Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Cova Hotel

655 Ellis St., San Francisco Downtown, San Francisco (CA), United States 94109 (Show on map)

Book now!

Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Exterior Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Bathroom Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/Terrace Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Exterior Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Business Center Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Free Shuttle Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Bathroom Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Fitness Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Interior Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Restaurant Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/Terrace Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Bathroom Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Suite Kitchen
Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Interior Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Bathroom Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/Terrace Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Meeting Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary Breakfast Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary Breakfast Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary Breakfast Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary Breakfast Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Lobby Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/Terrace
Area: San Francisco Downtown Number of Rooms: 95

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.4

based on
76 reviews

56 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
5.9
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (76)
Sort by:
Steven S. Families with older children Philippines, January 15, 2016
This hotel is odd...in a bad way.

Clean room, free breakfast
4.7
Like I said, this hotel is odd. HOTEL: They have an in-house parking area, yet they will charge you $30-40/day to park there whether you're a guest or not. Very odd and a first for me but I thought, it is San Francisco and parking is never free or widely available. So, I reluctantly handed over my $30 for the overnight parking with in and out privileges. The neighborhood here is really bad. Just a few steps out the front of the building and you'll see why. CUSTOMER SERVICE: Just a few minutes into our stay at Cova Hotel and I already had a bad feeling about our stay here. Instance #1: While checking in, I noticed that we only received 2 stubs for the complimentary breakfast yet I had registered for 4 guests. When I inquired about it, the front desk employee replied back in a snarky manner explaining to me that my reservation was only for 1 person. I showed her my reservation for 4 adults. She offered no apology as she just continued along and handed us our key card claiming she didn't see that part of the reservation in her computer. Instance #2: The thermostat in our room, or floor per se, is centralized. A first I've seen in countless stays in hotels all over the world. We walk into our room after a day of touring around SF and we were greeted with a toasty room at around 70-80 degrees. It's January and pretty cold in SF, but not THAT cold. I go downstairs to inquire about it and the front desk guy nonchalantly explains that there's nothing he can do to help us since the maintenance people are out and that he can send an email. Yet, he also goes on to say that they might not be able to help. Gee, thanks a lot! CONCLUSION: Cova Hotel is one of those places that looks good on the outside but is just a nightmare. Pros -Free breakfast -Clean room Cons -Parking $$$ -Overly priced -Bad location -Horrible customer service -No control of room temperature -Slow/unreliable wi-fi
Report this review
Seoungwon P. Couples South Korea, December 7, 2015
good~!!!!!

Room condition, Staff, Value money
7.7
Report this review
Jamielyn M. Couples Philippines, November 23, 2015
Location very good, but room has no aircon!

Location is very good. It has it's own parking lot/agency. Hotel offers free shuttle to main tourist spots.
6.3
My Cova stay is good overall, with the hotel being very near Union Square and having its own parking lot (we brought a car). However, I still cannot believe their rooms don't come with airconditioning -- only a heater if weather is cold, but if not, you just have a fan. So we ended up opening the balcony door a bit so that cool fresh air can come in.
Report this review
Chomchuen F. Families with young children Thailand, August 9, 2015
Great hotel but in bad location

Friendly staffs, clean room and a lot of extra services.
8.3
The hotel is great. The room is big and clean. The staffs are very kind. However, there are many homeless around this area. We felt weird to walk around the hotel to find something to eat in the evening. When we get in the hotel, we felt safe and fine. So, those who have a car there is no problem, but we have to use public transport and have to walk in most of the time on the street in the night.
Report this review
Zhuqing D. Business travelers China, August 8, 2015
If you don't fear homeless

Staff are nice
2
I will never visit again. I am so scared to walk on the street in that neighborhood all day. During the night, there are wired people shouting outside. It is horrible.
Report this review
Megan W. Couples Singapore, June 21, 2015
Mediocre hotel.

Clean and comfy.
8.3
happy!
Report this review
Sirada T. Business travelers Thailand, March 1, 2015
convenience

easy to travel
6
good
Report this review
Lisa O. Couples United States of America, January 25, 2015
Nice Room, Terrible Location

The room was stocked with wonderful bath products, the bathroom was beautiful, and the staff was very friendly! Each situation we needed help with they obliged with immediately.
6
Well, I had high hopes despite knowing it was in the Tenderloin. I didn't think it could be that bad. It was that bad. We walked the wrong way the first night as we tried to make it to our restaurant and encountered. On the way home we ran into a homeless man peeing right in front of the hotel. The next night, we went back to our room to relax a bit before going out and there was a 20 person party in the room next store. Thank goodness they let us change rooms. I would actually like the hotel if they were in Nob Hill or really anywhere but the Tenderloin. Now it looks as if they've charged my credit card an extra $100. That is the cherry on top!
Report this review
Eric S. Families with older children United Kingdom, January 23, 2015
Very Helpful Staff made our trip

The regular free transport was so useful ...just need to plan ahead as its popular. Location is a bit of an issue with lots of homeless in the area hence the free transport!!
8.3
Enjoyable stay thanks to very good hospirality
Report this review
Stefan S. Business travelers United States of America, January 14, 2015
Decent hotel. Bad location.

Updated. Clean. Functional.
5.7
The hotel itself is fine. It has been updated, the staff was friendly and it is generally clean. However, the location leaves a lot to be desired. It is pretty deep into the Tenderloin and there are a lot of vagrants and homeless just outside the gate. There's really nothing around the hotel in terms of shops or restaurants either. I just needed a razor and there's no small shop at the front desk so I had to walk down to a corner store that had barren shelves and people were outside fighting over individual cigarettes. I got gouged at $450 a night because there was a big conference in town and one would expect a lot more at those prices.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 56 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA)Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - ExteriorCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/TerraceCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - ExteriorCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Business CenterCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Free Shuttle Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Fitness RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - InteriorCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - RestaurantCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/TerraceCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Suite Kitchen Cova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - InteriorCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/TerraceCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Meeting RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary BreakfastCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary BreakfastCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary BreakfastCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Complimentary BreakfastCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - LobbyCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Balcony/TerraceCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - LobbyCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - BathroomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - ExteriorCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest RoomCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - LobbyCova Hotel San Francisco (CA) - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02