Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 667 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 5.8

PRAMOD J. from India
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2016
Very bad experience
I never had this kind of experience since I using Agoda almost 8 years now. Have given the room at 3am (after I reached hotel), and surprisingly to find another Couple already in bed in compromising situation...when the security person opened the door or me for checking in. Then again have given another room for me. And its so old dirty kind of room. I didn't wanted to complain because it's already 3am. For breakfast, I found fruits full with the bees and mosquito. Not covered even. When I complained, then I have given a fresh cut fruits from inside the kitchen. Very old hotel . Although the location is the best. Just opp WTC. Maybe this is the reason I also trapped to booked this hotel.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

ONG L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2016
good location
good location, many restaurants nearby, easy to get railway station and bus stations.
Reviewed June 12, 2016

Dang B. from Vietnam
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Staffs are helpful.
Staffs are helpful but not really friendly. Almost facilities are old. Feeling this hotel is a little bit expensive if compared with the quality that they are providing but I have no option. Maybe I will book this hotel again next time.
Reviewed June 05, 2016

Lana M. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in May 2016
Toilet Smells Bad
I hope they will do something about the urine smell of the toilet in our room.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Gautam G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016
Home away from Home
Fantastic stay. Will stay again when visiting Colombo.
Reviewed May 05, 2016

carol F. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Good Value, clean hotel, with friendly staff
I stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. The View from my room was the World Trade Centre Tower, which was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The Hotel is next to the Old Dutch Hospital Shopping Center.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Gerry B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
Good central location
We chose this hotel mainly for its excellent location close to the bus and train stations of central Colombo. Having said that, it is a pleasant hotel with helpful staff and great views from the rooftop bar/restaurant. Good value for money and close to restaurants and other facilities.
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Ralph R. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Colombo City First Visit
TV reception was terrible, shower curtain was old and dirty looking, location was not the best but not bad in that it was not close to any nightlife.
Reviewed April 13, 2016

Stacey S. from Canada
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2016
Good place if you're transiting through Colombo
The City Hotel is well located for checking out the downtown. It's right beside the Dutch Hospital which is great for some shopping for Sri Lanka gifts and has some yummy restaurants. The rooms themselves are fine. Nothing special, but clean and with working AC. We left before breakfast, so can't speak to that. We did have music that was being piped into the room. We figured we could hear a neighbours TV, but when we called the office to ask if there was music being played in our room is stopped immediately. A first for me! I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two, but it was an easy stopover for a night on our way home.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Aaron W. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed one night in March 2016
The Colombo City Hotel travel desk is run by thieves
A sign in reception warns customers that touts operate outside the hotel and guests should use the travel desk who promptly tried to rip me off. He first quoted me 20,000rs and after a heated discussion he finally relented and booked me a "meter" taxi at 70rs a km ( i later found our the legal level is 50rs a km), or about 15,000rs for the journey south. The "meter" turned out to be nothing of the sort and was simply a limo with the milometer set to zero. To cut a long story short I got out of the taxi and negotiated directly with a driver - total cost 8000rs. Added to that while the hotel has a shambolic charm its priced at about twice its worth.
Reviewed March 23, 2016