Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Guest House

(Reception @ Block D, D8, 7/F) Flat D3, 7/F, Block D, Chungking Mansion, 40 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

City Guest House Hong Kong - Double Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Double Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Double Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Family Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Family Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Family Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Family Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Single Economy City Guest House Hong Kong - Guest Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Safety Box in Room City Guest House Hong Kong - Room Amenities City Guest House Hong Kong - Entrance City Guest House Hong Kong - Fridge & Microwave Provided City Guest House Hong Kong - Fire System City Guest House Hong Kong - Reception City Guest House Hong Kong - Fire System
City Guest House Hong Kong - Bathroom City Guest House Hong Kong - Bathroom City Guest House Hong Kong - Fire Extinguisher City Guest House Hong Kong - Fire System City Guest House Hong Kong - Reception City Guest House Hong Kong - Chung King Mansion Entrance
Area: Tsim Sha Tsui Number of Rooms: 56
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.4

from 205 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
6.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.1
Food/Dining
5.1
All reviews (205)
Sort by:
Rossilyn P. Groups Philippines, July 22, 2015
Nice place to stay! Value for money..

Value for money, staff accomodating
7.7
Nice place to stay will come back soon
Report this review
Boon C. Couples Malaysia, September 8, 2014
Comfortable

Powerful shower, hot water and good bed
5
Comfortable, cozy and clean. But slightly noisy and lift is too small to accommodate the numbers of occupants there
Report this review
Anders O. Families with young children Sweden, July 30, 2014
Worst stay in my life
2
We left the hotel after 2 nights even though we paid for 6 nights.
Report this review
Mary H. Groups Philippines, June 11, 2014
good

convenient, clean,affordable
7.3
Report this review
Quoc A. Solo travelers Australia, May 28, 2014
Not easy to find the hotel.

Clean Staff Centre located
8
Good for single or couple.. dont bring your children. Rooms are small
Report this review
Rito I. Solo travelers Philippines, May 8, 2014
comfortable, central, clean, inexpensive

comfortable, central, clean
8
I've had 110+ hotels booked in Agoda in the last 2-3 years or so and I usually prefer somewhere between cheapest and expensive, but I have to say that City Guest House is one of the smallest crampiest I have ever stayed in. It's like getting thrown into a "big closet". But considering the quality of space among Hong Kong hotels, this is probably not so bad considering its price, which is really cheap. If you're on really really tight budget and just needs a room to sleep in but would otherwise gallivant around this chaotic city, City Guest is highly recommended for the on-a-budget backpacker. The "room", if you can call it that, is very clean, AC works (though there would be tugging, howling sound depending on which room you're using), TV I didn't even use, bathroom clean but small. If you're a big person, you'd have difficulty going around. There is no space to stretch your arm, literally. I could hardly move my baggage in and out of the doors. Staff friendly. It's one of the ratholes in behemoth Chungking Mansions (which should be a misnomer - mansion). This is not for me, to be quite honest but I was only transiting and didn't even have 12 hours in HK before I fly off elsewhere. Perfect for when you're on budget - fast wifi, nice staff, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever laid my head on. If you're claustrophobic, you're in for a rough time.
Report this review
Catherine K. Groups Philippines, May 3, 2014
im very comfortable specialy with the staff

friendly,kind and hospitable
10
thanks,to cristy and jen and the other staff of city guest house... see you again next time... thank you...
Report this review
Tanya Q. Solo travelers Philippines, April 30, 2014
Close to everything

centrally located, budget hotel, nice staff
6
At first i was confuse of this hotel because you have to go up to the 10 floor to chech in...This is my first time to stay in a budget hotel but i was nice because to the 2 Filipina staff named Cristy and Jen...They are so accomodating although i was dissapointment because of the place cause this is my first time, it was a pleasant stay for me...i will recommend it for the budget hotel...close to everything, friendly staff...Im sure i gonna stay here again for my future travel to Hongkong! Thank you Ms Cristy and Jen.
Report this review
Catherine K. Groups Philippines, April 30, 2014
nice hotel and very reasonable and convenient...

friendly,hospitable and trustworthy
10
it was wonderful that i booked this city guest house hotel because im very comfortable... i would like to thank the staff at city guest house hotel cristy and jen because they are friendly, hospitable and trustworhty because of this 3 things they have, i will refer this city guest house hotel to all of my friends... miss cristy and jen,,, thank soo much,,, see you tommorw,,,
Report this review
Christopher N. Solo travelers Singapore, April 27, 2014
It's Hong Kong, manage your expectations

The location, the surprisngly clean rooms, friendly staff
9.3
FIRST THING, IT'S HONG KONG, ALL ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL, OKAY?! Getting to the accommodation from the airport was very easy. There is a direct bus that stops just outside, and if you cross the road, the same number bus will take you back to the airport The staff were friendly and spoke English well. I booked and was given a single room. The owners have a few different hostels owned by them throughout the building, so I technically didn't stay in City Guesthouse, I stayed in Germany Hostel. Not that it matters, but just saying. The room was very clean, but like all rooms in HK, it was very small. Sitting on the toilet, I can touch my bed, yeah. There was a fan and an aircon in the room, so I thought it was great. I had strong wifi in my room too. Very positive note is that they came in and tidied up the room and gave me a fresh towel everyday! The building seems sketchy, but I felt safe in all honesty. The lifts take forever, so I always walk through the stairwell myself, which is also kind of dirty, but I think it is better than waiting 5 minutes for a lift which might even arrive full, so then an extra 5 minutes. Location is perfect. There are 2 different MTR train stations are just beside the building. The ferry terminal is a block down and it’s very cheap to crossover to HK island. The surrounding neighbourhood is very lively and it is easy to just wander around and look for food or shopping. Personally, I am happy that I stayed here. For the amenities and the price, you get a great location and a simple accommodation. I was always comfortable in room and I slept well every night. Any hotel probably would have been only a bit bigger but at triple the price or more. For all travellers, I would recommend a private room. It really is too close for comfort with another person in the small HK rooms. Just take a private room and enjoy the culturally rich and lively atmosphere of the famous Chungking Mansions!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Guest House Hong KongCity Guest House Hong Kong - Double RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Double RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Double RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Family RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Family RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Family RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Family RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Single EconomyCity Guest House Hong Kong - Guest RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Safety Box in RoomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Room AmenitiesCity Guest House Hong Kong - EntranceCity Guest House Hong Kong - Fridge & Microwave ProvidedCity Guest House Hong Kong - Fire SystemCity Guest House Hong Kong - ReceptionCity Guest House Hong Kong - Fire SystemCity Guest House Hong Kong - BathroomCity Guest House Hong Kong - BathroomCity Guest House Hong Kong - Fire ExtinguisherCity Guest House Hong Kong - Fire SystemCity Guest House Hong Kong - ReceptionCity Guest House Hong Kong - Chung King Mansion Entrance


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08