Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Colon Hotel

Avenida Catedral, 7, Gotic, Barcelona, Spain 08002

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 66 reviews

32 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (66)
Sort by:
Leah B. Solo travelers United States of America, June 16, 2015
Beautiful room, great location, expensive food

location, view from the terrace, room with private terrace
9
Lovely, luxurious, and an amazing location.
Report this review
Chee K. Families with older children Malaysia, March 22, 2015
Bad, Worst, Lousiest Hotel I ever stay in my life
3
One word : Bad !!! Receptionist Super Rude, Bad Manner, Not helpful Very very very bad experience. I used Agoda for years. Staying more than 30 good hotels just for the past one year. But never encounter such a bad rude Receptionist in my life. I just pray the General Manager of The Colon Hotel Barcelona will read my honest review about his staff. I checked in on 21st March 2015 for a one night stay. We arrive at the hotel at 11pm. We just arrive from Madrid. After all we gonna stay for few hours only. Once I check in I inform the front desk guy he is an old man and he claimed to be the Duty Manager at that time. I requested for an extra bed because one of my friend are following us to watch the El-Clasico match on the next day. The rude front desk guy straight away turn his face and say NO. And continue say NO NO NO. He says "You book for a 2 persons room and you get 2 persons room !!!" Of course I knew it. In fact I try to add additional one person a week before through Agoda "Special Request" button in my confirmation email but the function failed and I can't perform the request. I try to explain to Feran but without listening to me he interrupted and raise his voice and says "we have got telephone number and you can call us 24 hours !!!". He is super rude. In my mind I only know hotel staff is always there to help us to solve our problem. If he don't have extra bed then at least help us to find another hotel. But he didn't . He is not there to help at all. I felt the way he talk like he's a complete to Asian. Then I request to see his superior and he turn me down. Now he says he is the receptionist only and his manager only comes to work the next morning. With no help from them we walk out to find another hotel nearby.The staff says no rooms and U know what??? Without my request he offer to help me to find another hotel. He make phone call, browse website n found us Hotel nearby.
Report this review
David N. Couples United Kingdom, March 13, 2015
Very satisfied

Location
8.7
Report this review
Barry H. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2015
25 anniversary stay

Location , staff very friendly ,great hotel
10
This was our second stay at this amazing hotel. We booked a room on floor 6 with a terrace for our 25 th wedding anniversary on the 13th feb until 16 th feb 2015. on arrival we were given room 609 which is a corner room on the side off the hotel with a very large terrace with potted plants ,trees and sun loungers and patio furniture , but the jewel in the crown was the amazing views of the cathedral and the sky line of barcelona . A big thank you to all the amazing staff for our special stay 5 star stay
Report this review
Eric S. Couples United Kingdom, January 15, 2015
As always an excellent stay at the Colon

Location,service,cleanliness
8
we always stay at the Colon when in Barcelona. It is in a great location and is a good place to stay at a reasonable cost
Report this review
Olga K. Couples United States of America, October 11, 2014
Perfect location, right across from the cathedral

Terrace overlooking the cathedral plaza, quality of food served in-house, hear and see the plaza singers and entertainers from your room and terrace
10
Fabulous! This place was perfect, start to finish.
Report this review
Ronald F. Families with young children Ireland, June 15, 2014
A generaly pleasant experience

Staff, location
9
Report this review
Leslie C. Couples Singapore, June 7, 2014
Great view of the Catedral!

View, location, staff
8.7
Report this review
Alina C. Couples United States of America, May 25, 2014
Great location and surprisingly quiet!

Location, location, location
9.3
Our stay was superb! The first room they took us to was only sub-par. The bellman called the front desk, and lucky for us there was another room available that was better - updated/upgraded. The location is excellent - we would walk or ride the metro to do some sightseeing or shopping, and we could easily pop into the hotel to drop things off or take a little break in the middle of our outing! There was wonderful activity in the square - music and impromptu dancing - but it was always quiet in our room. The only downside... the internet was intermittent at best. Overall, a truly lovely stay!
Report this review
Harry P. Couples United States of America, May 13, 2014
Beautiful, outstanding location, very very dusty

Location, cathedral view balcony rooms
7.7
Report this review
1 - 10 of 32 reviews Next page
Colon Hotel BarcelonaColon Hotel Barcelona - ExteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - FacilitiesColon Hotel Barcelona - FacilitiesColon Hotel Barcelona - FacilitiesColon Hotel Barcelona - InteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - InteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - Guest RoomColon Hotel Barcelona - Guest RoomColon Hotel Barcelona - Room terrace with Cathedral viewColon Hotel Barcelona - 6th floor room terrace Colon Hotel Barcelona - 6th floor room terraceColon Hotel Barcelona - Rooftop Spa terraceColon Hotel Barcelona - Rooftop Spa terraceColon Hotel Barcelona - Vitality poolColon Hotel Barcelona - Rooftop Spa terraceColon Hotel Barcelona - Spa areaColon Hotel Barcelona - Spa areaColon Hotel Barcelona - Steam roomColon Hotel Barcelona - SaunaColon Hotel Barcelona - Massage CabinColon Hotel Barcelona - breakfast buffetColon Hotel Barcelona - InteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - RestaurantColon Hotel Barcelona - RestaurantColon Hotel Barcelona - RestaurantColon Hotel Barcelona - InteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - ExteriorColon Hotel Barcelona - Meeting RoomColon Hotel Barcelona - HallColon Hotel Barcelona - View


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03