Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Cheshire Hotel

110,Great Russell Street, Bloomsbury, London, United Kingdom WC1B 3NA

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.1

based on
72 reviews

52 reviews in English

Value for Money
5.6
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
6.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
5.6
Food/Dining
5.0
All reviews (72)
Sort by:
Kimberly D. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 27, 2016
Can't explain!!

The location was near the station
3.7
I've never seen a hotel like this before. I've stayed in several 3 star hotels but this was a disaster. when I checked in there was a male receptionist who asked for my ID. Not at all friendly. Didn't even tell me about breakfast timings and there was no leaflet in the room as well. Told me where my room was with hand gestures! Not at all welcoming. And the lift was horrendous! Super slow that I took the stairs carrying my luggage. Later that evening I went to get some dinner and I asked the same male receptionist if I could have an iron cause my room didn't have one. He said it should be there in the wardrobe. I said no it wasn't. He said he'll check with maintenance. So I go back to my room and waited for ages. No sign. I ring again and finally got my iron. Go to use the bathroom and the toilet wasn't flushed? Like seriously? Didn't they clean before I checked in? No bottle of water even in the room. The wifi is just useless. It didn't even work!!! Anyways I go for my work the next day and I come back to relax. Next day I was supposed to check out by 10, but I requested a late checkout at around 12 since I didn't have a good nights sleep. And I had a 7 hour journey ahead. She said it would cost 10pounds I said okay. So I put the 'do not disturb me' sign board outside my door and at around 9am the tall cleaner knocks on my door despite the sign being there!! And I tell her I'm checking out late and that the sign board is there!! However, when it's time to leave I wait by the lift to take me to the ground floor. Stayed there for like forever and the lift didn't turn up. The cleaner was hovering some room and the wire came off as by mistake my luggage took it off, she came off storming and just hit the plug back into the socket. How plain rude. I then take my luggage and go down via the stairs. The female receptionist the only kind one there, I did tell her this. She didn't charge me extra. Luckily, my friend who also wanted to stay here I told her NOT TOO!! Never!!
Report this review
Taewon K. Business travelers South Korea, November 14, 2015
Expensive for the quality.

Distance from main-street.
5.7
Report this review
Frederic T. Solo travelers France, June 20, 2015
Perfect intimate hotel

1) great location 3mn to British Museum and 12mn to National Gallery 2) very helpful staff 3) very good value for money as last minute deal for a quiet room with charming view on the back (room 402)
9.3
Just perfectly what I was looking for: central location to museums, convenient small restaurants around, quiet surroundings, very helpful staff. Could not have been better.
Report this review
Jie S. Solo travelers Singapore, May 8, 2015
Location near to chinatown and easy to roam around

Location location and location
6
a bit but stay there due to is near Chinatown and value for money
Report this review
Sue T. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 28, 2015
Great value with amazing location

Location, friendlyness, heater
8.7
Very good, only disappointment was no duvet, just sheets and blankst.
Report this review
Hayriye B. Business travelers Turkey, March 6, 2015
just for the location

location, location, location
6
location was amazing. but internet is too pricey and connection was sooo slow. you need to pay to leave your luggage after check out. you have to check in at 3pm and out at 10am.
Report this review
Gino G. Business travelers Philippines, February 27, 2015
Great Location

walking distance to the British Museum, important theatres, shopping areas and train station. Eager and helpful staff.
7.7
Generally fine. The facilities are a bit run down and cramped. But the location is a plus. And the hotel staff is helpful.
Report this review
Raymond W. Solo travelers United States of America, January 18, 2015
Terrible place
2
I was there for 2 hours. It was gross, tiny rooms no wifi, rooms were deadzones i.e. No cell service, rude front desk staff
Report this review
Hali B. Business travelers United States of America, November 21, 2014
Don't stay here

Decent location.
2.7
It's a bed to sleep in but not really good for any length of stay over one night. The staff for the most part were rude and unhelpful. The toilet broke the first night I had arrived so I had to insist they give me a new room and they seemed unhappy to do it. They moved me to the 5th floor which had little to no wifi signal at all and I paid 10£ for each 24 hours I used the wifi. I was here on business so that made my stay quite difficult and when I brought it up to them they didn't seem to care at all. The rooms and bathrooms are very small and not nice by any means. If you stay here I suggest it only be one night, as a matter of convenience for location, because otherwise this hotel is not good.
Report this review
Nathan H. Couples United Kingdom, November 16, 2014
comfortable enough but not worth £150 per night

staff were very helpfull and friendly! doing the best job they could!
5.7
We stayed for one night! Expecting to have a quick drink when we got to the hotel, On arrival we was informed there was no bar to buy drinks from! We were given our room keys and got settled. We soon found out that the shower was broken and didnt work! We was moved to the only other room available only to find there was no heating in this room (we suffered this as was already late for our night out) but on a plus side, the shower was nice and warm! One of the lifts broke on our way out and there were a few people complaining of damp smells and other bits! The staff were friendly and very helpfull, if it wasnt for the proffessionalism of the staff, i would have walked out immediately! Great location, at the center of everything! In my opinion it's an £80-£100 per night hotel!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 52 reviews Next page
Cheshire Hotel LondonCheshire Hotel London - ExteriorCheshire Hotel London - EntranceCheshire Hotel London - ExteriorCheshire Hotel London - RestaurantCheshire Hotel London - RestaurantCheshire Hotel London - LobbyCheshire Hotel London - RestaurantCheshire Hotel London - Guest RoomCheshire Hotel London - Guest RoomCheshire Hotel London - Guest RoomCheshire Hotel London - Guest RoomCheshire Hotel London - Guest RoomCheshire Hotel London - RestaurantCheshire Hotel London - Meeting RoomCheshire Hotel London - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02