or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Copacabana Palace Hotel

Avenida Atlantica 1702, Copacabana / Leme, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Copacabana / Leme Number of Rooms: 243

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.5

based on
14 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
9.0
All reviews (14)
Sort by:
Nofal S. Couples United Arab Emirates, June 13, 2013
amazing stay

luxury, clean, nice staff
9
Florent L. Couples France, March 3, 2013
Great hotel - not worth the price -

Copacabana, history
6.7
Copacabana Palace, have been there twice. Always the same feeling. Good due to its history and location but not worth the price at all. Service not aligned with a 5* hotel Rooms have been refurnished - but still disappointing Avenue view = wall view
Debora C. Couples Brazil, April 3, 2011
Excelent hotel with very comfortable room.

Beach service and hospitality
9
we really enjoy our stay. lovely service, great swimming pool.the beach service is nice too.
Marcos M. Couples Brazil, October 12, 2010
excelente expirence

Location ,service and facilites
9.7
This is a tradition excelente hotel the famous pool is nice the food is excelente and service prescise
Hotel Feature Tip: Dont miss the pool and the breakfast with amazing brazilian fruits
Juan G. Business travelers Spain, March 30, 2010
old lady

Charming but not worth of the money Good swiming pool with great service
6
I had to wait to get my room later than the checking time. I asked for a double bed and I found a two bed room. I had to wait more than 30 minutes until someone came to join the two beds. Only the most expensive rooms have views of Copacabana, so don't expect any view from regular rooms or from the swimming pool.
Cyrus U. Couples United Kingdom, December 17, 2009
Copacabana Palace Hotel, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

The staff
8.7
Don’t think twice about going to Rio, we never felt threatened or in any danger, on the contrary the people were the sweetest, most helpful you could hope to encounter. By booking with Agoda we saved a fortune compared with the hotels own website or travel agent prices and breakfast was included. (With others it would have been £50 per day for the two of us.) Copacobana palace is one of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’ and part of the Orient Express group and although we booked a ‘standard’ grade room and therefore expected a view of the bins they did give us some sort of ‘upgrade.’ The room was hardly plush and not ‘posh’ as we had wanted. The only outstanding feature of the room was the remote controlled T.V. rising out of a unit at the foot of the bed, a comical 80’s throwback. There was limited hanging space, with no door in the huge bathroom so the damp air from the shower or bath got to all your clothes. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, a big buffet but not worth £50. We tried both the restaurants, the Pergula and the Cipriani. In the Pregula there wasn’t a great choice, as vegetarians we ended up with omelette and chips, and it was vastly over priced. The Cipriani did live up to expectations, the setting was beautiful and the staff were lovely. One, risotto, dish was very good but the other was a lifeless pasta parcel stuffed with tasteless mashed potato and cheese, a let down. The waiters were attentive and unobtrusive. The birthday celebration: ‘Happy Birthday’ on the piano with the arrival of a small cake and candle was just the right side of 'cringey.' It might have the largest pool in Rio and be available to guests 24 hours but it was not an attractive place to sit. All the staff were friendly but managed not to hover obviously waiting for tips although at breakfast once guests left their tables there was a race amongst the waiters to get to the table first hunting for cash.
Steven M. Couples United Kingdom, October 18, 2009
Not for my caste

Very clean. Hugely ornate. Good food for breakfast. Big, clean swimming pools. Great facilities. Multi lingual staff. Staff ready to answer questions and help.
8.3
I took my girlfriend here as part of a surprise and elaborate way to propose. Unfortunately, she turned me down, but we stayed at the hotel regardless. I booked a car to pick us up at the airport and to take us to the hotel in style. The driver spoke great English, but kept pushing for us to try and upsell and get us to get him to drive us everywhere for our entire stay. This was quite frustrating considering how expensive the cab ride was anyway and despite me making it clear I didn't want to discuss the cost en route, the driver still pressured us to pay up front and was very open about talking about how much the journey was to cost. The hotel staff were helpful when we arrived, but although told a lot of information up front about what the hotel had to provide. We had an upgrade apparently, but the room looked as I was lead to expect from the website. Breakfast was very nice, though not to be blown away with compared to many other premium hotels. The staff were all multi lingual and helpful to bring you the food you wanted. The facilities we did see, including the pool, were great. The pool was overlooked one side by an old accommodation block which was surprising, but on the whole you couldn't complain. Not being used to quite this level of premium service, I did find the hotel quite intimidating and not a lot of the dos and dont's were made very clear by staff, though this may just be my own naivety.
Hotel Feature Tip: Ask for a yellow cab at reception when going anywhere for cheaper rates
Peter R. Solo travelers Brazil, August 21, 2008
Great,but could have been better

Good hotel, with a nice view and an interesting history
9
I had written a longer review, but when I tried to mail it, got a message that time has expired, so this one will be shorter. I was given a better room than I have asked for, with a living room, but the air conditioning was not working properly so I could not sleep well.It is true that I was offered to change rooms , but it was too late and I was too tired to do that.The air conditioning was working at it´s coolest and could not be made to make the room a little warmer.Extra services as in the spa, are just as expensive as the room itself. It was worth because of the history of this hotel,which again is in good shape after years of decadence.
Rainer S. Solo travelers Germany, October 4, 2010
Traditionshotel in Bestlage

Èmpfang, Business-Center, Freundlichkeit des Personals, Fruehstuecksbuffet
8.7
freundlicher und professioneller Empfang, upgrading ohne Diskussion und Preisaufschlag
Sandra M. Groups Germany, August 15, 2010
First Class Hotel

Lage, Frühstück, Restaurantservice
7.7
Das Hotel verfügt augenscheinlich über eine große Tradition. Das ist es dann aber auch schon. Die Zimmer sind zu klein und überholungswürdig, besonders die Bäder, jedoch sehr sauber. Die Fernseher dürften ihren 15 Geburtstag erreicht haben. Die Teppiche sind eines 5 Sterne-Hauses unwürdig. Frühstück für brasilianische Verhältnisse sehr gut. Service ebenso.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Customer Reviews - Copacabana Palace Hotel, Rio De Janeiro

AS-AGWEB-3B01