Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 44 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 4.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for money 6.0
  • Food/Dining 5.1
Sort by

Sean M. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2010
Happy
Nice hotel the pool is really nice which is open til 2200hrs I think.
Not in center of Vientine
The room was clean, good size and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was very good too except at day time while it was hot the cold water was hot, it was cold in the morning (lag those pipes). The swimming pool was nice with some good effects like the fountain and lighting in the evening. The food too was good and reasonably priced (we liked the Korean food the most). There was a computer room next to reception with Internet which was free to use.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

James R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010
Cosmo Hotel. Vientaine
Well furnished room, good plumbing
10 km outside Vientiane No shade at swimming pool No bar or proper restaurant menu Very strong nauseating food smells in the lobby area.
This is the only hotel ever in over 60 countries that we have paid in advance for 3 nights and walked out after one. Unless you want to experience a vast, empty, communist-Russia style place, avoid this hotel like the plague.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

meor R. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
cosmo hotel is good to stay & nice to feel.
the strategic location also peace & calm environment make my holiday seem likes spending in country site. definately relax and enjoyed for two days stayed completely away from busy city live.
it quite difficult to comunicate b'cos most of the staffs hardly converse in english.therefore, its very limited comunication taken.
overall i enjoyed my stayed in cosmo hotel.the room , facilities & hospitality of the host's staffs made us comfortable as if we never leave our home.
Reviewed January 06, 2010

Ann G. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Nice staff, Clean and comfortable hotel
Clean and large rooms with TV and AC. Efficient staff and excellent breakfast included.
It was just a bit far away from the downtown.
We had very comfortable rooms and the pool was refreshing and clean. The hotel was not crowded and the staff helped us find our way around Vientiane. The breakfast that was included in our stay had some great options. The only problem was that the hotel was a bit far away from the tourist area of town.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

GOH H. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2009
Review
room are clean
Breakfast-no viarieties
Overall-good, staffs are friendly and accomodating the chambermaids should learn simple english so that they can communicate with the hotel guests.Envirnoment is clean and quiet. Breakfast has not much choices daily. The Korean restaurant needs to improve as the california rolls we order is mushy and the soup is not pipping hot enough. TV programs preferable with english subtitles for their native programs.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Michael W. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in November 2009
Reasonable but not great
- rooms in good condition - not too expensive - near to NUL university
- cold and very empty - not much charm - outside of town - you need a ride each time you go downtown or back
I went to the Cosmo Hotel in Vientiane, Laos for a t4-days trip. The selection was based on some internet reviews, the price of the rooms, a recommendation by a friend and the proximity to NUL university. My impression from the place is twofold: On the one hand the rooms are clean, have TV and WLAN (which has to be paid extra, though!), on the other hand I felt like the only person in the hotel, which has not much charm and seems very cold to me. The staff was attentive, but sometime lacked the right skills and the breakfast was ... not very nutritious and had no quality. One has also to keep in mind that the distance from the center will add at least $10-12 per day to make a taxi/tuk-tuk trip downtown and back.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Pedro L. from Norway
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2009
Cosmo Hotel CCC, Vientiane
Free internet services in the reception (fast connection)
Rooms not cleaned properly
The hotel is worn down and needs a thorough maintenance job. Our room was not cleaned properly when we arrived. As a proof of this there were condoms (unused!) left by previous hotel guests in the room which had not been taken away by the room maids. The bathroom was dirty and there were huge amounts of dust hanging down from the ceiling inside the room. The pool in itself was nice, but the pool area lacked sunbeds (only chairs available) and there were nobody present to man the pool bar, which was closed, and to hand out towels. We had to ask for towels in the reception as the cleaning lady did not speak English well enough to understand what we were asking for. The hotel restaurant is expensive and the food is bad. You get much better food by the river side in Vientiane city center. The hotel is located far outside the city (approx. 8 kilometers) and a tuk tuk ride cost around USD 5-7 depending. However, we do not complain about the location as we deliberately chose to stay outside the city to have some relaxation by the pool.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Marianne S. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in December 2008
korean style
korean food, big rooms, nice swimming pool
7 km far from the centre, no desk chairs at the pool ...
the stuff was very friendly, the breakfast was very special and good. the prices were normal. the hotel is a famous place for wedding parties and other big family parties in Vientiane. the lobby was great in combination from traditional and modern style. during our stay, there were only 5 people in this very big hotel.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Paul S. from Austria
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2008
Cosmo Hotel---Vientiane
Absolutely nothing----the most disgusting and awful 3star!!!! Hotel in Laos...
Everything: poor rooms ,big but dirty,helpless staff,pool a dirty mess, no deckchairs, gardeners desinfect the whole area without warning, main entrance bombastic, but closed and dirty..... a ridiculous place====I can understand, we are the only guests
The Cosmo is a bombastic, huge complex with no positive "life" in it. A poor relic from a stately enterprise, poor management, helpless staff, dirty conditions, Agoda should`nt offer places like this, it kills your reputation--worth to pay a visit--in the negative sense--!
Reviewed January 09, 2009

JIRAWAD W. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in September 2008
Almost Excellent
New, modern, healthy, appropriate(clean) Hotel, good status.
price of the meals is too expensive , The hotel is very far away from the center of Vientiane
Reviewed January 05, 2009


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: