My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Damai Beach Resort

Teluk Bandung Santubong, Damai / Santubong, Kuching, Malaysia 93756 (Show on map)

Book now!

Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Standard Balcony Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Superior Poolside Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Chalet Room Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Sea View Deluxe Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Hilltop - Longhouse House Suite Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Baruk Suite Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Family Suite Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Family Kids Suite Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Lobby Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Treez Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Kid’s Village Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Main Swimming Pool Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming Pool - Sunset View Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Fitness Centre Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Mini Golf Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Tennis and Basketball Court
Damai Beach Resort Kuching - The Exoticmangrove Cruise Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Borneo Odyssey Spa Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Cafe Satang Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Clifftop Pool Bar Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Fishermen’s Catch Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Santubong Bar Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Casuarina Room Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Beach Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Mango Tree Terrace Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Sea View Deluxe - Exterior Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Superior Poolside - Exterior Damai Beach Resort Kuching - Exterior
Area: Damai / Santubong Number of Rooms: 224

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
736 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (736)
Sort by:
Puay E. Families with older children Singapore, June 14, 2012
Lovel hotel with wonderful view

Sunset view is magnificent from hilltop
7
We are staying at Hilltop Bidayuh Baruk Suite and the sunset view is magnificent. The room is big with 2 queen size bed and spacious enough to add in 1 more additional bed for my youngest Kid. My kids loved the beach and the swimming pool and the jacuzzi in the bathroom too. The breakfast is not fantastic and served same type of food during our stay. One of the queen bed happened to have bed bugs and housekeeper did a cleanup/spray. Overall the stay is ok. If I will to go back again, I will get the poolside room as it is more convenient.
Goh T. Families with young children Singapore, June 13, 2012
Good Get Awat but rub down

staff is always with a smile
7.3
I love this resort. but i have unwanted gusets in my room when i check in and in the middle of the night. i would be back to see this resort after upgraded.
Travel tip: very great place to get away. service level is good
Paul G. Families with older children United States of America, June 13, 2012
great location, poor service

The location was beautiful and restful
5.7
We arrived at 1 PM. We were told our room was not ready yet. They said the cleaning staff were still cleaning it. We sat in the lobby and waited. At 2 PM we asked again and were told they were still cleaning the room. They gave us the key anyway so we could put our luggage in the room. When we entered the room, the cleaning staff was NOT cleaning the room. The room was a mess with trash everywhere. The hotel finally got around to cleaning the room at 3:30 PM. We were told the manager was going to come and talk with us about this. We never saw the manager. This kind of typified our time there. The staff are very nice, but have no clue how to treat guests.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We loved the jungle trail walk.
Andrew V. Families with older children United Kingdom, June 13, 2012
Good hotel, great location and friendly staff

Room, View, Location, Service, Food
8.7
We decided "Kuching" in Sarawak, Borneo as the destination (we live in Singapore) as something a bit more adventurous than just "beach and pool", with 3 teenage children. Good Choice. There's plenty of interesting and exciting things to do. But where to stay? If the main thing is visiting mountains and kayaking and caving and hill tribe visiting, then Damai Beech is not the best location, but it worked, and Damai was a really lovely place to get back to at the end of th day. Fantastic view from our suite, and a reasonably good beach. I must say I saw lots of reports in Agoda saying how shabby Damai is, how poor the service is etc .. but then also others saying how good it was. Look, it's Malaysia! And this is not a new resort either, so if you are used to the Grand Hyatt or the Ritz, of course it's a bit shabby, but it's fine! Damai was a really good choice, and our class of room (the Hill Top Suite) was superb. To be honest, getting 2 adults in there and 3 teenagers was a little cramped (with an extra bed) but we got it to work, and had 5 nights there. The Bidayuh would be ideal for couples with a lovely 180 degree panarama of the bay. If yoy have the money, get two rooms! There are different types of room there, and perhaps some of the standard rooms may be the ones being criticised, I don't know. I also saw comments about slow service. But you again, relax .. we found them to be very friendly and obliging. Ok, they were sometimes a little slow, and got a couple of things wrong, but hey, we were on holiday! Relax, it was really fine. One thing to watch: check out when the local school holidays and avoid this period, and also perhaps avoid Sat / Sun as there are quite a number of local Kuching families who come up for the weekend, and take 'day rooms' so it is much busier then. The main pool is really too small for a crowd, but fine when it's quieter.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It's a 45 min minibus away from Kuching, (only RM12 ow/ RM20 rtn)so while the actual location of Damai is great, I think if we had done more 'adventure' tours, splitting the time between Damai Beech and a hotel in town might have been sensible. My other tip is, try to plan your time carfully with these trips ahead of time. We only had 5 nights, so by the time we knew the options, there was a limit to how much we could actually do. Doing some adventure and beech, you could easily fill a week. PS: the cultural village museum virtually 'next door' is highly education and a "must see" but leave sufficient time: Go there early, like 9:30am (90 minutes to do the tour around) and then catch the show at 11:30pm. The "activities staff" take a lunch time break, so the other option is go there at 2:30pm and catch the 4pm show.
Anne S. Couples New Zealand, June 12, 2012
nice resort. nice beach

