My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

City Hotel

193-195 Clarence Street, Sydney City, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

City Hotel Sydney - Bathroom City Hotel Sydney - Guest Room City Hotel Sydney - Hotel Exterior City Hotel Sydney - Guest Room City Hotel Sydney - Guest Room City Hotel Sydney - Reception City Hotel Sydney - Family Sweet Room City Hotel Sydney - Queen premium Room City Hotel Sydney - Queen Premium City Hotel Sydney - Queen Standard City Hotel Sydney - Twin Premium City Hotel Sydney - Single Standard City Hotel Sydney - Ensuite Bathroom City Hotel Sydney - Ensuite Bathroom Amenities City Hotel Sydney - Ensuite Bathroom City Hotel Sydney - Living Room
City Hotel Sydney - Kitchen and Living Room City Hotel Sydney - Entrance City Hotel Sydney - Staff City Hotel Sydney - Hotel Exterior City Hotel Sydney - Exterior
Hotel Area: Sydney City Number of Rooms: 52

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
469 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (469)
Sort by:
Kristene S. Couples Australia, April 12, 2014
convenient location

easy to walk to the theatre, comfortable, clean
8.3
the worst thing was they advertised there was parking available. This is not true. the hotel is just a doorway onto the footpath, so no where to leave your car on the busy street while you go in to book in. They said they only had 4 parking spots allocated for customers in a nearby parking station for $35 a night each. But we didn't know this. We had to drive around, find a parking station, park, then walk back to the hotel with our bags to book in. Parking then cost us an extra $81 for the night, making the night much more expensive than expected.
Helene P. Families with older children Australia, April 10, 2014
Comfortable and suited our needs

Location
7
Comfortable, staff were helpful.
Vicki C. Business travelers Australia, April 8, 2014
Great location , not very clean

Location Location Location
4.7
Dale M. Business travelers Australia, April 6, 2014
Convenient hotel with friendly staff ...

location, staff & price
8.3
The hotel is a quaint inner city hotel a great place to stay, I had a standard single, not big but adequate the staff were happy and helpful .. I would stay there again ..
Michael L. Families with young children Malaysia, April 4, 2014
good location

good location and close to major tourism spots
7
Value for money
Angela A. Couples United Kingdom, April 1, 2014
It's all about LOCATION!!!

LOCATION... LOCATION... LOCATION!!!!
7
Great location. 2 blocks to Darling Harbour. 3 blocks to Pitt St Mall. 2 blocks to City Shuttle direct to Circular Quay... Staff are very nice, but speak very little English and cannot provide local information. eg local eateries, transport, etc.... Very small rooms and quite noisy at night....feels like the windows are open. I would have no trouble recommending if you are using the room as a "bed only" but would not recommend for a romantic weekend getaway or family getaway!!! For your info: visit Simon at the Fortune Village Chinese Restaurant just down the street to your right (as you walk out of the hotel) for a wonderful meal and great service!!! PJ O'Brien's for a drink and pub meal to the left on the opposite corner. Have a great massage at the Thai Royal Massage directly opposite. Would happily stay there again before our next cruise for affordability and location.
J M. Solo travelers Thailand, March 25, 2014
Cute, clean and comfortable

In the middle of the city, easy to walk everywhere, comfortable room.
9.3
The first thing I can say is that they take their reviews seriously. I saw a couple of negative reviews before going and I can say that they have fixed everything that I read. The room was pristine, the staff were professional, friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed my stay in City Hotel. If I go back to Sydney (I went for the Sydney Biennale and a concert), I will definitely book at City Hotel again for my stay.
Siti M. Families with older children Malaysia, March 24, 2014
A very enjoyable trip to Sydney.

Strategically located, clean room & walking distace to major shopping malls around the city.
6.3
Overall, our stay at the hotel was fine, except for the unfriendly attitude of the hotel staff. They were just not interested in helping & were not customer friendly at all. They don't seem to be interested to help with any problems & most of the time , they're not at the reception area. Would be a better hotel if the staff were more informative about local issues & behave more customer friendly.
Geoff W. Couples Australia, March 20, 2014
Book-in good. Book out difficult. Overnight noises

Book-in was handled well
6
Only fair value-for-money. Traffic noises all night did not provide a restful night. The reservation was made using a debit card, and this card was refused at the check-in (after the reservation correspondence stated "ONLY this card would be accepted at check-in"). The situation was overcome when we paid the $100 deposit in cash. Next morning..Only one girl on morning check-out, but she could not refund the $100 deposit until she (personally) had inspected our room. She then had to leave her desk, travel to the 6th floor, and eyeball the room...whilst we, and other guests, had to wait in the foyer for her return. A very amateurish transaction.
Adrian F. Couples Australia, March 19, 2014
Helpful Staff.

Location, polite staff, clean fresh linen.
7.3
The premium room was much smaller than we expected and the room extremely musty . The staff used an air purifier to cleanse the air,which made a slight improvement. The hotel was busy,staff very polite and efficient.Convenient hotel for a short stay. The shower was hot The tap water un-drinkable Facilities for making hot drinks in the rooms was available

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

City Hotel Sydney - ExteriorCity Hotel Sydney - BathroomCity Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCity Hotel Sydney - Hotel ExteriorCity Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCity Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCity Hotel Sydney - ReceptionCity Hotel Sydney - Family Sweet RoomCity Hotel Sydney - Queen premium RoomCity Hotel Sydney - Queen PremiumCity Hotel Sydney - Queen StandardCity Hotel Sydney - Twin PremiumCity Hotel Sydney - Single StandardCity Hotel Sydney - Ensuite BathroomCity Hotel Sydney - Ensuite Bathroom AmenitiesCity Hotel Sydney - Ensuite BathroomCity Hotel Sydney - Living RoomCity Hotel Sydney - Kitchen and Living RoomCity Hotel Sydney - EntranceCity Hotel Sydney - StaffCity Hotel Sydney - Hotel ExteriorCity Hotel Sydney - Exterior

Customer Reviews - City Hotel, Sydney

AS-AGWEB-3C04