Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.3
Based on 2340 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2340 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Sune L.
Denmark
February 23, 2013
A new 5-star resort without too many option
Nice rooms, big bathroom and kids-friendly but no garden view for garden rooms
The resort was new, and deluxe rooms are in small shared bungalows (4 rooms per house) with own entrance from path around area. Hotel features nice (but not too big) rooms with nice bathrooms - but even though they state garden view, there is no garden to be viewed? Pool is nice, and has 2- and 4-feet sections suitable for kids, but are otherwise not that kidsfriendly. There are no play facilities by pool, so bring your own toys. The ocean-front of the beach is tiny but nice, although artificial and not too big. There's room for beach volley without disturbing guests enjoying the sun and the ocean. Nice. The restaurants - well, the restaurant - has a nice buffet but is otherwise not too interesting. As the resort is located *FAR* away from Cebu city centre as well as far away from other local centres on Mactan Island, there are really no options for dining. Dine at the hotel, or go to Hilton / Shangri-La. There are no non-hotel options. Our room was advertised with space for 3 adults, but in fact there was only a double-bed. Luckily we could fit our kids in the baby cradles (even the big one), as there was no sofa or other options to tuck them in. All in all - OK if you *have* to stay at MacTan Island 1-2 nights upon arrival/departure from Cebu. But I would recommend getting away from Mactan. Go to Moalboal (White Beach) or Badian Island or something else at Cebu, to avoid the crowds. There's better beaches and more relaxed resorts to be found at much more reasonable prices.

Yolanda Y.
China
February 22, 2013
very good view and very good beach
I booked for my boss, he loved the resort very much and enjoyed every minute there.

Jungho Y.
South Korea
February 22, 2013
Little bit far from Cebu Downtown. but clean hotel
Clean and good facility
Nice with good price. Little bit expensive in restaurant but satisfied in food. Most of staffs are very kind but some staffs in recetion was terrible. Be careful when you ask something.They may upset to you. And of course you will also be upset. I asked something where is remote control or how can I pay back my deposit, they will not be kind to you.cause they did to me!!! Terrible hotel in my life!!!!!

Kathy S.
United States
February 21, 2013
Awesome resort with the most incredible service!
From the gardens/grounds to the smallest detail in the rooms the resort has it mastered! But the best feature is its staff!
We often stay in five star resorts while vacationing; however, NONE can beat the Crimson for its friendly, helpful and always available staff. From hotel manager to gardener, everyone says hello and meets you with a smile. On site restaurants are very good, asking for a unique twist and getting what you want was never a problem. As vegetarians we had a special menu to order from - food was EXCELLENT! We loved the Azure Beach Bar; ate there often!

EDGAR B.
United States
February 20, 2013
Good view but Lousy beach water to swim in
Service was good. Room and bed were clean
I paid additional $150.00 for upgrade to Villa when some people got upgraded for free. You can't swim on the beach..it was too rocky to step on and no sand other than the shore which was maintained for looks. The attendants and staff were helpful, however they were constantly calling my room if I need it cleaned or that there will be some noise next door because of a surprise birthday celebration or ring my door several times to tuck me in bed and when I did not answer the opened the door using their key at 10pm. The service and attention was quite exaggerated and got annoying. The buffet for the villa had less food and had to order from downstairs as we were separate from the other quest. The following day I insisted I stay with everyone else regardless as the food was much more downstairs vs the VIP upstairs which basically had nothing much compared to below. The Check-in and check out takes some time and needs improvement. Again the beach which I came for was a disappointment. The other cheaper hotels were better. I felt ripped off and food was expensive and not that good. Also there are no shaded area to park your car they should install a tarp or something so you won't burn with heat when you leave.

Karel D.
United States
February 19, 2013
Great Hotel
Beach, Staff
Beautiful resort and we had an amazing time. Definitely would go back again.

Hermann B.
Germany
February 19, 2013
Best rooms ever
Rooms a food perfect
Best rooms ever in this hotel but the restaurants have excelent food , but the proce for the brakfirst with 1200 pessos per person is to exensive and the service is not woerth it.

Joseph J.
Philippines
February 19, 2013
Best in Service and Accomodation
Very accomodating staff; Very curteous and alert
We extremely enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was wonderful. The rooms are excellent. The pool was magnificent and the view of the ocean was great!

Peter B.
Switzerland
February 18, 2013
Great experience
Perfect service
All in all a great hotel with a very good service performance. We never saw such a friendly and helpful staff. The only critical point was the unability of the Guest Service to reserve and book for us a ferry ticket.

Sebastian S.
Germany
February 18, 2013
Very nice hotel. Highly recommend it.
Great location, beautiful beach, nice pool!
We had a great time during the 5 days. Staff was very pleasant. Only issue was the food. Could have been of higher standard.