Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1758 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.4
Sort by

Caleb B.
United States
July 28, 2013
Great location if staying in Chinatown
Location, price, the food around the hotel
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel. I think the best thing about the hotel is the location itself as, if you're wanting to explore Chinatown, it's perfect. The room even came with a small kitchen and stove, so that was kind of cool. Still, you're probably not going to be doing a lot of cooking since you're in Chinatown. Great location, decent price.

Hui L.
Malaysia
July 28, 2013
room with small kitchen.
quiet, new aircon, with ktchen
I heated snack food from yaowarat using their microwave. is the best choice hotel in yaowarat around this price range.

Lay K.
Malaysia
July 25, 2013
great location surrounded by food n shopping area.
clean, spacious n friendly staff.
Fast check inn and the staff was very attentive to us.

TUNG K.
Singapore
July 22, 2013
Good location,near market and near china town.
Internet, can cook ,and good design room.
very happy to stay in this small hotel, will come back again when stay in BBK. Walking distance to Chinatown,good and cheap food around.Powerful aircon able to cook if you like to cook.one thing bad is you have to walk thru a small alley which the floor alway wet,and hard to find if you first time there. Overall very good.Fully booked during weekend.

Jonathan C.
United Kingdom
July 21, 2013
Great location - brilliant location.
Location, location, location
Basic, but comfortable room, self contained with cooking facilities , no windows in our room, but we wanted a basic, clean place near to china town; and this was perfect. For food lovers you are on a winner-leave the hotel and you can start sampling. When full, a short walk to explore the amazing shopping opportunities in the maze-like back streets of china town is simple.. To see the rest of the city, a few minutes walk brings you to a jetty and access to the river. Basic hotel, amazing location. This was a great stay for us, even in hectic markets we could quickly shepherd our three young children back to the hotel to rest.

Intira C.
Thailand
July 13, 2013
Nice small hotel
Location, friendly staff clean room
Nice comfortable family run style. Good location for shopping and getting around. I would stay there again

Melissa R.
Indonesia
July 09, 2013
strategically located, but could use some improvem
location, not far from shopping areas, not far from dining areas
My first impression of Check Inn China Town Bangkok was very unpleasant. It took AGES for us to check in. Although we had presented hotel voucher and asked several times, we were asked to wait again and again. It turned out that most of the staffs in reception area could not speak and understand English. The room was pretty spacious but always smelled funny when you didn't turn on the air conditioner. We could not figure out where the smell came from and decided not to ask the hotel staffs due to their language capability. The hotel provided Bangkok map in English in reception area. If you want to take taxi/bus, make sure you grab some hotel name cards in reception area. The name card has the hotel's address written in English and Thai. The location is not far from shopping areas and dining areas. Most food street-stalls opened at night. If you want to take boat, you can walk around 15 minutes to the nearest pier. Along the way you'd see shops and kiosk selling accesories in day time. From this pier you can go to Grand Palace, Wat Arun, and Wat Pho. To reach the nearest subway, take a bus to Hua Lamphong, if I'm not mistaken. One of tourist attraction you should visit in China Town area is Wat Traimit. It is in walking distance from the hotel.

Shauna S.
Singapore
July 08, 2013
Very lazy and rude staff. Bad experience.
Close to Hualampong Train Station, plenty of food around, can't think of a 3rd one.
I have been to Bangkok many times and stayed at several hotels, but this has got to be the worst experience. Shortly after checking in, my husband had a shower and the shower head fell off and hit his head. Upon inspection, we realised the shower was previously broken and taped up. Heading out to dinner, we jovially approached the frontdesk staff (bespectacled middle aged man) and politely informed him and handed him the broken shower head. He acted as if he did not want anything to do with it, said he could not help as he is not a technician and we have to wait till the next day. Instead of demanding a change of room which meant they had to clean 2 rooms, my husband politely suggested they just take the shower head from another unoccupied room (hotel was pretty empty)and screw it onto ours for the time being so we can shower. The staff said he does not know how to do it (simple task which would not take 5 mins) and have to wait for the technician the next day. We asked him to try to do something while we go out to dinner. When we got back to our room, the shower head was dumped into our sink and the broken pipe strewn across the floor. My husband went down to speak to a young lady at the front desk and she was very bitchy about it and rudely said we could both walk across the corridor to the next room to shower. Isn't that really ridiculous? To dump broken parts in the bathroom and suggest paying customers such an inconvenience when it is the hotel's problem in the first place to rectify. When asked for a change of rooms, she flat out said "no it is not possible". When my husband came up to the room and related the above, I decided to try to speak with her again and push for a change of rooms because her suggestion was just so absurd. She was really rude and unwilling to tend to me, and only after I was more firm and threatened to take the issue up with the owner/management, she said ok. I can't believe this hotel received tripadvisor awards in 2012.

Salma K.
Singapore
July 08, 2013
Ok for short stay
Free wifi, good location, cheap
Spent only one night. Place was a bit difficult to find, as it is off a small lane and not on the main road. Room was very small and cramped, as was the bath/toilet. Microwave was placed on a high shelf, so difficult for someone of average height to reach! Good internet connection and great location for shopping in Chinatown. Not easy to get cab or public transport. Not suitable for long stay.

Kok F.
Malaysia
July 07, 2013
Close to China Town
Clean room with small kitchen, allow late check out, call taxi for us to next hotel
This is budget hotel, although hide inside the small road, but quite close to China town if you know how to walk out to main road. Friendly staff, allow us late check out maybe due to the room not occupy and help us to call taxi to next hotel.