Back to hotel info

Good 6.6
Based on 134 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 134 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 5.5
Sort by

tony R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
comfortable
handy location and chilled out as the name suggests
Comfortable and friendly
Reviewed January 12, 2016

Per M. from Norway
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
O.K. Guesthouse for shorter stay
Staff performance, kitchen and dining area.
It's convenient for shorter stay; the rooms are small & basic and can get somewhat hot, but it's overall good value for money; nice kitchen with dining/living area.
Reviewed January 05, 2016

DANIELA A. from Chile
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
overpriced
near to a big mall. near to the metro. big supermarket around the corner
at start we got offered to improve out room to a ac room for a lot of money more. so we were not interested but we ended up in a room with huge locked windows and a broken fan. the room had ac but we didnt got the remote control since we didnt pay for it but the room was super hot and it was quite weird that they locked the windows. it seemed like they were pushing us to pay more for the ac. we had a shared room room. there was 2 toilets to be shared in our floor only one had a toilet seat. i saw a dead cockroatch and even if the staff walked by it no one seem to care of cleaning the area. the kitchen is big. the internet decent. the showers are good with hot and cold water. the street is very very noisy lots of karaoke bars even one downstairs of the guesthouse. the security guard was very nice and helpful. decent but very expensive for what you get.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Tomas P. from Lithuania
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Good budget hotel
Good price, good location
Reviewed December 03, 2015

Fumihiro Y. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in November 2015
Just be careful of the location
Nice staff, Very cheap rates, rather clean bathrooms
I first booked a fan room which was located on the second floor, although it is quite cheap, I couldn't stand a night staying in that room. I was there in November but the temperature is still high and a lot of humidity in the room and the hostel. The fan was powerful and working okay, but when I shut the door of the room, the room got so muggy and I just couldn't stand it. There was no window either in the room, almost felt like a cell. Then after that I found out it was impossible for me to stay in that room, I asked the staff that I wanted to change my room to an AC room, all I needed to do that was just top up extra P300 per night. It was actually still a very good deal. and the AC room I got after was tidy, smells clean, AC worked super well. I was well satisfied with the hostel after all. You have to pay with cash at the hotel. They don't accept credit cards. I saw a huge roach casually hanging around in my room. If you are those who can't cope with that kinds of stuff, I don't think this hostel is for you. About the location, it is basically pretty close to the centre of the red light district in Manila. It is quite dangerous to walk around the area during late night, you might get robbed. I only used Uber cars to go anywhere from the hostel. Just don't hang around much in this area.
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Minsook J. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Budget place with no expection
Cheap, location, friendly staffs
Staying in Chill out guest house's benefits are; 1. Cheap 2. friendly owner and staffs 3. reasonably close from most of things you want to see in Manila although this is full of dodgy looking business area... When we choose cheap budget accommodation for whatever reason we all know it won't be like a luxury hotel and we prepare to accept the whole situation that may shock us but when you get there, still some surprising is waiting for you. I would not and did not complain about finding mouse in my room and down stair restaurant, cockroaches in showroom, people and staffs smoke inside of hotel, very old dirty towel, thin and dark white colour bedding set, dirty pillows, room with no window..... because end of day as long as it's suit with your budget it's fine. I wish all the best for Olivier the owner and the staffs.
Reviewed October 02, 2015

Christy H. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Nice service, friendly staff and clean
helpfull staffs, homey, strategic location
It was nice to stay there since the staff is very helpful when we were asking about anything (location, food, etc), friendly, clean room and rest room, the location very strategic place can easy to get any transportation, near the food groceries and restaurant...i think it was nice place to stay for budget travelers
Reviewed September 08, 2015

charlie A. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2015
Awesome
Accommodating staff, clean place
Relaxing, restful stay
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Sharleen S. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2015
Can't sleep at night
Cleanliness, accommodating staff and value for money
My stay was fine. But i believe the hotel can do more. It was hot at night and there was no window.
Reviewed July 25, 2015

Rogan L. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Thanks
Location.Service. Friendly staff.
I am back again in the Philippines and back in my favorite guesthouse in Manila.Nice clean hostel and helpfull staff.i was here last April 20th with my wife and very happy to be back again.The staff had not forgotton us and are still unchanged and as helpfull as ever.This is a clean well run hostel,well managed by Filipina Or Pine as she is known .I consider this one of the better hostels for any traveller to stay at. With thanks for making our stay so pleasant. Rogan And Mita Lane
Reviewed June 04, 2015