Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

5-7 South Shanxi Rd., Xintiandi and Huaihai Rd, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 492 reviews

282 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (492)
Sort by:
Adir Z. Business travelers Israel, March 20, 2016
No air-conditioning - same temperature to all the

None
6
My last visit to the Hotel was a nightmare. Recently the hotel management have decided to save moeny and shutdown the personal air-conditioning that each room have and to provide a one temperature to all the rooms, leading to a situation that you are or too cold or sweat like crazy at night, having no sleep.
Report this review
Trishanna V. Couples United States of America, March 11, 2016
When in Rome behave like Romans
5.3
This hotel was good, but expect to have some language barriers. As tourists, many locals cannot speak or understand English. We stayed on a high floor room and the view was really nice, although the room was not even close to the picture provided on Agoda. The only concern I had was the air conditioner because we were not able to adjust the room temperature. Just to let you know, breakfast included is for ONLY ONE PERSON (you must pay extra), but definitely worth paying for.
Report this review
Jane C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 10, 2016
reasonable price at good location

1. near shopping centre
8.7
Report this review
Elena M. Couples China, February 10, 2016
really nice staff, great location

location, staff
5.7
Report this review
Hyunjin K. Solo travelers South Korea, February 9, 2016
reasonable price, good breakfast, nice staff
5.3
I'd like to recommend this hotel for the reason of reasonable price consideing room condition and good breakfast. Staffs were also nice whenever I needed their help.
Report this review
Ricces C. Couples Singapore, November 22, 2015
na
4.3
poor
Report this review
Hilda C. Business travelers Hong Kong, November 21, 2015
Comfortable and convenient

Quite nice
9.7
The door of the bathroom cannot be closed properly
Report this review
Lee Y. Business travelers Malaysia, November 9, 2015
business trip, overall ok

location, service
5.3
Food not really nice but Service is good. Wifi available but extra charges for deluxe room, max 3 devices. No VPN. Breakfast included for 1 really mean for one person.
Report this review
Leow S. Business travelers Malaysia, November 9, 2015
Clean and near to the Exhibition Center
5.7
Walking distance to the Shanghai Exhibition Center.
Report this review
Miguel C. Couples United States of America, November 4, 2015
Good Location, Clean Room, Wifi Not Included

Location, Room, Breakfast
8.3
The hotel is in a very good location near shopping and different food choices. Subway is about 10 min walk. The only thing to watch for when booking is the Wifi. I was almost certain that when I booked my Deluxe room that the Wifi was included, but when I got there they said it was not. I had to pay additional $60 RMB per day. Apparently there is another Deluxe that is about $10 USD more and that one seems to have Wifi included. Click on the Room features to make sure Wifi is included or call the Agoda agent to verify. Breakfast for 1 person is included with $50 RMB for additional person is reasonable. Breakfast buffet is good with lots of variety.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 282 reviews Next page
City Hotel ShanghaiCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - SuperiorCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - Superior City Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BathroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - ReceptionCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeCity Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Business CenterCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - Swimming PoolCity Hotel Shanghai - Fitness RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantCity Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - BallroomCity Hotel Shanghai - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08