or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Backpackers @ Kallang

12A Geylang Lorong 1, Lavender / Kallang, Singapore 389120 (Show on map)

Book now!

City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Guest Room City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory Beds City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Guest Room City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Bathroom City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Shared Bathroom City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Bathroom City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Reception City Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Surroundings
Area: Lavender / Kallang Number of Rooms: 5
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.8

based on
282 reviews

Value for Money
6.4
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
5.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.9
Room Comfort/Standard
5.5
Food/Dining
5.1
All reviews (282)
Sort by:
Ivan Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 27, 2015
city backpackers @ kallang

the location is worth (near to kallang mrt)
3
#1 poor staff - drunken and red when checking in at 4pm. bad first impression #2 extremely dirty - effed up dormitory. the dude gave me used pillow and blanket from another vacant bed, without new mattress cover to put on the dirty bed - unwashed, smelly washrooms - equally dirty, shady hallway and common area. probably never clean up the whole compound since inception #3 extremely ran down & unmaintained - ceiling is holed up with dripping water just above my bunker bed - a piece of dried, fallen paint from the ceiling welcomed me on my bed - laden with rubbish and unused household items inside the area
Nancy T. Couples United States of America, February 19, 2015
A Quickie at City Backpackers

Close to the rail, lots of good food around, young neighborhood
7
We stayed in an 8 person dorm bed for one night during a 24 hour layover in Singapore. The hostel was all that it advertised to be, very close to the rail with lots of restaurants around. You have to keep your eye out once you turn onto their street- the sign was not lit when we arrived and it took some asking around to find the hostel. You check in at River Kallang a few doors down from where you sleep. Next door is an excellent restaurant with big portions and low prices. Our dorm room was quiet even when full, earlier in the evening we could hear some music from down the street but it died down as the night progressed. The bathrooms left one wanting- make sure to pack your own toiletries. The cheapest place we could find in town on short notice.
John J. Solo travelers United States of America, February 11, 2015
The title of the Hoste? It is good.

The staff, the somewhat reasonable price
7
fair.
Luan N. Solo travelers Vietnam, January 27, 2015
the room is uncomfortable

hotel is near train station
3.7
the room is uncomfortable and dark. Toilet is dirty. There is no toilet paper so I have to use toilet in train station
Quach H. Business travelers Vietnam, January 25, 2015
Best price, low comfortable

Near MRT, near cheap restaurant, friently staff
7.3
No paper toilet :(.
Jared R. Solo travelers United States of America, January 12, 2015
City Backpackers @ Kallang
3.3
This is what an hostel in Singapore involves: 1. arrived to find the place locked up and spent 20 min knocking on the door. turned out the reception was in another building with a different name. 2. was given a beach towel instead of a blanket 3. Wi-Fi didn't work 4. 8beds crammed into a room that would be small for one person 5. power went out in the building for the entire evening 6. free breakfast was a piece of untoasted bread with jam and margarine 7. toilet seat missing from bathroom and the shower (with no hot water) was so dirty i decided not to shower at all. 8. no toilet paper 9. water stain on the ceiling above my top bunk dripped dirty water on me throughout the night 10. a decrepit old man in my room insisted on leaving the lights on all night despite me and other bunk mates fighting with him. I ended up having to wrap my blanket... sorry beach towel... around my head to sleep. I found out in the morning that decrepit old man worked there... and was naturally extremely rude. 11. I spent most of my time there contemplating going outside and sleeping in a nearby park.. In summary, spend another dollar and avoid this place.
Irina F. Groups Germany, January 11, 2015
INADVISABLE!!!

the location close to Kallang station
3
When we arrived we had to wait approx. 30 minutes till the person in charge came back from his dinner. There was no other person who could give as the keys for the room. Our room was in another building than the reception. The staircase was dirty and had stunk very bad. The room itself was dirty, there was rubbish in the corners, hairs on the bed, the beds were almost broken. The bathrooms cannot be named bathrooms. It was just dirty, dirty, dirty. We used the public toilet in the Kallang train station because there it was more clean. We only stayed there because we paid it in advance and couldn't get our money back.
Ang C. Business travelers Singapore, January 6, 2015
a room to sleep in gelang area

cheap, cheap and cheap
5.3
no issue
Maris O. Couples Australia, December 20, 2014
Young staff guy rocks, old staff guy is rude!

The young staff member was very helpful and even carried our bags upstairs, the location is quite good, late check-in was still possible.
4.7
We checked-in late and were greeted by a very helpful young staff member. He even helped carry our bags upstairs. Location was a bit noisy since it's next to a road so keep that in mind. We slept well and in the morning were greeted by the same young staff member who asked us how our stay was when we checked-out. We then ate breakfast and then came back for our luggage. The young staff member was gone and an old staff member was there instead. We asked if he could kindly call a taxi for us since we had so much luggage and he refused to help. He was rude, unhelpful, and didn't care if we wrote a bad review. Beware of the old guy and ask for the young guy who clearly understand customer service.
York N. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 15, 2014
HOTEL STAY

LOCATION
6
SHORT STAY

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Backpackers @ Kallang SingaporeCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Guest RoomCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Dormitory BedsCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Guest RoomCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - BathroomCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Shared BathroomCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - BathroomCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - ReceptionCity Backpackers @ Kallang Singapore - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3B02