Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.4

based on
482 reviews

275 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (482)
Sort by:
Huat C. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 20, 2014
good location, nice room, value for money

good location, nice room, value for money
7.7
good location in the city and within walking distance (about 15 mins) to the metro stations. nice big room and has many location food places nearby.
Report this review
Kathleen C. Solo travelers United States of America, April 13, 2014
Great space to relax

Location was great
9.3
My stay at the City Hotel was very nice. The hotel was clean and well equipped with all the essential items for my comfort.The location is superb in a beautiful area of town close to all sorts of attractions.Walking distance to the Big Bud tour stop and Nanjing rd for major shopping.The staff is friendly and very helpful and I had no problem with language.The in house restaurants are fabulous breakfast is very good with a wide variety of foods.80 RMB for all you can eat and the steak house is amazing.Overall I would say that this hotel deserves a top rating from me.
Report this review
Ai L. Business travelers Malaysia, March 27, 2014
Simple hotel

Price, location, Clean
6
Was there for business. So no high expectations. Only needed to sleep. Room was clean and neat. Restaurants are reasonable. Breakfast is simple. Location is good. Getting around in taxi. Bed is comfortable and clean. Bathroom is clean and tidy. Price is reasonable. Will stay again and recommend to friends
Report this review
Nelson J. Business travelers Philippines, January 27, 2014
Enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing.

Location, cleanliness, helpful staff.
7.7
Very satisfactory. English-speaking staff available at any time, which was crucial especially as I needed directions to move about in the city. Room service 24 hrs is always a prerequisite to me as I'm a very late eater. There's no free airport shuttle service, however. I came in via Pudong airport late in the night and it would have been great if hotel transport was readily available.
Report this review
Matthew M. Solo travelers United States of America, January 19, 2014
Great for the money

cost, location, friendly staff
7
Good hotel overall. It was cheap for how decent it was, however they charged me for room service, even though I had a "do not disturb" sign on the door. Also, isn't that included in the hotel fee anyway? Other than this, it was better than expected for the low cost. The bed was hard and somewhat cheap, but if you're not very picky it will suit you fine as a hotel.
Report this review
Al H. Couples United States of America, January 11, 2014
Won't be back

Leaving not planning to return
4
Booked stays 2 months in arrow at this hotel both via Agoda and both times the hotel had a hard time finding the reservation abd tried to force a smoking room on us
Report this review
Ronald D. Solo travelers Australia, December 22, 2013
Comfortable

Staff service, Location and Cleanliness
8.3
It was pleasant as always, could do with a bar or such on the ground floor.
Report this review
Hsu S. Business travelers Taiwan, December 13, 2013
Great trip experience

Near downtown
7.7
The only bad thing is that there is no free WiFi.
Report this review
Vincent C. Business travelers Taiwan, December 12, 2013
Quiet place

Quiet, Comfortable, good price
8
Report this review
Mariam R. Couples Venezuela, December 9, 2013
Good

Location, price and practicity
7.7
Good, very close to the shopping area and restaurants.
Report this review
Previous page 51 - 60 of 275 reviews Next page
City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05