or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Chulia Heritage Hotel

No 380 Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10200 (Show on map)

Book now!

Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Double room with shared bathroom Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Triple room with shared bathroom Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Family room with shared bathroom Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Standard Double room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe Double room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe Family room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe Family Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Guest Room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Bathroom Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Shared Bathroom Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Entrance Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Lobby Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Front Desk Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Interior Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Staircase Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Exterior
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Exterior Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Garden Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Garden Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Exterior
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 45
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
2498 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
5.8
All reviews (2498)
Sort by:
Sathia N. Families with young children Malaysia, February 15, 2014
best budget hotel

staff, cleanness, sarounding
7.3
overall is ok but slow water pressure at toilet n 2 of the 6 toilet nt hv light.
Kenny L. Couples Malaysia, February 15, 2014
Great stay and will come back again

great location, reasonable price and clean
7.3
Chanh D. Couples Vietnam, February 15, 2014
ancientcity, peacefulpeople, scenic, verytastyfood

price, clean,
8
hotel very clean, quiet, in the old town, friendly staff, affordable prices, we want to come back again and again, in the longer holiday
Anna T. Couples Singapore, February 14, 2014
Very new hotel with some renovations still ongoing

Location, Cleanliness, Big Room
7.7
Linda W. Couples Indonesia, February 14, 2014
Great city, super nice food

Location, decoration, wifi availake
8
First, its quiet hard to find this hotel since there's no sign of the name near the street, but u can find it by searching the red lampion and its exactly accross Oasis hotel. The building just been renovated for 2 years, it got quiet big car park, u can rent bicycle here for free if u stay here. The most important thing is the location! So easy to find local street food during the day and the night here. Wantan mee u can find when u go out and turn left, and its oy open at evening and its superb delicious! 7/11 located near this hotel. Actually this hotel located in the "chinatown" of Georgetown. U can just walk to anywhere u wan to go. Near thia hotel u can find quiet many attraction such as Fort Cornwallis, Pinang Peranakan Museum, Little India, and u also can find bus easily. The hotel room is so big! I booked for 2 person with 1 king bed, and we got 2 king bed! Definitely will stay here again in i go back to georgetown.
Ian T. Solo travelers Singapore, February 12, 2014
Simple & Good

Location, Local Food & Heritage Area
7.7
I have stayed here during my past 3 visits. The staffs are unassuming & helpful especially Mr Suhaimi at the front desk. I was given a family room with a double bed & single bed next to the reception however it was relatively quiet at night. The room is slightly bigger but all the amenties are the same. The extra single bed came to good use since I intended to engage a in-call massuer for my backache. I had a pleasant 2 nights stay. Along Chulia Street there are good local food to be found. Lunch at Sky Cafe down the road offers Yummy selections of Roast Meat & Duck. Dinner U are able to savour some delicious local hawker food like Curry Noodles & Wanton Pork Noodles just further down the street from Sky Cafe. Cannot wait to come back to Pinang & stay at The Chulia Heritage!!!
Alia A. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 10, 2014
great value without a compromise on comfort!

the cleanliness, price and location
8.7
A beautiful hotel that doesnt disappoints! It looks exactly like the pictures on the hotel website. Centrally located with a few minutes walk to penang road and the centre of penang heritage town, this a nice budget hotel for those on a tight budget. Though the rooms are small, its very clean. Its located in a black area but still quite safe if you want to walk around but do it in groups to be on the safe side. The door latch was broken so was a bit worried since the lock looked a bit flimsy. They might need to improve on that since the hotel is very open. But since you can pretty much hear movements throughout the night from other guests so u dont feel quite so on your own.
Xianghong T. Couples Singapore, February 6, 2014
nothing fantastic.

location. thats it.
5.3
not fantastic at all. when I arrived, I was given a free upgrade to a big room with 2 queen sized beds. I was rather pleased, but really, the room (room 126) was DIRECTLY beside the reception. As a couple, I really dun need 2 queen sized beds, nevertheless, when u get a free upgrade, u are always happy right? wrong! inside the room, there is a window which is secured by only 2 locking knobs. Anyone with a screw driver from the outside can easily open the windows. Since the room is on level one, anyone can climb in from the windows into your room! There is no glass on the windows and the window can accommodate a gorilla if it wants to. On my first night, I could not get to sleep after a long day in penang, because either the roof top is made very "thin" or the people upstairs are make a hell lot of noise. Wait a minute, it sounded more like there was some moving of furniture or construction(see below to find out why I came to this conclusion) going on. This went on till 330am!!! The next day, when I was back in the afternoon, there was a ten feet ladder DIRECTLY outside my door step?! They are attempting to lay some cables in the roof, and I was left un-informed, and kept standing outside my room! all the dirt and dust also crept their way into my room under the door. That's how close the construction work was to my room! It wasn't only until I showed my displeasure that the staff then did arrive to move away the ladder and not until I complained of the dirt at my door step and in my room, did they send someone over to sweep it up. Now I know why I am offered the FREE upgrade. The 2nd night, noises continued until 130am Next, the WIFI is almost non existent. no doubt there are a lot of wifi spots, but mainly unstable and unreliable! For anyone deciding to stay here at Chulia, please be aware. Please do not expect anything much from this hotel.
Christine K. Families with older children Malaysia, February 6, 2014
too bad

No
5.3
Seriously! I won't introduced my friends and family to book this hotel, is very terrible! We stay in first floor but the floor is using wood, they never do evenly when you walk can feel up and down and uncomfortable when you walk, the room only have 1 plug if u want charge for another phone you need to go out the hall, at night is very scary the hotel next is already empty for HUNDRERS years trees and garbage place , when open the window u can see this view only. The toilet is out side, u have to walk a distance after a hall then is toilet, but toilet is not that convenient for those female, toilet and bathroom joint in together but the window use brick with many hole can see when people changing or in shower. Parking to small only 13 carpark lot ,uncomfortable to me for this hotel.
Eng S. Couples Malaysia, February 5, 2014
Good location but I found that it's too expensive

Location,safety,nice food nearby
6.7
Good location but too expensive because no personal bathroom and just a simple room with nothing else .

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Chulia Heritage Hotel PenangChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Double room with shared bathroomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Triple room with shared bathroomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Basic Family room with shared bathroomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Standard Double room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe Double room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe Family room Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Deluxe FamilyChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Guest RoomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - BathroomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Shared BathroomChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - EntranceChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - LobbyChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Front DeskChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - InteriorChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - StaircaseChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - ExteriorChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - ExteriorChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - GardenChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - GardenChulia Heritage Hotel Penang - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Chulia Heritage Hotel, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3C05