Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Home Guest House

868 Phahon Yothin Road, Muang, City Center, Chiang Rai, Thailand 57000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.0

based on 112 reviews

158 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
6.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
5.5
Solo travelers (112)
Sort by:
Soline E. Solo travelers Hong Kong, December 31, 2015
Convenaient location

Location, price
7
A simple hotel to stay for 1 or 2 nights not more. Very well located near the night market and the bus terminal. The room is ok.
Simon D. Solo travelers Australia, July 3, 2015
Close To The Bus Station & Night Market

Location, Price, Location
7
I chose the City Home Guest House primarily as a stop over and for its location close to the Bus Station. It was very close to the bus station and the night market which is one of if not the main night time tourist attractions in Chiang Rai. The room was basic but serviceable, and i had very little interaction with the staff, which was fine as i did not require their assistance. The room was noisy at night because of the night market, but i did not mind that, and the noise would of finished by 11pm i'd say. All in all it did the job that was required of it.
Andrew S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 11, 2015
OK

location to bus station, nice staff, ok price
7
Good. Considering Chiang Rai is not Bangkok maybe a bit overpriced. But nice enough and very convenient to bus station and other things.
Dean R. Solo travelers United States of America, February 20, 2015
Excellent location and value; that's about all.

location, value, OK room
6.7
I was bicycling from Chaing Mai to Chaing Rai and this was my end point. Picked it for location to the night market (one block) and to restaraunts. The location was superb for enjoying the night market and Chinese New Year activities. Room was comfortable and clean; otherwise very spartan. The lobby was the only place that WIFI was available. Lobby was open and filled with mosquitos; tables were filthy and trash was strewn about. Staff at the desk only from 8AM to 7PM, so after 7PM you're on your own. They said they couldn't help with getting a taxi in the AM because no-one would be there. So, good value, good location, OK room. That's about all.
Daniel K. Solo travelers United States of America, December 15, 2014
Liked it, but it's not for everyone.

Location, funky old building, clean
6.7
This guesthouse is in an older building. It's right in the middle the central area - bus station, night market, night life. Even though the building is older, it's cleaner than many Thai hotels. I like the architecture. It has a small inner court yard. It's a little bit too noisy. They have old windows that let noise in. You'll hear the night market singer and maybe the metal shop during the day. When I decided to extend my stay, the staff volunteered to switch me to a less expensive room! How often does that happen? If you're OK with city noise, then you might like the other benefits of this guesthouse. I would stay here again. For less noise, get a room on the 2nd floor. I also recommend the nearby Connection Cafe, across from the bus station. They charge less than other tourist restaurant/cafes, but the coffee, food, and internet are good.
Zoran M. Solo travelers Australia, September 24, 2014
great budget hotel

massive room, great location,cheap
9
Great hotel well worth the money. Nothing flash but room was huge but bed was rock hard unfortunately I would stay here again except chang rai has nothing going for it apart from the white temple
Grant H. Solo travelers Australia, June 23, 2014
cheap, you get what you pay for.

close to the night market, bars and resteraunts. And was still quiet.
5.7
There was no fridge in the room. But I didn't check before booking, so my fault for assuming. The rooms were clean and basic, shower worked OK. No lift, but it is only a few floors. I suppose for 500 baht, you get what you pay for.
Chia K. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 12, 2014
Just OK

clean,quiet, good location
6.7
Its an old hotel but with clean room and bed sheet but basic ..good location just behind night market and next to bus station..Its ok just to come back to sleep..good price too.
Maximilian A. Solo travelers Germany, January 29, 2014
Definitely worth the money

large room, clean, cheap
9.3
Sarah M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 5, 2014
nice centrally located hostel

great location, helpful staff, reasonable rates
8.7
This is a perfectly adequate cheap hostel in a great central location. Still reasonably quiet (as is situated in a small soi off of the main road at back of night market)
1 - 10 of 299 reviews Next page
City Home Guest House Chiang RaiCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Double BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Double BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Twin BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Twin BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Twin BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Twin BedCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - BathroomCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Balcony/TerraceCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - LobbyCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Guest RoomCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - InteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Guest RoomCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Guest RoomCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - InteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Guest RoomCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - InteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - InteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - InteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - ReceptionCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - ExteriorCity Home Guest House Chiang Rai - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06