or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
City Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Reception City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Pub/Lounge City Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Business Center City Hotel Shanghai - Swimming Pool
Area: Xintiandi & Huaihai Rd Number of Rooms: 270

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
402 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (402)
Sort by:
Jason P. Couples Canada, May 19, 2013
Very convenient

Location, value, and rooms.
7.7
Short but the same as always. We like the location.
Thomas L. Solo travelers Ireland, May 19, 2013
good location

bathroom, getting a taxi and near french concession
9
Hotel was very clean. Had to ask for a another room as I was given a twin when I asked for a double. Turns out the Chinese regard a double as a twin. If you want 1 large bed ask for a single. This was my 1st stay in the hotel. I will return.
Yeo D. Business travelers Singapore, May 11, 2013
City centre

Clean, Centrally located
8
Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,Clean, Centrally located,
Jenny S. Couples Australia, April 25, 2013
good sized room with friendly staff, close to shop

close to shops, easy transport and nice room
10
Jenny S. Couples Australia, April 24, 2013
Nice room and easy transport

easy transport, clean room
10
Kar L. Business travelers Hong Kong, April 24, 2013
too bad my room is near the elevator

- convenient location
7
Carina D. Couples Austria, April 23, 2013
incompetent hotel staff

breakfast, shower
6
The location is ok, to Shaanxi South Road or Nanjing West road subway stations you need to walk about 15 min. We first stayed 1night in a Superior room.These rooms are the old, unrenovated rooms and the carpet was really dirty and nasty.The use of the hotel facilities such as swimming pool,sauna and gym is not inluded in this room type. Therefore we booked further nights in the Deluxe room.This room was really nice and renovated. Unfortunately we were told (after booking) that part of these facilities are under maintenance (at least until April 30th) and so we could only use the pool. As the sauna etc are under maintenance, part of the room is under construction and the air temperature is really cool so you don't want to stay in the pool very long. The workers stare at young, blonde women in bikinis while "working". That was really annoying for me. Due to the maintenance we agreed with the hotel manager to change our room rates back to Superior Room rates. The hotel administration itself has reduced the room rates about a half for guest who book the hotel directly. The hotel staff is kind of English speaking but still unable. Everything we agreed with the manager we had to explain over and over again (for example the breakfast-opportunity or the use of the computer room for free) and the woman at the "business center" reception didn't even realize that the computer was turned off and didn'T know the password. Free Wifi is not included and is charged with 1yuan/min or 60yuan/day which is really much for China,especially when you can go to coffeeshops (Starbucks) and use free wifi there.Agoda booking includes "1 breakfast" per night per double room.All in all the hotel rooms were ok and the breakfast was good, but I was not satisfied with the hotel staff.I would not book this hotel again as it really got on my nerves to explain everything to everybody again and the hotel administration didn't accommodate us regarding the inconvenience caused by the maintenance.
Alessandro C. Business travelers Italy, April 19, 2013
Nice hotelinagood location

location,quiet room, good bar
7.3
Carl M. Business travelers Ireland, April 19, 2013
Budget hotel that says it is luxury

location, location, location
6
You know what you are getting at this hotel; namely a crash palace close to the airport. If you have stayed in hotels like Starwood, IGH etc, then you will be disappointed
Gert K. Solo travelers Sweden, April 12, 2013
Hotel served its purpose in a positive way

Good Location,Clean room,easy access
7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3A01