Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chinatown Hostel

2nd Floor 526 Yaowarat Rd, Samphantawong, China Town, Bangkok, Thailand 10100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.8

based on
27 reviews

8 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (27)
Sort by:
Chusak J. Solo travelers Thailand, March 10, 2015
Good hostel with great location

location.
7.7
Report this review
Suong S. Solo travelers Vietnam, February 19, 2015
3 star dormitory

cleanliness, comfortable bed, nice bathroom
7.7
I booked a bed in a 4-bed-female dorm and had the whole room for myself. It was really comfortable but I would prefer to have some roommates for chit chatting. The bed is really comfortable with curtains for privacy. The female bathroom is really nice, clean, and spacious compared to other hostel I used to stay, even equipped with a hairdryer (towel is not provided). However, one thing I am not very pleased is the automatic lightning. If I don’t move much in my room, the light will automatically turn off, leaving only the bedside light which is not enough. Besides, the hotel is far from MRT but it’s not a problem to me (I took a bus to the center which is about 5 min walk from the hotel and also cheaper). Staffs are nice and can speak English and Chinese. However, on the last day when I came back to the hostel to get my luggage to check out, I did not know why my key card did not work and the staff who helped me open my room told me to check out quickly because some customers are coming. WHAT? There are 3 extra available beds in my room and I still had 15 minutes before check out time. I would give this hotel 7/10
Report this review
Thi T. Solo travelers Vietnam, October 11, 2014
Good quality but no guest?

location, security, cleanness
8.3
The Hotel locates right in the middle of Chinatown, in walking distance (~700m) to train, BTS station, pier so it's good for people who want to use public transportation and don't mind a bit of walking. The staffs are friendly even with limited English. The room is good for dormitory with clean bathroom. But there was only me in the entire dormitory section, both male and female area?
Report this review
Kendrick T. Solo travelers United States of America, September 10, 2014
Solid hostel spot

Location, hostel layout, bed layout
9.3
The hostel is actually the Chinatown hotel. Cheaper if you book on agoda then their posted rates. Rooms are second floor. Bathroom is down the hall and really sufficient. Then the room was good. Somewhat awkward with a motion trigger light that only triggers when you're in the middle of the room but the layout next to the bed were the best I've found. Bed light. Shelf for your small pocket stuff and phone. Personal outlet. Good lockers. No padlock provided though. Internet is on the slow end. Can't stream any videos. 4/5 overall
Report this review
Cheng X. Groups Malaysia, June 30, 2014
Super value for money

Friendly and helpful stuff,
9.7
When we first arrived, we thought the taxi bough us to the wrong place, the sign says "Chinatown Hotel" and it looked expensive then what we paid for, we thought there was a difference one call "Chinatown Hostel" but end up Hotel and Hostel to them is the same. impressed with the lobby with what we've paid for. walking distance to roadside hawker stalls and surrounded with 7-11.
Report this review
Kok L. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 27, 2014
Superb hostel inside Chinatown hotel, 2nd floor

clean, new, and big toilet
8
Wonderful, near to MRT, easy for transport, centrally located at chinatown bangkok, the hostel is actually located inside the Chinatown Hotel at 2nd floor, my room there's 4 beds, however, i'm the only one so basically i own the whole room for a night. However, anyone want to stay here, remember to bring a padlock (to lock your luggage locker) , toiletry set (not provided, need to purchase) and towel (need to rent). Wonderful place to stay for a night if you want to explore chinatown more.
Report this review
Syaza R. Groups Malaysia, May 17, 2014
Super nice stay for backpacker

cozy room, comfy bed, clean
9
We were staying at their hostels at level 2 in the Hotel. They have partition for male and female dorm with security so girls will feel absolute safe here. The room was cozy with comfort bed, clean. The bathroom was okay but the water from shower was slow. Near to Hua Lamphong train station and you can get any tuktuk in front of the hotel. China Town market few block away. Overall its value for money! Probably will stay here again!
Report this review
Ruth P. Solo travelers Indonesia, May 5, 2013
fun and great food

great design, good environment for culinary tourism and near to the subway
7.7
i9 was staying for one night, but i once stayed there in the hotel too. i think for the budget room is worth with the price, but the hotel is too expensive though they serve a nice breakfast. this is a nice play to stay if you want to explore the chinna town near the subway, right in front of the bus route soo its good in location. near there, you can find many kinds of food and at night the street food serve the best tomyam I've ever had.
Report this review
Antoine D. Solo travelers France, November 2, 2015
Chinatown hostel

bien située dans chinatown. Facile d'accès (arrêt de métro et gare à proximité). Très propre.
7
Dortoir très silencieux (très rare) Personnel très serviable mais parle peu anglais Petit déjeuné par terrible
Report this review
Hiroshi A. Solo travelers Japan, October 20, 2015
ヤワラー通りそば

ホアルンプーン駅から歩いて行ける範囲。近くにコンビニレストラン多い。
6
部屋は清潔で近くにはコンビニレストラン多く、ショッピングにも便利です。
Report this review
1 - 8 of 8 reviews
Chinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dorm Red StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dormitory Brown StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dormitory Brown StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dormitory Brown StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dorm Red StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dorm Red StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dorm Red StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male Dorm Red StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female Dorm Blue StyleChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female DormitoryChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female DormitoryChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Female DormitoryChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male BathroomChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Male BathroomChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Floor PlansChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Floor PlansChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Floor PlansChinatown Hostel Bangkok - Key card


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02