese restaurants.
Takehiro K. Business travelers Japan, June 1, 2012
Great location but small, old room

Really convenient location
5
I have stayed here many many times now and I always appreciate its location. So convenient for business, shopping and eating/drinking. But you have to cope with the small space and oldness of the room. Most of the female staffs are quite helpful and hard-working. However, a few of the male staffs make you feel bad or uncomfortable because of their attitudes. I have already remembered who I shouldn't talk to.... kind of.
Raymond G. Families with older children United Kingdom, May 31, 2012
Great Location and Cheap

Great Location, Cheap, Great Bar for Beer and Snacks
8.7
The Charterhouse is centrally located in Wan Chai. This hotel is right in the centre of Wan Chai and is probably one of the best located hotels in Hong Kong. The Charterhouse is cheap and the rooms are good. The service however is come day go day. But remember this is a cheap hotel and you get what you pay for. One thing which did annoy us is that they have taken the fridge out of the rooms. Very annoying.
Lee S. Business travelers United Kingdom, May 31, 2012
Comfortable hotel in good location

Basic comforts, good location
7.3
Another comfortable stay. Rooms do need modernising as older style. Very clean and well maintained by the staff. Everyone very helpful. basic accomadation at fair price.
Restaurant Tip: Downstairs sports bar very good for food and service
Sallih K. Families with young children Malaysia, May 29, 2012
Perfect location especially for muslim travellers

near to muslim center, market, mtr station
6.7
taxi from airport to this hotel cost us around hk320. convenient for muslim family as the hotel is located right next to msilim center where prayer halls and the famous halal chinese restaurant are located. many other halal restaurant at the vicinity - ali mess, pakistan pizza, turkish restaurant and aother one at the market. however major restaurants open at ard 10am. the wet market is just 5 mins walk from the hotel. need to pass through the busy market in the morning to go to the nearby causeway bay mtrstation. enter using time square entrance. you can buy cheaper ticket from the travel counter at the hotel, around hk10 cheaper for disneyland and ocean park. free wifi provided only at the lobby.
Ninh T. Couples Vietnam, May 26, 2012
great location for sightseeing, shopping

wifi free
10
beautiful rooms, facility is good. good location, near mtr station, timesquare
Jorgen T. Couples Norway, May 20, 2012
Good location

Friendly and competent staff
7.7
I lived in Hong Kong for 7 years so really nothing to tell
Travel tip: Read guide books on HKG before your visit. A great but extremely expensive place to visit. Do your shopping elsewhere. E.g. In Malaysia

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - EconomyCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Superior TwinCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Business FloorCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - SuiteCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Junior SuiteCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Suite BathroomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - BathroomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Economy SingleCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - BathroomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature StudioCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature StudioCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - S Signature StudioCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Room amenitiesCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Guest RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Room amenitiesCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - EntranceCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - LobbyCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Hotel LobbyCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - LobbyCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Meeting RoomCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - ChampsCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - ChampsCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - ChampsCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - The Gazebo Restaurant - Noodle CounterCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - GazeboCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - The Gazebo RestaurantCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - GazeboCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Harrys Bar & LoungeCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Business CenterCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - The Gym (Corridor)Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - The GymCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - ExteriorCharterhouse Causeway Bay Hong Kong - Handy Phone

Customer Reviews - Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B04