Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Garden Suites Hotel

1158 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Philippines 1000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 1493 reviews

1052 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (1493)
Sort by:
Robert C. Business travelers Australia, March 20, 2012
Great hotel with large, clean, well-appointed room

Clean, well maintained, value-for-money, fast wi-fi
8
This was my first time to stay at the City Gardens. I took a 1 BR suite, which was a good size and included a kitchenette that was really useful for self catering. The location was pretty good, and very handy to my work in UN Ave (and also the LRT); the neighbourhood is gradually being invaded by rather aggressive beggars and street people, which is a bit of a disincentive to going out to enjoy all the restaurants and night life nearby. Staff were friendly and helpful, although the service at the front desk was slow both on arrival and at check-out. The in-house breakfast is also worth staying in for.
Hotel Feature Tip: The in-house wi-fi is fast, free and accessible and a great bonus for business travelers.
Report this review
Maria D. Couples Philippines, March 18, 2012
" Nice hotel with nice people around"

Liked the buffet breakfast...really like it...
10
i think the city garden hotel has a good accomodating personnel from the bellboy up to the bassboy...i like the buffet breakfast every morning and the people serving us they are very accomodating and attentive to what we need..were going back to this hotel...
Report this review
Virgilio R. Solo travelers Portugal, March 18, 2012
Quite good hotel for the price

Good location for Ermita area.
6.3
In Mabini street, opposite cowboy grill and can walk up to Robinson's department store. Plenty of restaurants in the area. The hotel is a bit old but still ok. Lobby bar is good. Very nice staff and helpfull. Far away from makati. Will only stay again if going to be at that area. Too many kid beggers in the street.
Report this review
David S. Business travelers United Kingdom, March 15, 2012
Great Hotel, pity about the locatio

Service and Friendliness
7.3
was initially given a standard room (had booked 1 bedroom suite) but was changed immediately to correct type. the service was excellent and i was impressed at the attention given to all guests, while it may not be to the same standard as the top hotel chains, the price made it much more appealing. will stay there again.
Nightlife Tip: Some great bars nearby
Report this review
Selwyn R. Solo travelers Seychelles, March 13, 2012
Good location

Close to airport for transit pax
7
Stay there transit for 1 night. Room had 2 single bed, Good size, Welcoming upon arrival.
Report this review
Darren T. Solo travelers Australia, March 12, 2012
Pickpockets in front of hotel are out of control

Great staff and a nice hotel
7
Having stayed at this hotel several times over the last 3 years I am sad to say that my recent stay will probably be my last. The pick pockets (not beggars) are concentrating on guests returning to the hotel and surround you and try and steal from you right up to the entrance. They are operating in groups of 6 or 7 in both broad daylight and night time. Most of them are hanging around the front of the cowboy grill and posing as flower sellers and most are female with 2 adult aged ones coordinating. There has always been beggars/flower sellers but now they have progressed to putting their hands in your pockets and taking what they can and you cannot smash them or you are in trouble. I have been coming to Manila for 20 years and was hit 6 yes SIX times in 5 days and ended up checking out early because of the pickpockets. On a positive note, the staff at the hotel are very good and the rooms are decent, but it is not worth while staying there anymore unless they move the pickpockets on. Sad to say but true.
Nightlife Tip: Be very careful walking back to hotel along Mabini street if you are passing the cowboy grill. The flower sellers are now organized pickpockets. I am a big guy who is very fit and a non drinker yet I was targeted several times, they are desperate and do not discriminate against travelers.
Report this review
Yin C. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 11, 2012
great location but small room

Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was clean and room service was efficient too.
7.3
Overall, a pleasand hotel in a great location, near a big mall, restaurants and entertainment. Public transport is easily available right at the doorstep. Staff are friendly and helpful and have a smile always. Although the rooms are small, they are kept very clean.
Report this review
Allen S. Solo travelers Australia, March 11, 2012
The rooms were very clean and well laid out

Staff were very helpful and graceful
8.7
Really enjoyed the free breakfast and missed a swimming pool.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the parks and St Augustin's
Report this review
Nigel R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 10, 2012
Well located hotel for airport, malls, Manila Bay.

Friendly service, varied choices for breakfast and hotel dining.
9.7
have stayed here before and the hotel is consistant regarding service, good choices of roooms, friendly service and helpful staff. approx 20 minutes taxi ride from airport, and meter taxi fare is no more than pesos. hotel is known by taxi drivers which is helpful if a first time visitor.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hotel is close to Malls, Manila Bay and Rizal Park.
Report this review
Ingrid S. Couples Norway, March 10, 2012
I would not book this hotel again

Cold refrigirator contained a lot of different kinds of drinks
6
The hotel was not realy what I had expected. The room was a bit wear out and the bathroom was small . They advertised for happy hours and ladys nigt etc. inn the room, but the was nothing of the kind in the hotel. The breakfast bufe was ok with good service.The aercindition was good and the refrigirator was cold and contained a lot of different kinds of drinks. In the end it was not so bad after all.
Report this review
Previous page 581 - 590 of 1052 reviews Next page
City Garden Suites Hotel ManilaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse Living AreaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Cafe MirandaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Standard RoomCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse RoomCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse DiningCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse Living AreaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse RoomCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - StandardCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse RoomCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse RoomCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Junior Suite Living AreaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - PenthouseCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Junior Suite Living AreaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse Living AreaCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Junior SuiteCity Garden Suites Hotel Manila - Penthouse Dining Area


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05