arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 141 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 141 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8.7 Lance K.
United States
June 30, 2015
Great location
Location is central to most things downtown, bed was very comfortable, foods and beverages were outstanding.
Very nice accommodations and centrally located in downtown. I would stay there again if I stayed in SF.

8.7 Tugba B.
Turkey
May 28, 2015
Staff and design hard to beat, location is superb
Staff, atmosphere and beds
Everything is/was amazing. As soon as i walked in, was taken by surprise. The atmosphere at the lobby area is just so cool. Fireplace is a nice touch, love the dark colours and almost dark ambiance. Our room was huge, beds are one of the bests ever (mind you i travel a lot and know many hotel beds, these are real good) loved the big windows allowing lotsa day light, lilac colour, mirrors and lamps all are amazing. My brother thought bathroom was worn out and too tiny compared to size of our room, i personally didnt mind neither the size nor the conditions BUT the walls??? The walls are a joke! Paper thin even thinner than this if possible! Our room was next to service elevator, lotsa distruption to sleep everytime in use basically, and next door u hear everything if they cough, sneeze, flush that is how thin the walls are! I'll still say i'd stay there again regardless, staff is one big reason and yes Stark always been one of my faves and yes i love the design and location was too convenient as we shopped till we drop, could do quick stop overs for a quick rest and go back to shop more. Look over the walls and am sure u wont regret your stay.

6.7 SYLVIA L.
Australia
September 12, 2014
The hotel rooms and beds are clean.
Comfort of the bed, lighting, and cleanliness. And the bellman are all quite friendly and helpful.
My stay at Clift was acceptable with an overall rating of 7.8. But our arrival night to check-in was of bad experience. First, we couldn't park in front of the hotel to unload our luggages due to cars parked and double lane parked already and had to park beyond the intersection. The front desk counter lady was not friendly nor helpful when we found out our requested 2 rooms were not available and that we had to change our rooms again the next day. When we complained, the front desk lady simply repeated, "Well, it's just how it is now." Just imagine, we were all exhausted when we got back from Napa, been outside the whole day and can't wait to relax and rest in our desired rooms when we arrived to check-in at midnight. So we decided we should give it a call and complaine to someone in charge after we got into the rooms assigned, hoping we can somehow get our room type instead of hecticly change our rooms again the next day. The man was also with bad attitude and instead of trying to find ways to calm us down, he too, used an unfriendly tone and was just telling us that the room type booked is not guaranteed until check-in and at the time what we had is just what the hotel could provide. I went to check my Agoda booking details and really did find a disclaimer of securing room type of our booking until check-in. This gave us both bad impression on our first use of Agoda and first time staying at Clift such that we do not wish to use the Agoda or stay at Clift unless otherwise because during the trip to the US we also used this other travel website to book our other hotels and experiences of using that booking site and staying at those different hotels were all very satisfying.

10 Martin C.
Indonesia
September 03, 2014
Nice Hotel in San Francisco
Location, Cleanliness, Spacious
I attended a conference in San Francisco. I picked this hotel because of the location. Surprisingly, besides the location the room is very clean and quite spacious. Good sized bed and free internet at lobby are another plus points for me. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay near San Francisco city center. Thank you.

8 Laura C.
United Kingdom
August 18, 2014
Good hotel and location
Friendly staff, nice room and good location

8.7 Ferdian W.
Indonesia
July 08, 2014
A nice boutique hotel experience
Location, Design, Cleanliness
Location is the key - being close to Union Square where I could find places for shopping and eating was a very plus point. This hotel also features boutique feels with nice design (I love the mirrors), although the room was no really big. Another plus point was good selections of bathroom products; however, they missed to provide other simple things such as in-room slippers, coffee/tea maker (some hotels provide Nespresso coffee machine and free capsules), and the most important one they have no free in-room wifi connection while most hotels provide for free.

8.3 Gail N.
Singapore
June 30, 2014
Pleasant hotel, well designed, good staff
Location, friendly staff, clean chic room design
I had a really pleasant stay here- didn't stay for long since we only needed it for 1 day, but i'd highly recommend this hotel for travelers to SF wanting a fuss free and comfortable stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel made shopping super convenient, and the room was tastefully designed. Overall i really enjoyed the decor of the place.

10 Ming C.
United States
June 18, 2014
just fantastic
style,comfort,relax

8.7 peter M.
United States
June 05, 2014
real nice and relaxing and comfortable
staff Room location
it was very satisfactory and will be back. everything but the restaurant Was Great.

5.7 Sarah F.
United States
May 26, 2014
Short
Location , staff
I am not happy of my stay. Won't recommended to others.