Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 37 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 37 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Samuel F.
United Kingdom
March 05, 2013
Beautiful hotel with fantastic laid back atmospher
Location, atmosphere, bathrooms!
Really pretty and peaceful with nice beach. The food is a little pricey but fantastic and the service is superb. Rooms are very nice and bathrooms very exciting! Perhaps a bit expensive but is is a small place and is a very relaxing place to stay.

Hameed I.
Sri Lanka
February 20, 2013
lovely location, very polite and prompt service
excellent lay out for out door relaxation
Had an excellent out door relaxation, not much of disturbance from out side world, excellent garden lay out...out door bathroom was an new experience, enjoyed it verymuch

Maria R.
Argentina
February 19, 2013
Super relaxing & great view!
Loved the view, the palm garden, the bathroom and the non schedule to have breakfast!
It is a very charming, secluded, relaxing, small and very private hotel. It is super clean and neat. It has a beautifuly manicured palm garden that exits at the beach. The rooms are nice size and very comfortable but the bathroom is the pearl of the treasure. To be able to have a shower watching the stars and listening to the waves in your oun private space was a great experience. Fernando, the owner, will pay personal attention to make anything available and possible. We had a super pleasent and relaxing stay. A bravo for the cook, too! We felt very welcome and at home. We couldn't ask for more!! Curt & Paula

patricia A.
United Kingdom
February 17, 2013
locaion not good the beach sloping, not clean.
trying to be boutique but failed.
We booked this hotel for 7 nights and stayed 1. The room was large round concrete with a large concrete bed which was clean and well presanted, but not practical. The room had a drift wood coffee table and 2 chairs and old dresser with shelves no where to hang any thing. The bathroom was out side the room open air the owner seem to think this was a good feature, the bath was concrete with a spout for the shower, it look unusual and was totally impractical for us, The room had a strong smell of drying out concrete. The Garden area was laid out with odd seating and you can walk out onto the beach which is not clean. The food was all right but the most expensive we had paid on our 3week stay in Sri Lanca, This hotel is over priced suroundings not good.

Alicia B.
United Kingdom
January 22, 2013
A little paradise
Great service, great food, lovely rooms and beautiful garden
One of our favourite places we stayed! Coco Villa is nicely tucked away, a little haven in Beruwala. Our room was spacious and airy with a lovely bathroom and walk in shower. We liked th attention to detail such as petals arranged on the bed when we arrived, and the lovely spice scent that had been sprayed in the room. We were immediately made to feel at home by Sumal and his family. The garden is lovely with sun loungers, hammocks swinging between the palm trees and four poster beds down by the beach. Great place to relax and laze around. The beach is pretty much private and peaceful with calm waves so good for swimming. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a huge variety of fresh fruit and food to choose from. The dinner menu has quite a lot of choice and we enjoyed Sri Lankan and Western dishes. One evening Sumal provided entertainment in the form of a snake charmer, which was very enjoyable to watch. He speaks very good English and German, running a very professional hotel whilst still making his guests feel at home

Premal P.
India
January 16, 2013
Great Place with wonderful service.
V.good location and neat ambience
One should give this hotel a try. The place is v.decent and located in a peaceful ambience. The food is also good worth a try. Overall it is recommended for travellers with a medium ranged budget.

Philip C.
United Kingdom
December 31, 2012
service, beach
service, beach
stayed for 2 nights at Coco Villa and it immediately offered a lot. Great room, well prepared with flower petals on the bed and a welcome king coconut drink. The manager was helpful and clearly dedicated to his vision of the kind of stay that a Coco Villa traveller would want. Only points are to maybe get the basics right. These incluse shower not providing hot water, in fact not much water at all. Outside bath and shower. The bath would take our 2 day stay to fill up with the trickle of water that came out. Also if there is a tv in the room, it needs a subscription to provide a service, small point in such a beautiful area, but still. Watch the bill as food and drinks are expensive. We sent as much on 2 meals and some drinks at Coco Villa as the previous 10 days accommodation.

Miranda R.
Slovenia
July 15, 2012
Lovely hotel with family atmosphere
beautiful garden and the beach
We had three nights in this resort where we feel at home. It was really relaxing and peaceful.

Azriena R.
Singapore
March 09, 2012
A precious little hideway, gem of a find!
Private, lush, contemporary, sea at your doorstep + excellent service.
very tempted to not write a review because we'd selfishly like to keep this to ourselves, cocovilla is definitely gem of a boutique holiday resort. nestled in the quiet fishing village of beruwala with its friendly people, this is definitely the spot if you want a quiet break with sun, sea and lots of green at your doorstep. beautifully and creatively decorated, with a wonderful team of people, the owner sumar and his right-hand man sampat make sure you are always looked after. service is personal without being overbearing. we start the day with a wonderful healthy breakfast, swim for hours in the sea, dry up on the hammocks/ sun loungers/ outdoor beds on its grounds, have a great home cooked lunch and then another swim while watching the sun slip of the horizon.

Christopher H.
United Kingdom
February 18, 2012
A small oasis with a big welcome.
Great welcome, lovely garden and beach.
after a couple of frantic days in colombo and a journey along the coast that involved taxi, train and tuk-tuk, our four night stay at coco villa was a very welcome relief! tucked away from the main tourist beat this is a small, artfully designed and decorated oasis with a big welcome. sumal, his family and staff work hard maintaining the building and its beautiful garden and at keeping the beachfront spotlessly clean and clear of rubbish. locals and a few tourists swim here and it seems quite safe. afterwards, there are loungers, beds and hammocks strung in the shade of palm trees to relax on. if you want a room with 'wow!' factor, the penthouse suite should soon be finished, but our standard room was more than good enough for us. a couple of grumbles: all that is advertised is not available, such as hair dryers, and our television did not work (no real problem for us, but why have the equipment in rooms if it cannot be used?). neither are there a bar and restaurant as such: drinks are brought out to order and there's a nightly buffet or barbecue for all guests served on the veranda. while the food is good and well cooked, it caters for european tastes and is nothing like as spiced as we'd wanted. it was also priced to hotel levels and the food and drinks bill at the end of our stay came as a bit of a shock! that said, we had a great and relaxing break here and would thoroughly recommend it. we'll certainly look at staying again if back this way in future.