My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room City Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool City Hotel Shanghai - Reception City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge
City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room City Hotel Shanghai - Fitness Room City Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant City Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant City Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant City Hotel Shanghai - Restaurant City Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 270

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
394 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (394)
Sort by:
Kamran H. Business travelers Pakistan, September 13, 2012
Very nice hotel and excellent location

Staff speaks English and are very helpful
8.7
The stay was very nice, the locality is good as there are plenty of restaurants and shopping available near the Hotel but everything is expensive.
Sean C. Couples United States of America, September 9, 2012
Great service, good location, right price

Location, Price
7.7
The only issue -- which the reception desk made very clear (and about which they were appropriately apologetic) -- was the ongoing construction at the hotel (which will likely be finished within a few months from this review). There was, in fact, scaffolding around our only window. But it wasn't noisy at night, and we didn't need the view anyway. The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and attentive, and the hotel is very nicely located near former French Concession shops and restaurants. We will probably stay there again, but I fear the prices will increase once the renovation is complete.
Restaurant Tip: Several good places in walking distance, including Maya, an inventive Mexican restaurant, just around the corner on Ju Lu Lu. *We did not eat at the hotel, so I rated Food/Dining at 3. I wish Agoda would fix this.
Joseph Y. Business travelers United States of America, September 9, 2012
Nice hotel great location

best value in Shanghai
10
Hotel is not so close to the subway but is walking distance to West Nanjing Road and Hueihai Road. Hotel is very clean, nice staff who speak English. Taxi access is easy. This hotel is easily best value for the money in shanghai area. 10 minutes taxi ride to Xintendi, Tienzhifang, Xujahuei, The Bund. Lot's of Westerners stays at this hotel. Bathroom is mid size but contemporary design. Very clean. Bed is comfortable.
Jason P. Couples Canada, September 9, 2012
Great location with decent rooms

Service and Location
7.3
Good price. Some beds are more comfortable than others.
Christian L. Solo travelers Germany, September 9, 2012
Good location

Location, value for the money
8
the hotel is conveniently located in the french concession and pretty close to huaihai road. unfortunately construction work is still going, but they try to keep it to an acceptable level, so earplugs are good enough to block out the noise, for an afternoon nap. bed could be a little softer, if you ask me, but it's ok. beware: my room (deluxe room) was falsely advertised as having a bathtub, even though there is none.
Restaurant Tip: Pier 39 - great clam chowder
Kulvinder R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 10, 2012
Great overall/Cost/Location/ but small rooms

Good for western travellers
8
At moment undergoing big refurbishment but i visit shanghai often and always stay @ this hotel. Good location/ Prices & Facilities for westerners. I haver stayed @ all other local hotels: cheaper hotels have poor facilities or little english spoken( yan-an hotel cheaper but you get what you pay) Equatorial & Hilton better hotels/Bigger rooms but Twice the cost. Best get executive room @ City Hotel. Best overall costs Package. fast internet free for executive roons. Taking basic room & adding on internet/Breakfast etc actually costs more!!. Exec rooms allow free entry for swimming pool/Gym etc.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Short walk to nanjing rd shopping centre
Anthony C. Couples Australia, July 25, 2012
Great hotel and staff very attentive

Loved the pool
9.7
We unexpectedly needed to stay an extra night. Booked through agoda, we were pleased that we didn't have to change rooms. The staff were very helpful in providing all documentation that was required for our insurance. We were able to book a tour through the hotel and the staff were very good at making suggestions about which ones were good. Good English skills
Anthony C. Couples Australia, July 24, 2012
Great hotel and staff very attentive

Having access to gym and pool
9.7
we had a great stay. we were upgraded and the room was big, very comfortable bed. unfortunately no view of the city due to recladding work, which was advertised on their website and on arrival and the noise was minimal.
Hotel Feature Tip: You can only get free access to the gym and pool if you are staying in a deluxe room or above.
Johannes N. Solo travelers Austria, July 20, 2012
under renovation

great location
7.3
The location in the french concession is perfect, but currently under renovation. though quite cheap but wifi is charged 60 a day, and if you want to use their gym its, which makes it less a bargain. The staff is friendly and helpful and the neighbourhood is nice for a stroll and some delicious local food.
Anthony C. Couples Australia, July 19, 2012
Welcoming and Pleasant Staff - Great Rooms

Close to interesting part of city
9
In between Metro Stations, expect a walk of about 15 minutes if want to get to a metro. They are re-doing the facade a the moment so there is Hesian over the windows so you do not get a view. Swimming pool is good (might cost extra depending on room) but good to do laps in. Very close to high level spine road that runs through Shanghai

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B04