Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Citrus Hikkaduwa

400, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa Beach, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka 80240

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 347 reviews

247 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (347)
Sort by:
Mohammed W. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 8, 2016
Best for great sea view
6
We stayed here for 2 night with breakfast, excellent location with great sea views from our room from 4th floor. Relatively clean and staff were friendly. Breakfast buffet was excellent!
Report this review
Kristine H. Couples Norway, March 28, 2016
As expected
4.3
Our stay at Citrus Hikkaduwa was as expected. The staffs was very nice and helpful. The hotel it self looked a bit old and tired, but the rooms satisfying and quite clean, the beds not very good though. The food in the restaurant was okey, a bit more expensive then the restaurants around the hotel. The sunbeds and the pool area has a lot more potential, but we didn't come to swim in the pool, so we didn't mind. All in all the stay was as expected, and the price good. Hikkaduwa is a nice place, but 10 days is a bit to long and the next time we would probably travel more around the country.
Report this review
Anthony C. Couples United Kingdom, February 1, 2016
Excellent, friendly hotel on the beach

position on beach; friendly, helpful staff ; excellent food
9.7
We have stayed at the Citrus on 5 occasions now and will be back. It's position on the beach in Hikkaduwa is good, the deluxe rooms are very comfortable and big enough for two, the food is great, especially the breakfasts, the staff are friendly, very helpful and well organised, the pool is good. The WiFi was fine. The only minor problems were: our inability to turn the temperature on the air conditioning unit up, so we either froze overnight with just a sheet or were too hot if we turned the air con off. We are not fans of buffets so our comments about the food relate to the a la carte menu. The bar staff seem unable to tell the difference between a Singapore Sling and a Pina Colada (I asked for one and got the other) The Citrus Lime and Sodas are not good - don't have All the sun loungers are 'booked' with towels by 7:30am Overall, a great place to stay and we would recommend it
Report this review
Nirmani A. Couples Sri Lanka, January 26, 2016
Average
4.3
It was nothing much
Report this review
Nirmani A. Couples Sri Lanka, January 26, 2016
Average
4.3
It was nothing much
Report this review
Alan S. Couples Australia, January 16, 2016
Unpleasant stay
4.3
Won't waste time as citrus not interested in any form of constructive criticism
Report this review
Zillah S. Groups United Kingdom, January 4, 2016
Over Priced!

Location (next to the beach & town), View from the top floor balcony, Rooms were clean
4.7
This hotel is extremely overpriced. There are much better places to stay in Hikkaduwa.
Report this review
Roopak S. Families with older children India, December 23, 2015
Excellent hospitality

Location / hospitable staff / good choice of food/ comfortable rooms
9.3
Excellent a dream holiday. Thanks a lot Team Citrus !!!!
Report this review
Rishi D. Couples India, December 22, 2015
Nice location and hospitality

Honeymoon priviledge, breakfast and cleanliness
9
We are extremely satisfied with the hospitality offered. The thing to take care of is we cant go in the sea in front of hotels because of lots of corels and rocks. We have to walk a front and can go in the sea.
Report this review
Ruwanga V. Families with young children Sri Lanka, December 18, 2015
Good place with nice sea view rooms.

location,staff,
9.3
For a 3 star , it was way above my expectations. Buffet needs improvement. Most guests go to hikka trans for buffet. It is just Rs200 extra and got lot more to offer..
Report this review
1 - 10 of 247 reviews Next page
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Hotel Exterior By nightfallCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Lobby ViewCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - View From Swimming PoolCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Pool view from LobbyCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Outdoor RestaurantCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Exterior Night ViewCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Pool Side Night View Citrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Pool Side Night View Citrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Sri Lankan FoodCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - FruitsCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Bathroom Amenities Citrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Pool ViewCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Hotel View In the EveningCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Swimming poolCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Beach View From GardenCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - SurfingCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Deluxe RoomCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Lobby AreaCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - EntranceCitrus Hikkaduwa Hikkaduwa - Beach


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08