Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chitwan Gaida Lodge

Bachhauli-2, Sauraha, Chitwan, Nepal 44200

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 43 reviews

27 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.4
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (43)
Sort by:
Jack N. Couples Netherlands, March 26, 2016
Chitwan birding
6.3
The best location to start a safari/birding trip in Chitwan, friendly and very helpful staff who can anticipate the needs of the guests, also very knowledgeable guides, who know how to go the extra mile to show the wildlife in the park.
Report this review
Tess V. Couples Netherlands, March 15, 2016
Wonderful stay
6.3
Gaida Lodge is a wonderful place and we loved every second of our stay here. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, the rooms tidy and comfortable enough for this price, the food at the restaurant seriously DELICIOUS and it's only a short walk from the centre.
Report this review
Neveille B. Couples India, December 21, 2015
Very nice hotel

Awesome ambiance and very friendly staff
6.7
Very pleasurable stay. The staff was very helpful. The place is done up very beautifully and it is an amazing hotel.
Report this review
Chai S. Groups Malaysia, April 14, 2015
Cozy, lush and green lodge

ROoms, location, service
9.3
Our stay was really good, we had some request on the room and the lodge quickly sorted it out for us. Also, the lodge team provided us with all the necessary information on what we need for our chitwan tour and we really had a good time. The lodge itself is not on the main street which is great because it is quieter and yet still accessible to all the restaurants and etc
Report this review
Francesca V. Couples United Kingdom, March 15, 2015
Perfect location, fantastic staff!

Location, staff & garden
8
We had a fab time in Chitwan Gaida Lodge, we found the staff went out of their way to help & advise us and they were very knowledgeable about the wildlife and jungle. The food in Sauraha was generally poor so I think the food here was as good as it gets, best to stay away from Western dishes. Overall we had a fab time here, thank you to all the staff to make that possible.
Report this review
Simon U. Couples Colombia, December 24, 2014
Terrible customer service
4.3
We stayed here twice. The rooms are ok, with hard beds, hot shower, and good wifi. The problem lies with the front desk service, which is awful. When we first got here they were friendly and eager to sell us their jungle trips but after we declined (their prices are much more expensive than other companies) they became sour. They refused to store our luggage while we went to the jungle, even though we had booked an additional night after our jungle walk. They said they didn't have space, which I doubt since the hotel is huge. When we wanted to move on from Chitwan, we asked how much a bus to Lumbini would be, they said 650Rs per person if we booked it through them but that we could go to the bus park ourselves (500Rs at the bus park). They pick you up from the bus park for free when you arrive in Chitwan, it's 1.5km away, 15 walk or 10Rs per person on a rickshaw. Since we had stayed two nights at the hotel we asked if we could get a ride to the bus park. The guy at the front desk seemed annoyed because we hadn't booked the bus with them and said they would but we had to pay 250Rs, even though it's 10Rs on a rickshaw! We ended up walking. The most annoying thing is that we then saw their jeep arrive empty at the bus park!! Seriously? Finally, we were told at the front desk that the bus would leave at 8:30am and so we got to the bus park at 8am. Surprise surprise, every bus leaves at 9:45am. Didn't they know this? I'm pretty sure they did. So we had to wait almost two hours at the bus park. This was just the cherry on top of our experience with them! Terrible terrible customer service.
Report this review
Simon U. Couples Colombia, December 21, 2014
Ok room, terrible service
5
We stayed here twice. The rooms are ok, with hard beds, hot shower, and good wifi. The problem lies with the front desk service, which is awful. When we first got here they were friendly and eager to sell us their jungle trips but after we declined (their prices are much more expensive than other companies) they became sour. They refused to store our luggage while we went to the jungle, even though we had booked an additional night after our jungle walk. They said they didn't have space, which I doubt since the hotel is huge. When we wanted to move on from Chitwan, we asked how much a bus to Lumbini would be, they said 650Rs per person if we booked it through them but that we could go to the bus park ourselves (500Rs at the bus park). They pick you up from the bus park for free when you arrive in Chitwan, it's 1.5km away, 15 walk or 10Rs per person on a rickshaw. Since we had stayed two nights at the hotel we asked if we could get a ride to the bus park. The guy at the front desk seemed annoyed because we hadn't booked the bus with them and said they would but we had to pay 250Rs, even though it's 10Rs on a rickshaw! We ended up walking. The most annoying thing is that we then saw their jeep arrive empty at the bus park!! Seriously? Finally, we were told at the front desk that the bus would leave at 8:30am and so we got to the bus park at 8am. Surprise surprise, every bus leaves at 9:45am. Didn't they know this? I'm pretty sure they did. So we had to wait almost two hours at the bus park. This was just the cherry on top of our experience with them! Terrible terrible customer service.
Report this review
Frank Z. Solo travelers Netherlands, December 16, 2014
Good value for money

Great location near the border of the park
8
Had an excellent stay. Rooms are great. Big and relative new. Warm water is only when there is sun but the have an electric back up system which they can put on if you ask them. Do not book any trips through them. The are really overpriced and no value for money. Please note that if you buy a park ticket (really expensive for Nepal) you get a free day in the animal zone next to the park. Great for an extra day of hiking
Report this review
Kriemhild S. Couples Germany, October 19, 2014
lovely place

location, staff, beergarden
9.3
We really enjoyed our stay. It was the third week in Nepal and the best place we stayed in until this moment. The beergarden is very chilling with a good variety of meals, the room big with very comfortable beds. Jungletour is also good. All staff are very friendly.
Report this review
Liu W. Groups Taiwan, September 11, 2014
hotel's car and restaurant are super terrible!

The guide is good, but other staff isn't helpful
4.3
Report this review
1 - 10 of 27 reviews Next page
Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Hotel Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Bathroom Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Balcony TerraceChitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Hotel ExteriorChitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Garden Restaurant Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Surrounding Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Recreational Facilities Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Restaurant Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Hotel Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Hotel Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Hotel Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Standard Room Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Garden Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Surroundings Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Recreational FacilitiesChitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Restaurant Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Guest Room Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Garden Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Entrance Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Exterior Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Garden Chitwan Gaida Lodge Chitwan - Standard Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02