Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Danubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel

Margitsziget, 13. Újlipótváros - Angyalföld - Margitsziget, Budapest, Hungary 1007

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 68 reviews

31 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (68)
Sort by:
Mark K. Couples United Kingdom, April 22, 2016
City break
4.7
This hotel is a 30 min walk through a park to the city centre, a bit scary on a dark evening, although you can get a bus, hotel is lovely but the bedroom carpet etc is in desperate need of replacement, very sparse on tea coffee, milk etc, shower over the bath and is high to get in and out,
Report this review
Minna H. Families with older children Finland, March 1, 2016
Classic atmosphere

the hotel itsef, the spa, location
6
I was over all happy except the food at the restaurant and cafe was really expensive and not good quality. There was no other place to eat in the island.
Report this review
Julie G. Solo travelers United States of America, September 24, 2015
Rundown hotel, nightmare!

Location, thermal spa, music at night
4.3
Rundown hotel, nightmare! The hotel was 75% a nightmare: I booked 10 days at the Grant Hotel last month based on its 4-star reviews and expected 4-star service, and I was completely appalled! We arrived at the hotel and were not greeted by anyone. After about 10 minutes of seeing no one, a doorman finally arrived in a run-down uniform and unable to speak or even understand a word of English. I’ll admit my pillow covers, bed sheets, blankets, etc. were spotless, and our rooms were a good size with nice views, the rest of our hotel room was run down and worn out. It was full of stinky carpets, dusty curtains and windows, atrocious bathrooms with old pipes (that barely worked!), etc. the bathrooms had hotel products, but they must have been extremely old since the soap didn’t bubble when I tried to wash my hands! When it came to asking for service, just forget about it. Our rooms were barely touched during our stay, when I asked for a coffee they would say yes and never bring it to me. 25% positive I do have to give credit to upper management trying to solve our problems; their personal was just not responsive. Other positive aspects of the hotel would include - Thermal pool - Medical spa - Day spa - Hotel Restaurant (provided a good breakfast but for 15 Euro overpriced and horrible service) Overall, it was a horrible experience. I don’t recommend anyone staying here unless their main goal is to use their medical spa and spa.
Report this review
Arnel P. Solo travelers Philippines, September 2, 2015
FROM MONASTERY TO HAREM TO PARADISE

The view from the window. The historic location. Efficient public transport service in and out of the island.
9.3
My favorite is my view of lush old trees and the remains of a medieval pool, all just outside my window. The location, of course, monastery-turned-harem-turned-public garden and it helps that with one ride on bus 26 you're in and out of the island. It helps that people at reception, especially the lady, are all smiles and respectful, and seem to have your best interest at heart. I love that there is also free use of the spa, pool, steam room, though, I think, the guy manning reception should be more personable. He is just about as cold as the pool is warm. Other than that very minor quirk, I'd recommend Danubius highly to friends, especially to friends who l'm sure will find delight running or jogging along the banks of the Danube or reading on the grass or the benches on the riverbank or in the shade of the ancient trees.
Report this review
Mahmoud S. Couples United Kingdom, August 26, 2015
A hotel from horror movies
3
Dangerous appliances, loose electrical sockets. uncooperative staff and poor attitude. At the gate to the car park a notice states that free parking for hotel guests, however they insist charging 8 euros/night.
Report this review
Lay S. Couples Singapore, August 9, 2015
Weekend trip

Food, view and amenities
9
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Although it was short (2 nights only), we were pretty satisfied with it. Please remember to bring your bathing suit if you want a dip into the thermal pool.
Report this review
Jarkko P. Couples Finland, July 19, 2015
Spa hotel far away from everyhting

balcony, pool, spa
5.3
Report this review
Yuk Y. Couples China, July 14, 2015
Good price, quiet, good view, convenient transport

Good price, quiet, good view, convenient transport
8.7
Good price, quiet, good view, convenient transport
Report this review
James T. Couples United States of America, July 9, 2015
Fabulous place amidst a beautful park

We loved the room the balcony the history
8.7
We enjoyed ourselves tremendously. It was like living on country estate amidst a fantastic city. Public transit was good and the staff was very helpful
Report this review
Wu J. Business travelers China, July 5, 2015
Nice hotel

The spa/thermal treatment in the neighboring partner hotel is also available to guests of this hotel for free.
8.7
Report this review
1 - 10 of 31 reviews Next page
Danubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Hotel ExteriorDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Hotel ExteriorDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Hotel ExteriorDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Hotel ExteriorDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - LobbyDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Guest RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Guest RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - BathroomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Salt CaveDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RecreationDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Meeting RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - GardenDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Guest RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Suite RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - BathroomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Guest RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Guest RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RestaurantDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RestaurantDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Fitness RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Fitness RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - LobbyDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RestaurantDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RestaurantDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - SpaDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming PoolDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - ViewDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - RestaurantDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - SpaDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Fitness RoomDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - SpaDanubius Grand Margitsziget Hotel Budapest - Swimming Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02