or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Reception City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 270

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
443 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (443)
Sort by:
Kar L. Business travelers Hong Kong, March 8, 2013
an excellent business hotel

convenient location, nice neigbourhood
9.3
As expected it is a very convenient location, walking distance to Portman (Shanghai Centre) where most foreign companies are. I like City Hotel for many reasons and most importantly is the convenience. The service was very efficient and this is important for business hotel. I didn't spend time here for lunch, dinner or drinks but the breakfast was surprisingly up to par. Obviously not comparable to 5-Star foreign run hotels but the buffet was just right for business traveller. I was extremely pleased to see an egg station! Only negative was my room being at the far end corner where wifi was not receiving well at all. My Skype call has to be done near to the room door, over there at the bed side was poorly connected and the desk has absolutely NO signal...
Hina K. Business travelers United Kingdom, March 3, 2013
Great location but not a great hotel

location, helpful staff
4.7
This hotel needs a good clean, stains on the carpets, dirty towels and a hard bed is just some of problems with it. Location is good, and staff are helpful. I would rate it a 2/3 star.
Restaurant Tip: Nepali kitchen, 10 mins walk down does amazing food
Ellen T. Solo travelers United States of America, March 2, 2013
Great location at bargain price!

Warm, cozy room with a bath! Staff is very helpful!
9.3
This is a very nice hotel, especially for the bargain price! It's in the heart of the French Concession, so one can easily walk to sites or take the subway. The staff are so helpful and polite.
Rita T. Solo travelers Spain, February 24, 2013
Great location, closed to many shops and nice area

Clean hotel, closed to subway, and great location
7.3
I chose this hotel cause they have a great offer in Agoda. I was surprised to see it was closed to many subways and to many streets that I love in Shanghai as Donghu Road, Changle Lu and Shaanxi Nan Lu. I was disappointing that they charge for Internet (either cable or wifi) and also for the hotel facilities as parking and swimming pool. The restaurant in the first floor was under renovation. But there are more restaurants (Chinese, Japanese) in others floors but I didn't use the dining services during my staying.
Restaurant Tip: Donghu Lu has a great selection of Western and Chinese restaurants as the Sichuan Citizen. Closed to the hotel there is also the Citizen Cafe in 222 Jinxian Lu
Tanita L. Solo travelers Austria, February 24, 2013
Alright for short stay

about 8 min to South Shaanxi Metro Station (line 1)
7.7
I spent a few days in City Hotel Shanghai. The location is close to the Metro, which makes it very easy to discover the city. There are also a lot of stores for shopping, a starbucks and a McDonald's (for those who care about it) along the way. The bathroom was of sufficient size and clean. I really liked the bed as it was quite big and soft. The view was alright. However, the room had a carpet floor with some bigger stains on it. They provide slippers (even new ones every day, if you remove them) but this something I did not appreciate. The TV had HBO, showing movies in english (only commercials between movies). The pool looks beautiful, but IT COSTS EXTRA. 100RMB (~12 Euro), I think every day. Internet in the room cost me 60RMB a day. Also FYI, I had to pay deposit of 300RMB per day) The breakfast consisted of a buffet, offering fruit, cereal, cheese, sausage and more warm, mainly western-style dishes. Hope this is helpful for you guys!
Abigail C. Couples United States of America, February 1, 2013
Nice hotel near French Concession

Good location, comfortable room
9
Great hotel for a brief stay. Good location between West Nanjing and French Concession. Although the breakfast was expensive, the potato/onion/bacon mixture at the buffet was delicious.
Kulvinder R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 25, 2013
Great overall/Cost/Location/ but small rooms

good
8.3
i stay @ this hotel each time i visit shanghai. the cost/room size/deal/ is best . good location. short walk to nanjing rd & close to huahai road bars & restaurants. many other hotels nearby . bigger rooms @ higher costs but less westerner friendly. or cheaper & very little english spoken. i need decent facilities for western travellor /english widely spoken & understood/ indoor pool/spa/ western steakhouse with draft beers. good business centre/fast broadband.
Hotel Feature Tip: best take executive rooms with inclusive internet.
Kulvinder R. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 20, 2013
great location but small rooms

good business travellor hotel
8
i always stay @ this hotel on business to shanghai. good location but small rooms. fair package for cost. plenty other local hotels but bigger rooms costing much more/double. this hotel is best westerner friendly in this area.short walk to nanjing road from hotel.
Travel tip: short walk to nanjing road from hotel.
Ryne B. Couples Canada, January 13, 2013
Decent hotel great location

Near so many food options and close to a main highway
7.3
Good rooms nothing special, clean, helpful and pleasant staff.
Lai M. Business travelers Hong Kong, December 7, 2012
Cozy hotel

very convenience the location
8
The location is very convenience, the staff is nice, just the wifi is not very stable in the room, quite often disconnect suddenly.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B04