the beach was clean. The restaurants surprisingly good.
7.7
only spent a day and a night here. enjoyed the beach and the pool and was pleasantly suprised by the standard of the food in the restaurants. there is not much else to do and i would not want to spend to long here.
Travel tip: Get the shuttle to this hotel from the Grand Margarita hotel in Kuching. Only 12 MR
Don L. Families with young children Singapore, June 10, 2012
Lovely views from the hilltop and relaxing room

Kids loved the jacuzzi and top floor balcony overlooking the resort
8.3
There is just too much to do in Damai Beach Resort. We were very reluctant to go on our last day of stay as it was only for 2 nights. The kids just loved the beach, swimming pools and the room jacuzzi. Will definitely want to go there again!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visiting the Sarawak Cultural Village is a must!
Zaidi A. Families with young children Malaysia, June 9, 2012
Nice hotel and friendly staff eveready to serve

Beautiful Beach frontage with Mt Santubong backdrop
9
Looking foward to stay here in future coz my really enjoyed their time here at Damai Beach. Superb surrounding with good scenery for your eyes to explore.
Feng L. Families with young children Singapore, June 6, 2012
Good hotel

Big room
7
The beach is not long, just for the hotel only. So you can not walk to the beach of other hotels. The room is big and my child like it. The foods of breakfast are normal. The lunch and dinner are not cheap, and you can not find other cheap food courts nearby.
Liew P. Families with young children Malaysia, June 5, 2012
Lovely location but poorly run hotel

Damai beach
3.3
When we arrived at the hotel, we were shocked as there was a very long queue. What we noticed there were only 2 person checking in more than 100 people! I do not blame the 100 people but should more help be given at the check in counter? There was no help from the so called managers who was absent. They also do not deserve their 4 star rating. I rate them as 1 star after my experience. Historically the hotel started off as a Sheraton then Holiday Inn took over. I can understand why they both have given up running the hotel. The hotel has great features with their baruk suites and family rooms are great for families. Not having enough towels, dirty bad sheet, dirty floors and smelly carpets does put one off. To me this is the most badly run hotel I have ever stayed in. Even the F&B service is so bad. It takes 30 minutes for the food to arrive at dinner time with only 2 tables occupied. When the food arrived, the children's food came last 10 minutes later!! I will advise people to stay away from this hotel. The children's room has no activities to occupy the children like the beach hotels in Sabah and Penang. Just a play room and the staff just sits there looking at the ceiling!
Travel tip: My tip is not to pick this hotel if you want to relax as the hotel is dirty, has bad service and very run down. Manager should be sacked.
Delvin S. Families with young children Malaysia, June 5, 2012
Great room and pleasant

Spacious room , good size for family
6.3
we stayed a night at the Family Suite. Room is spacious & clean. Simple breakfast. Not much activity going on over there.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: near to Cultural Village

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Damai Beach Resort KuchingDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Standard BalconyDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Superior PoolsideDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Chalet RoomDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Sea View DeluxeDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Hilltop - Longhouse House SuiteDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Baruk SuiteDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Family SuiteDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Family Kids SuiteDamai Beach Resort Kuching - LobbyDamai Beach Resort Kuching - TreezDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Kid’s VillageDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Main Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming Pool - Sunset ViewDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Fitness CentreDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Mini GolfDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Tennis and Basketball CourtDamai Beach Resort Kuching - The Exoticmangrove CruiseDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Borneo Odyssey SpaDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Cafe SatangDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Clifftop Pool BarDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Fishermen’s CatchDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Santubong BarDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Casuarina RoomDamai Beach Resort Kuching - BeachDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Mango Tree TerraceDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Sea View Deluxe - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Superior Poolside - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - SurroundingsDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ViewDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ViewDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ExteriorDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ViewDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - ViewDamai Beach Resort Kuching - SurroundingsDamai Beach Resort Kuching - Swimming PoolDamai Beach Resort Kuching - View

Customer Reviews - Damai Beach Resort, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3B07