or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Reception City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 270

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
403 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (403)
Sort by:
Erin M. Solo travelers Canada, October 1, 2012
excellent location, friendly staff

great view
7.7
-only a couple of blocks from west nanjing road; nice walk there. -may be difficult to find on foot because the hotel was under construction (as of oct 1st 2012) and the sign onto the main road is blocked -when i arrived they'd originally assigned me a room in which the window would be covered over due to construction; they were nice and changed it without any problems -once the renovations are finished i'd definitely recommend this hotel.
Travel tip: when booking, inquire as to whether or not construction is still happening and request a room where the window isn't covered over.
Loretta N. Groups Canada, September 28, 2012
Good hotel and good services.

Good location for travellers
8.7
I went to Shanghai with my husband and friends. We stayed at City Hotel. All of us like this hotel, nice hotel, good services and good location. I will choose this hotel again next time when I visit Shanghai.
Michael T. Couples Hong Kong, September 22, 2012
good choice for budget hotel

clean and tidy
8.7
clean and tidy look in room, good location walking distance to Jingan district for some shopping
Hotel Feature Tip: nothing exceptionally outstanding
Regina L. Groups Germany, September 18, 2012
great location but extremly small rooms ,

location
5.7
All rooms are same size even at your homepage it said 2 different sizes. Had Extrabed but no more space atall. Service not great und not so clean but staff were nice unfortunately hardly no englishspeaking .
Restaurant Tip: Dai Tai Fung Restaurant at Xintiandi
Ka W. Couples United States of America, September 15, 2012
Economic choice but don't expect too much

Price, location
5.7
Convenient location although not extremely close to subway station (~10mins walk)
Kamran H. Business travelers Pakistan, September 13, 2012
Very nice hotel and excellent location

Staff speaks English and are very helpful
8.7
The stay was very nice, the locality is good as there are plenty of restaurants and shopping available near the Hotel but everything is expensive.
Sean C. Couples United States of America, September 9, 2012
Great service, good location, right price

Location, Price
7.7
The only issue -- which the reception desk made very clear (and about which they were appropriately apologetic) -- was the ongoing construction at the hotel (which will likely be finished within a few months from this review). There was, in fact, scaffolding around our only window. But it wasn't noisy at night, and we didn't need the view anyway. The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and attentive, and the hotel is very nicely located near former French Concession shops and restaurants. We will probably stay there again, but I fear the prices will increase once the renovation is complete.
Restaurant Tip: Several good places in walking distance, including Maya, an inventive Mexican restaurant, just around the corner on Ju Lu Lu. *We did not eat at the hotel, so I rated Food/Dining at 3. I wish Agoda would fix this.
Joseph Y. Business travelers United States of America, September 9, 2012
Nice hotel great location

best value in Shanghai
10
Hotel is not so close to the subway but is walking distance to West Nanjing Road and Hueihai Road. Hotel is very clean, nice staff who speak English. Taxi access is easy. This hotel is easily best value for the money in shanghai area. 10 minutes taxi ride to Xintendi, Tienzhifang, Xujahuei, The Bund. Lot's of Westerners stays at this hotel. Bathroom is mid size but contemporary design. Very clean. Bed is comfortable.
Jason P. Couples Canada, September 9, 2012
Great location with decent rooms

Service and Location
7.3
Good price. Some beds are more comfortable than others.
Christian L. Solo travelers Germany, September 9, 2012
Good location

Location, value for the money
8
the hotel is conveniently located in the french concession and pretty close to huaihai road. unfortunately construction work is still going, but they try to keep it to an acceptable level, so earplugs are good enough to block out the noise, for an afternoon nap. bed could be a little softer, if you ask me, but it's ok. beware: my room (deluxe room) was falsely advertised as having a bathtub, even though there is none.
Restaurant Tip: Pier 39 - great clam chowder

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B06