or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

De Chai The Colonial Hotel

6/3 Thapae Road, Soi 4, Changklan, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50300 (Show on map)

Book now!

De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Buffet De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Restaurant De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Restaurant De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior
De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Buffet De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Spa De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Spa De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room
Area: Night Bazaar Number of Rooms: 40
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.5

based on
941 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (941)
Sort by:
Christopher F. Couples United States of America, January 19, 2013
Elegant hotel in a very nice location

Romantic rooms and excellent staff
9.7
The service was fantastic and the rooms were great. The hotel is located on a very quiet side street while at the same time within walking distance to lots of fun things like the night bazaar and the Sunday night walking street. The breakfast was good and they have a very nice spa with very professional and courteous staff.
Lucy K. Couples Singapore, January 17, 2013
Lovely boutique hotel in a good location

Clean big rooms and polite english-speaking proactive staff.
8.7
There is no carpark located directly next to the hotel - it's a short 2-3 minutes walk from a carpark (with security) owned by the hotel, so it is advisable to unload your luggage first. A very small breakfast area, however the food's fine as you can order from a list if you are not satisfied with the small buffet table. The spa services are good but not great. We were given an upgrade of room to Grand De Chai. Overall a good hotel. Will I go there again? Yes. Will I recommend my family/relatives and friends? Yes.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Rent a car and drive up to Doi Inthanon (highest mountain in Thailand). A good 2-3 hour round trip. Fresh air and extremely cool (almost cold even in summer) weather awaits you.
Lisa N. Groups Singapore, January 14, 2013
Pretty & clean rooms

good location (if you are not a fan of the night bazzaar)
7.3
Stayed with my parents in a 2 Bedroom type with the bathroom sandwiched between 2 rooms. Both rooms are almost equal in size, spacious & clean. 1 has a bay window settee. The bathroom is pretty & the shower's pressure is good. But the vanity is really cramped as it is split into 2 triangles against 2 corners of the wall. It's a tad irritating especially if you are going to spend 3 mornings & nights using it. I travel light but Parents wear dentures & I feel bad seeing them having almost difficulty placing all their amenities. Hotel could consider altering the long vertical mirror to create a niche or something so it give more vanity space. Also, the hotel door was very problematic--we had trouble opening our door w/ our access card. My sister at the other room had the same issue. Which was rather annoying & unsafe. Location-- if you don't mind being away from the nightly night bazzaar, it's a good alternative. It's near to the "Sunday walking street" at Tha Pae Gate (5-10mins walk) & some little eateries & shops. It's also nearer to the Ping River (pubs, restaurants w/ river view) versus the hotels like Chedi. Breakfast--food & variety was ok, coffee was good. Staff--the hotel staff: 1 in particular who works on the 6-12pm shift really stood out. She was so attentive & informative. Well done!
Hotel Feature Tip: there's a cheap laudromat just at the hotel's door step & a good vegeterian eatery too (just ignore the black-faced service providers...)
Lisa N. Couples Singapore, January 14, 2013
Small hotel with helpful staff

comfortable bed & close to sunday market/ walking st
8
we like the decor of the hotel. it's small & intimate. breakfast was decent & coffee was great. at the corner of the hotel is also a really cheap laudromat & foot massage & bike rental shop.
Martin P. Groups United Kingdom, January 13, 2013
Fantastic hotel in great location

Locations, rooms, staff, service
9.7
Was so impressed with hotel that we extended booking and returned for second stay following a road trip around NW Thailand in Jan 2013. Rooms are of a very high standard, the locations is fantastic (close to night bazaar and thaipai gate) and the staff / service is first rate. They were always polite, smiling and friendly and were happy to help us with extending the booking on our hire car, all with excellent English. Hotel also has a charm due to having not few rooms compared to one of the mega-blocks elsewhere in Chiang Mai. Highly recommended.
Restaurant Tip: Lemongrass restaurant in the night bazaar area - great food.
Tze T. Couples Malaysia, January 12, 2013
Lovely clean and spacious hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean, spacious, great location
9
We really enjoy our stay in this hotel. Staff are really friendly and willing to help in booking day trips or even arrange for taxi. Breakfast is simple buffet style but there are arrange of dishes you can order to cook, which we prefer and enjoyed. Their spa and massage is very nice, even we found that it is slightly more expensive that the road sides shops, we felt the difference and enjoy the 2 hrs of high class pampering. Hotel is within walking distance to night market and old city.
Poungpetch S. Families with older children Australia, January 9, 2013
good location - lovely hotel - nice staff

location
8
lovely property in a really convenient location. rooms were well appointed although the air conditioning was quite noisy during the wee hours. for some reason there were always mosquitoes in the rooms ! good wholesome breakfasts with smile from the helpful staff.
Christopher C. Couples Singapore, January 8, 2013
quiet, comfortable and near Old City

proximity to East Gate / Sunday Night market/bazaar 5 minutes walk
8.7
Good bedding, quite restful environs and secure motorcycle or car parking.
Shopping Tip: Old city Sunday Bazaar not to miss for the variety of food e.g. oyster omelette, mango sticky rice etc. though other items are repeated at other night bazaars
Pamela L. Families with young children Singapore, January 7, 2013
lovely friendly hotel in great location

clean room, friendly staffs
8.7
a lovely hotel in a very convenient location. only a five min walk to thapae gate, night bazaar and sunday market. clean and spacious room. bedding was very comfortable. baby cot provided was also clean. breakfast is good enough for a small hotel. staffs were friendly and always willing to help in providing any information we needed! will definitely recommend this hotel!
Pui S. Solo travelers Hong Kong, January 6, 2013
A great hotel to live with !

Easy accessible to night market, relaxing and the staff were nice and helpful !
7.7
Highly recommended and the staff were helpful and patient !

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

De Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang MaiDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - BuffetDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - RestaurantDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - RestaurantDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - BuffetDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - SpaDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolDe Chai The Colonial Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3A02