Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 131 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 131 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.2
Sort by

Yong-Seon S.
South Korea
November 08, 2015
No warm water
location, view, history
It is old and historic hotel, so I understand some rustic parts and old fashioned facility. It can be even attractive. But I did not have warm shower. I reported it to front desk, but I did not get any attention at all. My request was ignored. The staffs are young and not-professional. I have no idea why the hotel runs it in such terrible way. Waste the great location of the place.

Kathryn A.
United States
July 28, 2015
Bummed!
Location
I was VERY disappointed. My room was nothing as advertised. I was not allowed to check in when I arrived even with storing my bags until my room was ready. I was told to wait until 3:00 PM. When I was given my room , there was not enough water pressure to take a bath or shower and no hot water. The safe was not working and I couldn't store valuables. My second room was smaller than promised and no wash cloths available. There was also no safe for storing valuables. I will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

surjeet S.
India
June 11, 2015
It's good location for downtown to stay
Good location, you don't need taxi to go any where in city , and good views , and Main Street near beach, and metro station is in walking distance all shopping mall and restaurants is near
It's was good stayed but not very good because I lost my iPhone charger before to Coming house keeping be care full to leave your important stuff and money I don't preferred you. Because there are not responsible after if You lost something even the hotel staff don't want talk with you.

Vong I.
Portugal
May 14, 2015
Better than my expectation
Good location, close to Museum campus, easy access by CTA
Easy access to and from O’hare airport by Metro blue line, nice housekeeping staff.

Raymond R.
United States
February 17, 2015
a
location location location

Kevin S.
United States
February 14, 2015
Shockingly bad.
Location.
Very disappointed. Too many issues to go into and, frankly, don't want to waste my time. I want to forget my stay at the hotel as quickly as possible and do not want to relive the horror.

Steven J.
United States
February 08, 2015
One night getaway
Nice corner room, location, price

Michael T.
United States
January 31, 2015
Old needing refurbishing but a good value
Hotel staff, Location, & Price
The rooms and the hallways really needed refurbishing, that said, it was pretty clean and a good value for downtown Chicago. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff members could have easily been employed at a much more expensive hotel!

Catherine R.
Canada
January 30, 2015
Great value and location!
The location of this hotel can't be beat! Right on Michigan Ave in the South Loop, with access to the Museum Campus, downtown and the L trains, and all for less than $100 per night!
I accompanied my husband while he was at a conference for 6 days. The hotel is an old, elegant dame. Nothing modern here, and a bit disheveled, but clean, friendly and clos to everything Chicago has to offer. Clean and very comfortable. We were on the 14th (top) floor with a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan and the 3 windows open for some fresh air...lovely! I would say that my only slight disappointment is the water pressure; could definitely use improvement.. Overall, another great stay!

Sarah E.
United States
January 28, 2015
Wanted more
Large room,mcomfortable bed, clean bathroom
Restaurant was a mess evening of 1/25; new chef and menu but very brisk Staff very kind and courteous but also overwhelmed. Management stepped in but little late To their credit, entire meal was comped I want the best for this hotel but vast areas empty and feels bit unsafe for solo traveler