arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 134 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 134 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 7.7

8 Riyadi R.
Indonesia
October 02, 2015
hotel in casino. or casino in hotel?
it is a casino hotel
wanna gamble some money in Canberra, stay in this hotel is the best choice. because it is a hotel in casino or a casino in hotel. You know what I mean

6 beate W.
Germany
September 28, 2015
2 star rooms for 4 star prices
1. friendly staff 2. convenient location 3. nothing
We felt absolutely ripped off. We got a room on the 2nd floor looking at the Casino sign and the casino office building. The mattress was bad quality or worn out because both my husband and I woke up with sore backs. This has never happened before in any hotel we have stayed in Australia nor overseas! There was only one comfortable desk chair, the other window fixed window seat was uncomfortable and worn out. No table, except a fixed glass desk. there was no hotel directory in the room to find out about their facilities, no complementary biscuits, and the bathroom was old and needed urgent renovations. I have never experienced such an inferior room for that sort of money we paid. Furthermore, the inhouse restaurant only offered a buffet dinner and no other options except Hamburgers and Pizza (we do not eat that type of junk food! ) in their Bistro, and as we did not have a table nor proper seats in our room, we could not eat at the hotel at all and were forced to eat somewhere else. We were also shocked to have our coffee served in paper cups !!!!! for breakfast like in a cheap Take-away. This stay absolutely ruined my 64th birthday.Even our friends who stayed the Friday night at the same hotel were not impressed with this hotel in Canberra in comparison to other Crown Plazas in Australia.

5.7 Peter A.
Australia
September 21, 2015
five rating
Location Location location
The first night was unaccepable the oysters were way below standard and i complianed to the staff

5.7 Lily L.
China
September 08, 2015
average room and poor staff quality
Location was central which is good
The room and facility is pretty average, typical of an 4 star hotel that's on it's way to become a 3 star. Staff are poorly trained, we didn't feel like we were welcomed and treated as their guests, certainly not meeting a 4 star hotel standard. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends

6.7 Ben P.
Australia
September 05, 2015
It's a hotel for business people.
Bed, room, presentation
So many positives in this hotel. Food was great and tasty but on the expensive side for what you were getting. Room was comfortable and well presented. Bathroom was a bit dated. Brekky was really expensive for not much so we went down the roam. $19 a night for parking was ridiculous. Just felt like everywhere you turned you were paying for something. The hotel was great and rooms are great. But I would try somewhere else next time.

9.7 Nattakan S.
Thailand
August 04, 2015
Comfortable stay
Relax time , staffs friendly and clean room
Really nice time at the Crowne Plaza in Canberra hotel. Definitely come back

9.7 Nattakan S.
Thailand
August 04, 2015
Value for money
Nice area and clean room
good time and will be back for sure

8.7 Rob H.
Australia
June 29, 2015
Room upgrade?
The location was the main attraction of this hotel, shops/food all within walking distance. The staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable
Overall it was a pleasant stay but I asked for an upgrade to a park view and was given a room with a brilliant view of the air conditioning vents at the back of the hotel, not quite what I was expecting. In house dining was very fast however for a 4 star hotel I would've liked my hot chocolate served in a real cup instead of a paper one!

9.7 Leeanne S.
New Zealand
June 29, 2015
Excellent Hotel
Friendly helpful staff, location, room comfort
While there, we needed to extend our stay as our daughter needed longer in hospital than expected. We were able to do this through Agoda, no problem, and the hotel allowed us to stay in the same room, which was perfect. The hotel obviously has a variety of rooms and ours was well-equipped for our difficult situation - close to lifts and the bathroom set up easy access. We appreciated this. We also appreciated the easy parking under the hotel - park your car, step into the lift and take it up to your hotel floor - very easy. The staff were very helpful on arrival, as our daughter needed a wheelchair - they were straight on to it. We did find the food a little pricey, but it is a top hotel and that's what comes with it. Room service meals were very tasty. The breakfast wasn't included in our room price, but we did go down one morning, and very much enjoyed the variety and quality. Next door to the hotel is a lovely little park, and then just down the road is the central city mall which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and a couple of supermarkets - so convenient. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

7.3 Michael H.
Australia
June 21, 2015
ok
quiet clean nice shower
Good