Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Reception City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 270

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
412 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (412)
Sort by:
Stephen W. Business travelers United Kingdom, October 24, 2012
Good location, recently refurbished

Modern clean room
7
This hotel is well located near the centre of Shanghai and has recently been refurbished so the rooms are clean and modern. Room size is ok and the bathroom is also up to scratch but lacks a bath. Still charging for internet access which I believe should be free in this day and age and there is a bit of a lack of eateries in the hotel.
Gilles M. Business travelers France, October 24, 2012
Hôtel charmant et service avec le sourire, Emplace

the place is very strategic, nice staf
9.7
we are satisfied, hotel room is clean, the staff is charming, helpful and honest,
Shopping Tip: just walk around hotel many small boutique and restaurant
Ming H. Groups Malaysia, October 22, 2012
Good location

Location
7.7
We have 8 person together so we take 2 taxi to the tourist point, very near. Somemore can shopping in surrounding area. Location is good. But there is no king bed for deluxe room. The single bed is not big one. The room is clean enough. For friend and relative traveling is recommended,
Shopping Tip: Unique shop in changle Lu, but the stuff every expensive dough.
Ryuichiro N. Solo travelers Japan, October 21, 2012
Centrally located

English speaking receptionist
6.3
this was my fourth stay in three weeks. i can always find several staffs in the reception and get served without waiting for long. they all seems to be able to speak english which helps the foreign travellers as well. one diappointment was that i could fins enough food at breakfast. it is ture that i went to the restaurant last 30 mns of breakfast time but they should prepare more as long as they find a customer theres. it probably works against chinese cost effective way to running the restaurant....
Ryuichiro N. Solo travelers Japan, October 14, 2012
Centrally located

Centrally located
5.7
standard business hotel with english speaking receptionist, which is somewhat rare for a hotel at this level. they initially requested 600 rmb key deposit which is higher than the room rate...that was unheard of. i managed to negotiate it down to 300 rmb at the end however the rate of key deposit is not fixed in this hotel and you can argue if they tr to overcharge you for this. other than the service seems ok to me
Lo C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, October 4, 2012
Small hotel small room

Hotel is old and location is not very good
4.3
That is a old hotel and room is old and small also. the air condition is not good.
Erin M. Solo travelers Canada, October 1, 2012
excellent location, friendly staff

great view
7.7
-only a couple of blocks from west nanjing road; nice walk there. -may be difficult to find on foot because the hotel was under construction (as of oct 1st 2012) and the sign onto the main road is blocked -when i arrived they'd originally assigned me a room in which the window would be covered over due to construction; they were nice and changed it without any problems -once the renovations are finished i'd definitely recommend this hotel.
Travel tip: when booking, inquire as to whether or not construction is still happening and request a room where the window isn't covered over.
Loretta N. Groups Canada, September 28, 2012
Good hotel and good services.

Good location for travellers
8.7
I went to Shanghai with my husband and friends. We stayed at City Hotel. All of us like this hotel, nice hotel, good services and good location. I will choose this hotel again next time when I visit Shanghai.
Michael T. Couples Hong Kong, September 22, 2012
good choice for budget hotel

clean and tidy
8.7
clean and tidy look in room, good location walking distance to Jingan district for some shopping
Hotel Feature Tip: nothing exceptionally outstanding
Regina L. Groups Germany, September 18, 2012
great location but extremly small rooms ,

location
5.7
All rooms are same size even at your homepage it said 2 different sizes. Had Extrabed but no more space atall. Service not great und not so clean but staff were nice unfortunately hardly no englishspeaking .
Restaurant Tip: Dai Tai Fung Restaurant at Xintiandi

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B05