Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street

18 Hong Kong Street, Clarke Quay, Singapore 059661

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.0

based on
1083 reviews

620 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (1083)
Sort by:
Damien M. Solo travelers New Zealand, January 16, 2016
Convenient place to stay

Location, Price
7.7
Good place to stay close to Clarke Quay, food, and transport. Hostel condition is alright, clean but old. Dorm beds are comfortable. Free breakfast is just toast and jam.
Report this review
Chaw L. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 10, 2016
Good location, Best price

Location, price, cleaniness
8.3
Report this review
Kelvin T. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 10, 2016
Dorm stay in City BP

Location and Price
6.7
I got my dorm stay one night for 11USD. Slightly steep if compare with the rest of the developing country in South East Asia. However is a steal in developed country such as Singapore. Booking in Agoda is cheaper than up front in the dorm which they charge 28SGD. Location is pretty central is just a near walking distance from the Clark Quay MRT and is adjacent to Clark Quay central. Chinatown is also a near walking distance from the dorm. Be aware: you get what you paid for. The 8 bunk bed dorms are located at the fourth floor (the highest). No lift only stairs. Therefore good luck for those with big bags. Wifi is almost non existence in 4th floor. Go down to the 2nd floor (reception area) for the best signal. They are doing some renovation at the ground (1st floor). I assume the reception will move down when the renovation is completed. You will need to pay 10SGD for the key deposit, locker is available inside the dorm room only accessible with through your key. Customer service wise can be improved greatly. I would not criticised badly but the customer service provided here is the worst I have encounter in South East Asia countries. In a nutshell, stay here for the price value and location. Don't except anything more. KT
Report this review
Agnes P. Families with older children Indonesia, December 29, 2015
City Backpacker hostel is the good location

Good location, friendly, good service
8.7
Every things is ok...., first day we are going to buy Singapore Scout uniform, etc because my daughter very like scout, second day we are going to Johor Bahru by bus for 1 day trip go to the Hello Kitty Theme Park, third day we are going to take a picture in Haji Lane, Merlion Statue and shopping in Lucky Plaza Orchard Road, fourth day in the morning we are going back to Indonesia
Report this review
Goay Y. Groups Malaysia, December 27, 2015
Not the best~

Strategic location, acceptable breakfast
6.7
We were being arranged to stay in the fourth floor. The water flow in the bathroom was super duper slow and it worsened when there was another person using the other bathroom at the same time. We also unable to connect to the Wi-Fi for the fourth floor. Therefore, most of the time, we have to use the wifi and bathroom at the third floor. Poor soundproof system as we could hear clearly the snoring of the guests sleeping in the other room and the talking noise.
Report this review
Cindy L. Couples Malaysia, December 26, 2015
Location,

Location, cleanliness
5
Location is good,near to mrt station.
Report this review
Henry L. Groups Malaysia, December 23, 2015
Good stay in city backpackers

Cheap price, good location, friendly staff
8.7
It was a nice stay. Comfortable to say the least. With a cheap price the hotel provided everything we needed generously.
Report this review
Yit S. Couples Malaysia, December 23, 2015
Improve cleanliness, especially toilet.

good location
6
Water flow very small. Dirty.
Report this review
Christopher C. Solo travelers United States of America, December 15, 2015
bad customer service
4.7
My grandma got rushed to the hospital three days before my trip so I had to cancel my flight. When I had tried contacting the owner about the problem to see if there was anyway we could work out a discount since I wouldn't be able to make it, he never even replied. I understood the policy but to just completely ignore a customer instead of trying to talk with them? That's terrible. Also they charged me for 15 days when prior we had discussed it would only be 12 days because of a time difference error. I'm sure the establishment isn't bad but they really need to work on their customer care.
Report this review
Duy K. Solo travelers Vietnam, December 13, 2015
Nice place to stay on budget

Good location, good price, friendly staff
7
It is very near to MRT, opposite to clake quay center, very cheap price! As solo travler, it was a nice place to stay over night!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 620 reviews Next page
City Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Main EntranceCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Bunk BedCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - 8 Bed DormitoryCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Twin RoomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Twin RoomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Bunk BedsCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Quad RoomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - LockersCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Guest RoomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Shared BathroomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Shared BathroomCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - EntranceCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Internet CornerCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Washing MachineCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - TelevisionCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Common AreaCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Notes by GuestsCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Pantry AreaCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Pantry AreaCity Backpackers @ Hong Kong Street Singapore - Reception


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01